A Christmas Song

The band Downhere is currently on hiatus, but they wrote and performed together from 1999 until 2013. The drummer, Jeremy, and I were friends back in the early-to-mid 2000’s. We’re still friends on social media, but I honestly couldn’t tell you the last time we had an actual conversation. Though for old time’s sake, here’s a photo for your viewing pleasure:

me-and-the-dh-guys
This was circa 2004 when I hung out with the Downhere guys after they opened for another band. They sat with me and my college buddies for the rest of the concert. I remember feeling so cool in front of my friends that I actually knew the band, haha!

Anyway, they have some truly amazing music and I could write a whole blog post sharing my favorites, but today I want to share my favorite Christmas song by them.

Follow the star to a place unexpected
Would you believe, after all we’ve projected,
A child in a manger?
Lowly and small, the weakest of all
Unlikeliest hero, wrapped in his mother’s shawl
Just a child
Is this who we’ve waited for?

How many kings step down from their thrones?
How many lords have abandoned their homes?
How many greats have become the least for me?
And how many gods have poured out their hearts
To romance a world that is torn all apart
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?

Bringing our gifts for the newborn Savior
All that we have, whether costly or meek
Because we believe.
Gold for his honor, and frankincense for his pleasure
And myrrh for the cross he will suffer
Do you believe?
Is this who we’ve waited for?

All for me
All for you

Those are some powerful lyrics, my friends. And in the hustle and bustle of this last week before Christmas, it’s such a good reminder of why we are actually celebrating this holiday. Happy Christmas week, friends!
Love Rach

24 responses to “A Christmas Song

  1. Those lyrics are truly powerful! Thank you for sharing this with us- I’m excited to check out more of their music. How cool that you still had that throwback picture too! Love it! Merry Christmas, Rach 🙂

  2. It’s so funny that you mentioned this song! Our worship team JUST sang this song to end our service yesterday, and I thought the lyrics were so beautiful! I had never heard it before! Now I know who wrote it! 🙂

  3. I love that song!

  4. I love discovering new Christmas songs and the lyrics of this one are super powerful and all about the reason for the season!

  5. The name of the band isn’t familiar to me, but the song is–must come from all those years of listening to Christian radio all the time in the USA. Sometimes I miss Christian radio stations, and country stations–here, the only options are pop, oldies, Mandarin, and Bahasa. Makes sense, I guess, but I sure appreciate the freedom to have Christian radio stations.

  6. That is so, so beautiful!

  7. This is one of my favorite worship songs!

  8. Ahhhhhhh! This is such a great song! ❤

  9. Beautiful. What powerful words!!

  10. Wishing you a bright and happy Christmas, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  11. So cool that you have a picture with them! I love that song too. Merry Christmas!

  12. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

