All the Christmas Things!

I keep hearing from people that they’ve taken down their Christmas decorations already and I have audibly gasped every time, ha! To me it still feels like we’re in the middle of Christmas because we will be celebrating with my family over this coming weekend. Plus we all know I’m not taking down Christmas decorations until mid-January anyway. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been terrible about updating here lately, but photography busy seasonΒ is coming to a close so I will have a little more free time on my hands again. Until then, I want to fill you in on a couple of fun Christmas things that have happened over the past couple of weeks!

sv party.jpg

Christmas parties! We went to three big parties this year and I took photos at… none. Ha! Totally got caught up in talking and didn’t even think to pull out my phone. Thankfully, I was able to snagΒ the photo above from a friend’s Facebook from one of the parties. So there it is, proof of at least one awesome party we attended. πŸ˜‰

drive-through-nativity

We went to our first ever Drive Through Nativity and it was awesome! For local people: it was held by Longview Heights Baptist in Olive Branch – we definitely plan to go again next year!

lessons and carols.jpg

Lessons & Carols at St. John’s Episcopal is one of our favorite Christmas traditions every year! For more on why we love it so much see this blog post.

sugar cookies.jpg

Another yearly tradition is making cookies and delivering them to our neighbors. This year one of our teenagers came over to help us with these creations. She is super talented!

xmas eve eve service.jpg

Our church hosted it’s first ever Christmas Eve Service (except that it was a Christmas Eve Eve because of how the holiday fell this year). It was absolutely amazing. I hope they’ll do it again next year!

xmas.jpg

We celebrated actual Christmas day with my parents-in-law and you guys… it was a great weekend. Which is huge. Because of Christopher’s dad’s failing health we have made a point to visit them as often as we can over the past couple of years and most of those visits have been really difficult emotionally. So to have a weekend together marked with so many good memories was so precious to us. It felt a little like a Christmas miracle. πŸ™‚

Have you already taken down your Christmas decorations? If not, is that coming soon?

Anyone else still have Christmas celebrations to come?Β 

Love Rach

42 responses to “All the Christmas Things!

  1. All of these traditions look great! We have been super busy this holiday season too. And as for the Christmas decorations…I have been really bummed the past few years that we have no room in our living room for a Christmas tree. We put ours in the playroom because it is just super wide in circumference and needs a lot of space. I’ve been looking for a four foot tree that I could just stick on top of the side table between the couches in our living room. . .and I found one for $12 just recently at an after Christmas sale. I am REALLY tempted to put it up just for this week until New Years, but I know my husband would think I’m ridiculous!

  2. I love the idea of a drive-through nativity! That is fun. And those cookies look so good. I know the feeling of talking and not even remembering to take any pictures! I felt like I did that somewhat this Christmas but I’m not sorry πŸ™‚ I’m glad you had some good moments with family this year that you can remember.

    • The drive-through nativity was so cool! Though I felt badly for the actors because it was COLD that night! They did a great job, though! πŸ™‚

      And I’m with you on not feeling sorry about getting caught up in talking and not taking photos. I do still love to document things and prefer when I hit that sweet balance of being present while still taking photos. But I can’t ever be sorry that I forgot to talk pictures because I was so caught up in a good conversation. πŸ™‚

  3. Taking down Christmas decorations ALREADY?! No way! I’m currently lying in bed with our mini Christmas tree twinkling away to my left 😜

    Our decorations will be up until mid Jan too because I want to hold onto Christmas as long as possible!

  4. I feel like a Scrooge saying this but this is the first year that I really wanted to take down my decorations on like Dec 26th. I haven’t but I wanted to. I think because I feel really claustrophobic in my house right now. I forgot how big Christmas is when kids are little. Brooklyn is to the stage of getting just clothes, shoes and makeup and that’s all she wants. But Rhett’s first Christmas was quite overwhelming as far as toys go. I feel like I’m in spring cleaning mode already. I need to clear out all the old and organize all the new.

  5. I refuse to take down decorations until possibly the end of January, haha! I just don’t want to admit that Christmas is already over, and the decorations just make our apartment look so cozy…. Thankfully Joshua loves Christmas more than me, so he doesn’t mind at all! ❀

  6. You’re going to gasp, but we totally took down our Christmas decorations and tree on December 26th. Eek! Sorry!

    I am glad to hear that you had (and are having!) a lovely Christmas season, Rach! All of the festivities and traditions and memories make me so happy!

