A roller coaster of emotions

The past 9 days have been a roller coaster of emotions. We have experienced sadness, fear, great fun, gratefulness, and joy. So many things. So many feelings. Last week I shared with you guys that we had just come out of a pretty rough weekend. Over that weekend while we were helping my mother-in-law with Christopher’s dad (who is in the late stages of dementia), we got a call from my mom letting us know that my dad had a stroke and was in an ambulance on the way to the hospital.

me-with-mom-dad{me with my parents}

However, after a few days in the hospital he was discharged with the incredible news that the stroke had caused no loss of function. His guardian angel must have been working overtime that Saturday. I am thankful for many things this Thanksgiving, but seeing my dad be his normal self just days after a stroke was such a blessing.

girls and dad.jpg{two of my sisters and me with our dad this past week}

I’ll share more about all the fun we had at Thanksgiving later this week, but for now I wanted to at least share this before I run out the door.  There are no words to describe how thankful I am that I got to spend another Thanksgiving with my dad.

 Love Rach

45 responses to “A roller coaster of emotions

  1. Sorry to hear about your dad. Crazy thing this just happened to my step mom just last month! They said its called a “warning stroke” still scary none the less! Prayers that your dad stays healthy!

  2. So glad to hear all turned out well with your family, I can’t imagine how scary that must have been!

  3. One of my biggest fears is receiving a call like that. Family is EVERYTHING to me… Reading this news shook me but also gave me such reason to celebrate with your family. I am SO thankful that God gave you a Thanksgiving miracle in providing health for your dad! God is GOOD!
    And one day, in heaven, Christopher’s dad will walk up to you and Christopher, hold you close, and whisper, “Thank you for loving me and taking care of me when I couldn’t necessarily do it in return.” He is so blessed to have you. xoxo

    • ​Oh Nicole, you brought tears to my eyes. Christopher has talked about how much he looks forward to seeing his dad in heaven someday. Being healthy and whole and the man he once knew (but better!). Oh what a blessing it will be to have no more sickness or death! ​

  4. I’m so glad everything was okay with your dad. That is so scary! We are all just one call away from tragedy, which just goes to show our dependence on Jesus, not ourselves. I’m glad you had lots to be thankful for this Thanksgiving 🙂

    • It’s so true how quickly our lives can be turned upside down. Spending time with Christopher’s dad always reminds us of how much we have to be thankful for with the health of our other family members. I was so glad to get to see my dad acting totally normally over Thanksgiving! I’ve seen the ugly side of strokes in people we love so I hope to never experience that with another loved one.

  5. I’m so thankful God spared your Dad. Life is so short and I think we so often take it for granted, and although I don’t like hard times, I’m thankful for the lessons they teach us. I’ll continue to pray for Christopher’s Dad. My heart hurts for you guys. I know my MIL didn’t have dementia, well she kind of did with the cancer, but anyways, I know it’s hard when a parent is sick so I will keep you in my prayers.

    • Thank you so much for the prayers! Those really mean the world to us. You are so right about how easy it is to take our health for granted. Spending time with Christopher’s dad always reminds us how grateful we are for the health of our other family members.

  6. I worry about getting a call like that all the time. I’m so glad everything was okay with you dad. I can only imagine that roller coaster of emotions. 😦

    • I’m so glad he was okay too! Calls like that are just awful. I’ve only had a few in my life time, but every single one has been terrible. Those hard moments are what make us especially grateful for the good ones, though, right? 🙂

  7. What a scary call to receive. I’m so glad that his guardian angel was watching over him and that you all got to enjoy your time with one another after a scare.

  8. So so glad to hear that your dad is doing well after the stroke. His angel was for sure looking out for him. That is wonderful news!

  9. I am SO glad your Dad is doing well! Praying for you and your family right now, girl! That kind of stress is not easy to move on from – even with a great outcome! ❤

  10. I am so glad there was no lasting damage with the stroke. I can’t imagine how scary that must have been for you all. God is good!

  11. Oh my goodness – you guys have had a lot going on. So sad to hear about Christopher’s dad. My grandpa suffered from dementia and it is just heartbreaking. Your MIL is one strong lady! So happy to hear that your dad’s stroke was more scary than detrimental. Saying extra thanks today!

  12. Glory to God! So happy to hear he lost no function with his stroke, Rachel!

  13. So happy your dad is okay 💕So awful that happened but such a great ending!

  14. So sorry to hear about your father, but what a blessing he is okay! Prayers for a speedy recovery. xo

  15. Just got goosebumps Rachel! I am so thrilled everything turned out OK for your daddy and you, I know what turmoil and angst your heart must have been in! Love seeing you with your family and those sweet smiling faces!

  16. Oh, wow, crazy and emotional weekend indeed! I ditto what Nicole said about your FIL – that was so beautifully worded! ❤ Glad you were able to be with your dad!

  17. oh sweet friend!
    his recovery is GREAT news!! What an incredibly emotional weekend….Praying for all of you! ❤

  18. Oh my, Rachel, that had to be the scariest news! I’m so glad he’s totally okay after all that–what a blessing!

  19. Rach, praise God that your father is okay!!!! Wow! My heart aches for the thought of the waiting time though.. That’s always so hard. What a beautiful family picture, enjoy your holidays season, dear. Praying for your family and Christopher’s father during this time. ❤

  20. That is absolutely incredible! Such a blessing.

  21. Praise God! He is so good! I’m glad your dad is okay!

  22. So, so glad you had a great outcome from a scary situation! I know that makes the holidays extra special this year!!

  23. oh hun. i am so sorry. i’m glad your father was okay xx

Leave a Reply

