New Year’s Eve at the Lake House

We celebrated Christmas with my family over New Year’s weekend at a lake house in Alabama. It rained nearly the whole weekend so we spent most of the time chatting, playing games, and doing crafty things. The weather was dreary, but we had an awesome time together! I made a video with a few of the highlights, but first a couple of notes:

1. Christopher got a Virtual Reality Headset so most of the family tried it out including my mom and grandparents (clips included below). However the best reaction was definitely from my sister, Holly (the whole last minute of the video). I literally laugh out loud every time I watch it!

2. We have family devotional time every night with my family when we’re together (that’s the clip of us all sitting around listening to my grandfather). This weekend I was reminded once again how thankful I am that I got to grow up in a family surrounded by people who love Jesus.

Okay, enough notes, on to the video!

Happy 2017 friends! I’m so excited for the amazing things this year will bring!

Love Rach

20 responses to “New Year’s Eve at the Lake House

  1. Christopher and Jesse must be SO alike as Jesse too got a VR headset for Christmas 😛

    Your Christmas looked so lovely! ❤

  2. How wonderful! Your family sure knows how to celebrate the holidays to the fullest and I loved every second of your video! Happy new year, I just know 2017 has great things in store for you my dear!

  3. Looks like a wonderful way to ring in the New Year! Wishing you a year filled will immense joy and happiness ❤

  4. Hope your 2017 is off to a great start!

  5. whimsicalseptember

    Ahhhh my family all did the VR thing, and they said it was so much fun! We were with my husband’s family this year for Christmas, so I missed the VR fun! That’s so incredible about nightly devotion time. How does that look? Does something real scripture and discuss it?

    • Aww, you should try it! My younger sister had left already by the time we broke out his VR and played with it so we sent her a bunch of videos of everyone doing it that had her laughing. Hopefully both she and you will get to try it soon!

      As for family devos… it just depends. Typically each family takes one night to do a devotional (so leading a few songs, sharing some thoughts from scripture, and leading a couple of prayers). But my favorite devo this past weekend was the night that we all went around the room and every person shared a song, scripture, or thought. It was a little longer than our normal devos, but so precious. I just loved it!

  6. Aww what a fun time with family! Happy New Year! Those VR clips are so funny. I haven’t tried one out yet, but I am sure it is such a crazy experience.

  7. What fun you guys had! I love that you have devotional time together each night. That’s really special and what a way to remember the reason for the season and celebrate Jesus!

  8. The food at your party is making me hungry! Also, laughed at the huge jar of pork rinds. I have a few family members who are big fans but I cannot stomach those. We play Pandemic, too.

  9. Aw, this looked like such fun! And fabulous treasured memories. My NYE was very low-key this year. I want to try that VR thing!

  10. You guys totally made the best of the dreary weather! And Holly using the Virtual Reality Head Set is absolutely hilarious!

Leave a Reply

