Thanksgiving in Gatlinburg

Our family celebrated Thanksgiving in Gatlinburg, TN this year. We left on Sunday just before the fires came raging through and destroyed so much of the beauty you see in this video. My heart breaks for the devastation of such a beautiful place. It makes me especially glad that I documented this trip.Β Enjoy this glimpse into our time in Gatlinburg featuring snow tubing, walking trails, a murder mystery dinner, games, dancing, and just general family fun. πŸ™‚

I have so many favorite parts to this video. From my mom snow tubing to Makenzie’s face when Christopher beats her at pool to my uncle and nephew dancing to my aunt photobombing my sister to Christopher’s selfie-mode snow tubing clip… it’s all just fun. I’m so glad we were able to get away as a family for Thanksgiving. It was a wonderful trip!

Love Rach

32 responses to “Thanksgiving in Gatlinburg

  1. Oh Rachel, I cannot even tell you how much I enjoyed this video! You just have the greatest family and this is everything at Thanksgiving should be! I love everything about this video, from writing what you thankful for on the table to your family dancing around and is that your sweet mom and dad walking down the road? My husband and I got married in a log chapel Gatlinburg so the area has so much special
    meaning to us and my heart has been breaking for the past few days hearing about the devastation. We heard a couple chapels were burnt down but ours is still standing. The loss of those beautiful smoky mountains just makes my heart so sad and we must pray pray pray for comfort and peace and restoration to that area. Smiling at the beauty of your Thanksgiving my love!

    • Thank you, friend! I have enjoyed watching this video over and over again! So many precious memories in those Smoky Mountains. I’m so glad to hear that your chapel is still standing! The devastation of Gatlinburg just breaks my heart. I understand what you mean!

  2. What a lovely time!! And I’m so happy all the family was happy and healthy.

  3. Awe what an awesome video!!! And so special that you guys got it all on film right before the fires. The dancing was so sweet and you had the perfect dismount! I was so sad when I first heard about them. We go to Gatlinburg every year after Christmas with Chris’s family and I cant wait to start taking our daughter next year and now I know that some of the things that used to be wont anymore 😦 So sad!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed that dismount. Christopher thought it was hysterical. He loves to play it in slow mo and freeze me at different points. There’s one point where I’m flying off the tube and my mouth is wide open and I look completely ridiculous. πŸ˜‰

      I know, the fires in Gatlinburg are just so devastating. I’m sure you guys have so many memories there! Gatlinburg is such a hotspot for tourists that I’m sure they will be rebuilding soon. But some things will be so different. Are you guys still going after Christmas this year?

  4. You’re so cute babe!! Your family looks so happy! Glad that you had a great thanksgiving!! Sledding looks so fun! Happy holiday season! BTW- I love this music in ur vid!!
    xoxo Cailee!

  5. Your thanksgiving looks like so much fun! What a sweet video and what a perfect way to capture those memories! ❀

  6. Looks like y’all had so much fun in Gatlinburg over Thanksgiving! I’m so heartbroken seeing all the damage from the fires on the news. 😦

  7. What a beautiful video! It’s sad that so much has been destroyed.

  8. We were going to go to Gatlinburg a few weeks ago to do some Christmas shopping, but the traffic was bad and we took so long at our stop in Pigeon Forge that we decided to just skip Gatlinburg…and now I’m so sad! It looks so beautiful in your video! I know they’ll work on rebuilding and restoring, but it’s going to take a lot of time to get it back the way it was!

    • The traffic in Gatlinburg is always so crazy (at least both times I was there this year). It’s such a hot spot for tourists so I know they’ll rebuild, but it won’t be the same as before. Which I guess isn’t always a bad thing. But still. I still haven’t heard how much damage has happened to the Smoky Mountains. I’m hoping the parts that were damaged will be able to grow back even better!

  9. So sweet. My hearts go out to everyone in this region!

  10. Aww Rach! What a sweet video!! I love Christopher’s selfie video of you all snow tubing. How fun!! Can you believe I’ve never seen snow before 😦 LOL. I’m such a Florida girl– it’s terrible!!

    I love the table cloth idea πŸ™‚ Do you all write the year on the blurbs you write so you’re able to look back on them later?

    • You’ve never seen snow?!?! WHAT?! Not even once?! Girl, that’s crazy talk! I’m not a fan of the cold, but there is definitely something magical about the snow! You need to visit it one of these days. Maybe a Colorado trip!

      And yes, we do write the year next to our “thankful” note! It’s fun seeing the different things people wrote about each year. Mine from 2008 says, “I’m thankful to be a Vendetti!” because it was the year we got married. πŸ™‚

  11. I love capturing memories on video! Gatlinburg looks absolutely beautiful. I’ve seen the devastation on the news and it is so, so sad.

    • It really is so sad to see how much of Gatlinburg burned down! So many people love that place and their favorite spots are gone now. I’m sure they will rebuild pretty quickly since it’s such a hot spot for tourism, but the forests will take much longer to grow back to their previous beauty.

  12. So fun!! I love the dancing (your uncle and nephew maybe?), and the scenery (how special to have this, knowing now that those devastating fires are in the are), and that tubing site! Your dismount is so super pro, my friend. And Christopher’a videography skills on the run are masterful!

    • Yes! That was my uncle and nephew! We were playing a game that had silly tasks you had to accomplish and that was theirs. It was pretty adorable. πŸ˜‰

      I was impressed with Christopher’s skills at videoing while going down the snow as well! I thought there was a good chance he would drop his phone while tubing down, but he held on. Such a pro! πŸ™‚

  13. whimsicalseptember

    New reader here! Hi! Loved this video so much. You have such a sweet family, and what precious memories! We’re originally from Alabama (Huntsville area) and have vacationed in Gatlinburg so many times. Like you said, knowing what the fires destroyed breaks my heart. Our cabin few years ago was only accessible by one dirt, narrow road, and I can’t imagine being stuck up there. It truly makes me sad. On a happy note, yay for your family time and great holiday together! If you don’t mind me asking, what program do you use to create these videos?

  14. Love your videos! I seriously need to take more videos! Any tips on how you make yours so beautiful?

  15. It was so sad to hear about the fires in Gatlinburg. I’m really glad you were all safe, though! I loved watching your video. You are so creative and talented with making these!

Leave a Reply