    • Haha! It’s okay, we can still be friends. πŸ˜‰ I know most people take their decorations down soon after Christmas (and certainly haven’t had them up since early November, ha!). As long as you don’t judge me for having decorations up for a long time, I won’t judge you for taking them down right after Christmas. πŸ˜‰

  7. I love that you deliver Christmas cookies to your neighbors! πŸ™‚ We don’t take down our tree until after January 7 (that’s when Christmas was celebrated according to the old Russian calendar).

  8. A drive through nativity sounds really neat! I am sitting right next to our Christmas tree right now. I love leaving the decorations up for a bit after Christmas!

  9. My mom leaves decorations up well into January, sometimes towards the middle. HA. I don’t mind.

  10. I usually wait until the first or second week in January, but I got the cleaning bug and got it all down. My mom always did the day after, which used to break my heart, haha. This year the siblings and I managed to convince her to keep the tree up an extra day! πŸ˜‰
    Loved seeing your memories. I was awful about taking pics. I took one of my niece decorating cookies and that was it!

  11. I love your traditions, and I am totally with you! My decorations do not come down until mid January either! Although a few things on ledges will have to come down before the boys go back to college ha ha the younger one is scared of heights and my husband doesn’t want to do it so the older to have to get up and take those down but other than that I gasp as well when I hear decorations been taken down. One of my BFFs took hers all down the day after Christmas, oh my! I hope that you and all your beautiful family has most joyous and blessed 2017!

  12. LOL we didn’t have any decorations up this year but i took down everything at work and everyone was cranky but i am team decorations go away immediately. just call me the grinch πŸ˜‰
    i’m glad you had such a wonderful weekend with your in laws ❀

    • Haha! I know some people aren’t into Christmas decorations or just don’t like the clutter so I get it. I won’t call you the Grinch if you don’t call me crazy for leaving mine up so long. πŸ˜‰ I just love those twinkly lights!

  13. I’m so happy you had such a lovely + full Christmas, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  14. Nate takes down the Christmas tree and most of the decorations the day after Christmas… every single year. Ha, ha. He just hates ‘clutter’ and the extra things kind of drive him a little crazy. So while he doesn’t complain during the holiday, everything comes down the day after. πŸ˜‰ We kind of do need to take down the tree by that point anyway though, since we always get a real one. The needles usually start falling around then.
    BUT we’re keeping our candles in the windows throughout January, because it makes the house look / feel so cozy! πŸ™‚

    • Aww, I can understand that. I know the clutter of Christmas stuff can drive some people crazy. It’s good he doesn’t complain about it during the holiday season, though! Good compromise. πŸ™‚ I love that you are leaving the candles in the windows through January. So homey! πŸ™‚

  15. It looks like such a perfect Christmas, Rach!!!!! I was so horrible about taking pictures throughout the holiday events, so I feel ya on that !! It just didn’t really even cross my mind! And HECK no, we have not taken our Christmas Decorations down! I think I’ll probably keep them up until our tree dies. Haha. And no more Christmas celebrations… but birthday celebrations are on the horizon! I hope you are having a beautiful start to the new year ❀

  16. Those cookies look awesome. It seems like you guys had a great Christmas!

  17. I took down my Christmas decorations on the 1st–but there wasn’t much to take down. Haha, I just wanted it packed up before the kids start coming back to the house since it was on low tables and very reach-able. Glad you guys have had such good Christmas times with family!

  18. you are just such a cute family!
    Hope you had a wonderful holiday and a happy new year!β™₯
    xx
    Selina | Selinas Inspiration

  19. Sounds like a wonderful Christmas. Those cookies look great.

  20. The drive through nativity is such a cool idea. And I’ll take a few of those cookies. Also, can we still be friends if I took my Christmas decorations down on December 31 and I was really excited to do so? I was just ready to have the house back – you know? But I’m excited that you’re excited to keep the decs up until mid January. Sidenote – I just heard that one state (dunno which one) made it illegal to keep Christmas decorations up past a certain point. That seems like it’s taking it too far. Really, to each their own.

    So glad that you had a good day with Christopher’s parents and that his dad was feeling well. πŸ™‚ That really is special.

    • Yes! We can definitely still be friends even if you took down your decorations on New Year’s Eve. That’s actually leaving them up pretty long according to some of my friends, haha! And no, I hadn’t heard that about the state making it illegal to keep decorations up past a certain point. That’s just silly. I mean, there’s a house a couple of miles away from ours that left their Christmas lights up (and ON!) all year last year. Haha! They made me laugh every time I drove by. I mean, I’m not leaving my stuff up year-round, but like you said: to each their own!

Leave a Reply

