Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Another recipe for you guys today. This may sound super weird to you, but trust me – it is SO good! I love buffalo chicken and I love sweet potatoes. So when I saw that The Real Food RDs combined these two favorites into Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes, I just knew I had to try it. And oh my gracious, I’m glad I did! You guys, these are so yummy!

I used The Real Food RDs’ idea (of combining the two), but my own recipe because I already love my Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken recipe. So all I did was combine that recipe with a baked sweet potato and add a little ranch and BOOM! Deliciousness!

buffalo-chicken-stuffed-sweet-potatoes-3

buffalo-chicken-stuffed-sweet-potatoes-1

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

4 sweet potatoes
1 lb chicken breast
1 (15 oz) bottle Franks Red Hot Wing Sauce
1/2 packet of Ranch mix

Additional toppings if desired: Ranch dressing, extra Frank’s Wing Sauce, and chives

Directions:

Slow Cooker Directions: Place chicken breasts in a slow cooker and pour in 3/4 of the wing sauce. Sprinkle the ranch dressing mix on top. Then cover and cook on low for 7 to 8 hours or high for 3 to 4 hours. Once the chicken has cooked remove it from the slow cooker and shred with two forks. Place back in slow cooker then mix so that all the meat is soaked in the sauce. Serve over baked sweet potatoes.

Stove Top Directions: Put chicken in large sauce pot and cover with water. Cover and turn heat to high. When water begins to boil, remove the lid and turn heat to medium-high. Let boil about 15 minutes until chicken is thoroughly cooked (a meat thermometer is important here!). Remove from water and shred chicken. Mix chicken with wing sauce and Ranch mix until well combined. Serve over baked sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash sweet potatoes and then prick several times all over with a fork. Line a tray with aluminum foil and then spray with a light layer of olive oil spray. Place sweet potatoes on tray and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour (depending on the size of your potatoes). I usually check them at 45 minutes and if they aren’t done yet, pop them back in for an extra 5-15 as needed.

I know that is a lot of words, but that’s just because I gave you guys multiple options for making these. Ever since I discovered this recipe a few months ago, it has been a go-to in our rotation for busy nights because it’s so simple to put together. And yes, if you were in a huge hurry, you could even microwave your sweet potatoes. But if you are home and able to let them bake for an hour while you work on other things – the difference is totally worth it!

Have you ever stuffed your sweet potatoes with something savory?

Love Rach

47 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

  1. It doesn’t sound weird! I like both of these things – bet they’re a delicious flavor combo! 🙂

    • They definitely are a great combination! I’m glad to hear it doesn’t sound strange to you. I know some people only see sweet potatoes as a sweet food and not a savory one. But my oh my, this is delicious! And tomorrow I’ll be sharing another favorite stuffed sweet potato recipe. These have been my favorites lately. 🙂

  2. This sounds delicious. I think we’ll make this this week!

  3. I love sweet potatoes stuffed with anything!!! I do a lot of bbq chicken sweet potatoes or sloppy joe stuffed potatoes but buffalo chicken would be fun too! Yum!

  4. I would have never thought of combining these two, but it sounds delicious!!

  5. This sounds really good. I love buffalo chicken and I am trying to get myself to eat more sweet potatoes since they are supposed to be so good!

  6. I’m not a fan of sweet potatoes, but I would definitely try this on a regular baked potato! Looks delicious!

  7. Holy yum! Sounds and looks amazing!! Can’t wait to try!!

  8. We love sweet potatoes. I often do a crock pot chicken shred to go over them but LOVE the idea of a buffalo ranch flavor!!

  9. Ahh! Thanks for sharing your stuffed sweet potato recipe! We have a bottle of Franks in the fridge and two sweet potatoes that I bought with nothing particular in mind:D Sounds like I’ll be trying this recipe out next week!

  10. Yum! We like stuffing sweet potatoes!!!

  11. MMM, this actually sounds like a stellar combination. I never would have put those items together – buffalo sauce and sweet potatoes?? – but now I’m excited to try it.

  12. Those look SO good! I love your recipes. 🙂

  13. Jesse would LOVE this! I have a bottle of Franks in the cupboard that has hardly been touched so I’ll have to make this for him!

  14. I love sweet potatoes, but I love them in savory sorts of dishes–sweet potatoe fries and ketchup or sweet potato breakfast hash, or baked with lots of butter and black pepper. These sound so good!

  15. This needs to happen for dinner very soon!

  16. This sounds amazing!! I never thought to put ranch on, but it sounds amazing!

  17. Rach!! This looks amazing!! I LOVE loaded sweet tators!! And I love buff chicken! So I’m ALL about this recipe!! Looks and sounds perfect! Hope you have a great week!
    xoxo Cailee!

  18. Oh my!! Two of my favorite foods together! Thank you so very much for sharing this. I totally need to make this and soon.

  19. mmm KC would love this! i would totally try it with chickpeas lol. but seriously, what a great way to use sweet potatoes!

  20. Pingback: Enchilada Stuffed Sweet Potatoes |

  21. two of my favorite things put together into 1- who are you!!! AMAZING! So glad I came across this blog!

    xo, JJ

  22. This looks delicious! We love sweet potatoes in our house but I’ve never tried anything like this before!

  23. When I saw the picture for this post, I never would have guessed how simple the recipe is! Yum!!

  24. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

