Black Bean and Avocado Salsa

So back in the early days of this blog I wrote a lot about food. I don’t do that as often anymore because instead of sharing every new recipe I try, I’ve started only sharing our absolute favorites that we make over and over again. Plus life gets busy and I want to write about all the fun things we are doing so sharing recipes kind of gets pushed to the background.

But no longer! Today I want to share with you one of my favorite party foods. A friend of mine introduced me to this a few years ago and I have loved it ever since! When I went to Google the recipe I found out thatย I was apparently late to the party.ย Turns out Once Upon a Chef posted this treasure back in 2010. And it’s a huge hit on Pinterest. Which means that probably everyone has tried this recipe already. But if you haven’t, you need to. Because it’s amazing.

Black Bean and Avocado Salsa (3).JPG

Black Bean and Avocado Salsa (1).JPG

Black Bean and Avocado Salsa

Ingredients:

2 (15 oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
2 (15 oz) cans whole kernal corn, drained and rinsed
2 red bell peppers, diced
4ย cloves garlic, minced
1 small red onion, minced
2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp sugar
6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1 tsp lime zest
6 tbsp lime juice
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2 avocados, chopped

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except avocados and mix well. Cover and chill for a few hours or overnight. Just before serving, add avocado chunks and gently combine with other ingredients. Serve with chips. Or a spoon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you’ve made Once Upon a Chef’s recipe before then you’ll notice that this is nearly identical. The only changes are less olive oil, more garlic, and the addition of red wine vinegar. But that’s just for my own personal taste. Her recipe is awesome just as it is. And perfect for munching on during game days! Speaking of game days…

I can’t let this weekย pass without mentioning that the Cubbies won the world series on Wednesday. I grew up cheering for the Braves, but when I started dating Christopher (who is from Illinois) in 2004 I adopted the Cubs. It’s hard to believe that a 108 year drought ended this week. History was made, my friends. And as a bonus, it was an awesome game. Well done, Cubs!

Did you see game 7 of the world series on Wednesday?
Do you have a baseball team you follow?
Have you tried this salsa mixย yet?

Love Rach

30 responses to “Black Bean and Avocado Salsa

  1. i am not a baseball fan but i heard about the cubs winning of course. everyone at my work was complaining about how late they stayed up haha!
    well i am late to the party as well because i have never tried this! i pinned it and will make it next time we have people over or need to bring something to a party. thanks for sharing!

    • Oh goodness, yes. Make this. I hope you love every bite! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one late to the party, haha!

      Christopher said his coworkers were all complaining about the same thing (staying up late to see the Cubs win). It was totally worth it, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yum!! Looks so fresh and delicious!

  3. Yay, Cubs! I was rooting for them, just because I like rooting for the underdog. And I think I’ve had this salsa before, minus the avocado. But avocado makes everything better! It looks delicious!

  4. Yay Cubs! I don’t have a team but I was rooting for them.

    Mm, I love the combination of black beans, corn, and avocado. I’ve tried this salsa before and really like it. Thanks for putting it back on my radar. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m glad you were rooting for the Cubs too! It seems like a lot of people who don’t normally care about baseball were rooting for them. I mean, after 108 years, you gotta give them a little love. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Glad to put this back on your radar! I think I’ll be making it again for Thanksgiving week with my family. Mmmmm! Love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This looks so delicious!!! Salsa are such a fun and easy snack to bring along to parties and get togethers and always a hit no matter the company!!

  6. Ohhh girl, this salsa looks SO good!!

  7. Woohoo, go Cubbies! That salsa looks SO good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. That does look amazing! Got to love a salsa recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Oh that salsa looks delicious ! I love avocado in everything !! ๐Ÿ™‚ Def will be trying it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t follow baseball but so excited for the Cubs winning !

  10. Oooh, this looks SO good! I’ll have to make this for something different next time we head to a barbeque as it looks like the perfect dish to share!

  11. Rebekah Johnson

    I love this recipe! I haven’t made it in a long time but it is really good.

  12. This sounds awesome! Mike makes something similar to this only without avocado. I really need to have him add avocado to his!

  13. It was a WONDERFUL game 7!!!

  14. I haven’t tried this salsa mix yet (or seen it on Pinterest… crazy, right?!) but I just recently tried an avocado-type salsa for the first time and it was soo good. I love that this has corn and black beans!

  15. I stilllll need to make this!!! PS I know I’m spamming you with comments. You don’t have to reply to all of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

