A day in the country

Life is moving at breakneck speed right now (seriously, I am going to wake up tomorrow and it will be 2017, ha!). So this weekend was the perfect time to get away to the country for a bit.

rach and diamond1.jpg

rach-and-diamond2

4wheeler.jpg

If you can’t tell, we’re on a 4 wheeler in that last shot. And I’m sure some of you saw the blurry, shaky InstaStory of us riding horses as well.Ā šŸ™‚Ā I only have a couple of photos because I held a friend’s baby while she rode a horse and he fell asleep on me. So I snuggled that sleeping baby for the rest of the evening so his mom’s hands could be free. We also cooked hotdogs over a bonfire and spent the evening chatting with friends. It was a wonderful sort of day out in the country. I’m so thankful for the family who lives here who invites us all out twice a year. What a blessing this place is for the soul! šŸ™‚

Have you been out to the country lately?

When was the last time you rode a horse or 4 wheeler?
Love Rach

34 responses to “A day in the country

  1. it really will be 2017 in like, 2 days. haha. glad you got some time together, sounds like a perfect weekend! i have never been on a 4 wheeler, but i’d say last time i was on a horse… a few years ago! i like them in theory but then i get scared haha.

    • Oh my goodness, yes, it really will be 2017 before we know it. The holiday season just flies by every year. And then somehow January through March feels like a year long, haha!

      And yes, it really was such a wonderful weekend! I love horse back riding, but let me tell you… it’s been a year since the last time and I’ve been super sore all week, haha!

  2. 2017 is seriously knocking on the door, right???? Sounds like you had the perfect country weekend!!! It has been so long since I have ridden a 4 wheeler. mmmm you are making me want smores and hot dogs!

    • Oh my goodness, yes! I don’t know how the holiday season goes by so quickly! And then somehow January through March draaaags by.

      I hope you get a fun country weekend away soon! I’m guessing 4 wheelers are out when you are a month away from delivering a baby. šŸ˜‰ But maybe next spring you can go! šŸ™‚

  3. Country girl! You guys look adorable on the 4 wheeler. And that horse is so handsome.

  4. Aww what a blast! You two are my favorite.

  5. I guess it’s been at least 2.5 years since I’ve been on a horse since that’s how long we’ve been out of the country! My uncle lived a mile away from Angel and I and has always had 2 or 3 horses and we’d go out riding on the family property from time to time. It was fun! I miss Michigan in the spring summer and fall, but now that we’re hitting November I am glad that I’m nowhere near all those long country roads which will be covered with ice in the near future!

  6. Rebekah Johnson

    We rode horses in Burma but that was not relaxing. ha! That was literally the most afraid and stressed weekend of my life. But we went and made it.

    I do think it is so important to slow down right now in life. It gets so busy and being still is something you have to be intentional about.

    Lastly, snuggling babies is just the best!

    • Oh goodness, that doesn’t sound relaxing at all! I’m glad you survived it!

      And yes, it really does require a lot of intentionality to slow down. During this busy season I’m trying hard to keep quiet time as a priority. It makes a big difference in my day for sure.

  7. I think horses are beautiful, but I’m too scared to get on one! I would have held the baby and loved every minute of it!! Alan and I were kicked off a horse. I actually jumped off when the horse began acting strange!

  8. Horseback riding and atving is a great down time activity. My personal favs!

  9. I have been wanting a getaway for such a long time ! Horseback riding is something I’ve always wanted to do in my adult years.

    When I was a little girl, my Dad owned a few racehorses and once he took me to sit on one and I cried and cried and cried. I have a very faint memory of the moment but I can’t wait to be able to ride on one again.

    It’s always so nice to get away. Glad you guys had fun ā¤

  10. I love a good day in the country like this! We haven’t done this in a while because Rhett is just a bit too small to go on our 4wheeler adventures and I am so afraid to get him off his schedule now that he is sleeping pretty good for us. I am ready to light a little fire in the backyard though and pretend we are out in the woods, lol

  11. That sounds absolutely amazing! I kind of felt relaxed just reading this… Ha, ha. šŸ™‚ And I have to say that I’ve been craving hotdogs this week, so cooking one over a campfire sure sounds amazing.
    Gosh, the last time I rode a 4 wheeler was on my honeymoon! And the last time I rode a horse was also years ago for my second anniversary.

  12. Gah, aren’t baby snuggles the best?! And a little getaway to the country sounds so so lovely!

  13. I feel you on the breakneck speed! I have not stopped!

    It sounds like you had the most lovely escape! I’ve never ever ridden a horse – but I really want to! We keep saying we’ll do it but I haven’t done it yet!

  14. This sounds like it was needed! I’ll be heading to the country this weekend to see family!

  15. Time is flying! What a fun time. I love getting out in the woods. So peaceful! Several of my friends have babies or are about to have a baby so I am loving all the sweet snuggles. They grow up way too fast!

  16. Having a baby fall asleep on you in one of the most peaceful things, isn’t it?! Every time I hold a family member’s baby or one at in the church nursery and they fall asleep on my chest or in my arms… my heart just bursts!

    I am so glad you and Christopher were able to get away!!

Leave a Reply

