Shepherd’s Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

Hello friends! 2017 has arrived and with it I have another healthy recipe for you. I love sweet potatoes and I love comfort food so when I saw this combination on Pinterest I knew I needed to try it. It has been a winner every single time I’ve made it. So delicious! Thank you, The Real Food RDs, for creating this winner!

sweet-potato-shepherds-pie-3

Shepherd’s Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 green pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
3/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt or to taste
1/4 tsp black pepper
3 oz tomato paste
1 egg white
2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Begin to brown ground beef in a large skillet on medium heat. Once beef is partially browned, add chopped carrots, onions, peppers and minced garlic. Cook on medium heat until carrots are soft (about 10 minutes). You may begin making the topping while the meat filling cooks. Once the carrots are soft, stir in tomato paste, egg white, seasonings salt and pepper.

3. For the topping: steam sweet potatoes until fork tender. Then add all of the topping ingredients to blender and process until smooth.

4. Transfer the meat filling to a casserole dish (9 x 9 inch dish will work) and top the meat filling with the Sweet Potato Mash. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and serve.

Have you subbed sweet potatoes for regular potatoes in a recipe?
Love Rach

35 responses to “Shepherd’s Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

  1. Next time you should top it with bacon! Yum! We make this all the time! It’s Alan’s favorite!

  2. I could go for this right now – and it’s only 9 am!

  3. this is perfect for this kind of weather!!

  4. This sounds DELICIOUS!

  5. That topping looks like CAKE frosting, YUM!

  6. I’m always reluctant to use sweet potatoes because they seem so much more difficult to chop, but they are so delicious…I need to use them more!

  7. This looks delicious! I actually substituted sweet potatoes for regular potatoes in my warm potato salad last night and it was so good! Different – but good different 😉

  8. Yum!! I am so loving all these sweet potato recipes.

  9. THIS LOOKS SO YUMMYYYY! I know my hubby would just love this too.

  10. I never would have thought of sweet potatoes! That looks so good 🙂

  11. I make this recipe (or something similar) a lot when I am on whole 30 and it is so delicious!!!

  12. That definitely looks interesting! I’m not a fan of sweet potatoes, but I’m about to start a Whole 30, so I’ll be getting acquainted with them soon! I’ll have to double check my book, but your recipe may even be Whole 30 approved!

  13. mmm this looks so awesome!

  14. i LOVE Shepherd’s Pie. never tried it with sweet potato. i normally use turkey instead of beef, and i throw lentils in as well. such a good meal!

  15. Yum! This looks so good! I’m definitely going to add it to the rotation here sometime soon!

  16. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

  17. I’m totally bookmarking this! It’s perfect for January 🙂

Leave a Reply

