Enchilada Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

I’m so glad you guys enjoyed last week’s stuffed sweet potato recipe because I have another one for you today! After trying and loving the buffalo stuffed sweet potato a few months ago I went on a hunt to see what else I could stuff into a sweet potato. Which led me to Against All Grain’s Enchilada Stuffed Sweet Potatoes. Once again, I realize this probably sounds odd, but it really is SO good!

enchilada-stuffed-sweet-potatoes-2

enchilada-stuffed-sweet-potatoes-1

Enchilada Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

3 medium sweet potatoes
1 small sweet onion, diced
1 medium poblano pepper, seeds removed and diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 lbs extra lean ground beef
1 1/2 cups enchilada sauce (we like Sprouts brand)

Optional additional toppings: sour cream or ranch (we’ve been loving Hidden Valley’s Greek Yogurt Ranch lately for recipes like this), avocado, cilantro, and black olives

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash sweet potatoes and then prick several times all over with a fork. Line a tray with aluminum foil and then spray with a light layer of olive oil spray. Place sweet potatoes on tray and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour (depending on the size of your potatoes). I usually check them at 45 minutes and if they aren’t done yet, pop them back in for an extra 5-15 as needed.

2. Meanwhile, saute onions, peppers, garlic, and salt for 5 minutes. Add beef and continue cooking until beef is cooked through and onions are translucent (about 10 minutes).

3. After removing sweet potatoes from oven open them up and spoon meat filling inside. Top with enchilada sauce and preferred extra toppings. Enjoy!

Can you guys believe a week from today is Thanksgiving? We’ll be spending this weekend with my in-laws and next weekend with my side of the family. I’m excited to celebrate a week of thankfulness surrounded with people we love. 🙂

Does this recipe sound super strange to you? I thought more of you would think last week’s recipe was weird so I’m curious to hear what you guys think about this one!

Is anyone else beginning Thanksgiving celebrations early with family this weekend?

Love Rach

29 responses to “Enchilada Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

  1. You are stuffing sweet potatoes with everything and I love it!!! This sounds so good too! Enchiladas are my favorite go to order at any Mexican establishment so this is a fun twist.

  2. This sounds AMAZING! I looove sweet potatoes and Mexican food. Perfect!

  3. Hello, YUM. And great healthy spin on a classic!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  4. This makes me happy!! Another winner, can’t wait to try it!

  5. I have all three of her cookbooks, but haven’t tried this recipe!

  6. These sound SO good! Sweet potatoes and mexican flavours were totally made for one another 😉

  7. I’ve got to try this! Those potatoes look so good 🙂

  8. Ahh, love this! I so enjoy a stuffed potato! Fun fact… I had a sweet potato topped with runny eggs the other day. Kinda weird, but super tasty! Plus it was simple and I was feeling lazy, ha 🙂

  9. Looks so yuummmmyyyy!
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: BELL SLEEVES | MY KINDA CASUAL STYLE…
    DON’T MISS: VELVET TREND BEST OUTFITS!

  10. I love sweet potatoes, so I’m sure I would like this!! And awwww, yay for Thanksgiving festivities! Have so much fun celebrating with family. 🙂

  11. i feel like i say this every time you post a recipe – but i need you to come cook for me please! 😉 hahah

  12. oh my gosh, this looks amazing! I just ate a regular potato for lunch today – I will have to try this next time!

  13. Late to the party, but this sounds super good! Reminds me of a Mexican one I made awhile ago – delicious!

  14. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

