Photography Favorites: Couples

Last year I shared my favorite photos from 2015 and it was so well received that I decided to do so again this year! To keep from being overwhelming, I’m breaking the photos up into categories so today I’m sharing my favorite couple photos from 2016!

Couples Photography (1).jpg

Couples Photography (2).jpg

Couples Photography (3).jpg

Couples Photography (4).jpg

Couples Photography (5).JPG

couples-photography-6

couples-photography-7

couples-photography-8

couples-photography-9

couples-photography-10Ah, such a sweet tenderness to photographing couples. I just love it! You can see my favorite couple photos from 2015 here and of course you can find lots more of my work on my Rach Vendetti Photography facebook page.

Love Rach

31 responses to “Photography Favorites: Couples

  1. I looovee these. Your talent makes these couples shine so bright.

  2. You have always been a good photographer even when you first started, but wow rach! You’re amazing!

  3. Oh, Rach! Your photos are just perfect! I wish we lived closer so I could have you take our photos!

  4. Love all of these pictures! They all look so sweet and happy and you totally captured that.

  5. These pictures are so sweet!

  6. I absolutely love this, Rach! The second picture and the picture with the blanket are my favorites! You are so incredibly talented!

  7. Well gosh you worked with some gorgeous people! Beautiful photos!

  8. I so wish you were closer to me so that you could do my maternity shoot! All of these are so gorgeous!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

  9. These are so pretty and you did a great job! I’m going to save it to my Pinterest board. =)

  10. These were all so sweet! I loved the versatility in the poses, too.

  11. Girllllll you are my inspiration! You have such a gift ❀ What lens would you recommend investing in after a 50mm and 35mm prime lens? I'm deciding if its time to start saving for a new one πŸ™‚

    • The 85mm!! It’s the one I used the most with couples! I’d say it was probably used to take nearly all of these photos! It’s hard to use when photographing kids because you have to be so far away from them so they don’t know to look at the camera, but it’s AWESOME for couples! It gives the couple a little more space to be sweet with each other without me all up in their space, haha! I love, love, love it! Definitely my favorite lens – just not always practical when shooting in tight spaces or with kiddos.

  12. These are all beautiful! I especially love the one with the church in the background. You have so much talent!

  13. These are all sooooo beautiful! I love the way you are able to make people look so comfortable and natural! Seriously…Every one of your pictures look like the people have no idea that you are standing feet away with a fancy camera in your hand.

    Nice work!

    • That’s partially because most of these photos were actually taken from a good distance away. I always start far away and then slowly get closer to them throughout the session. πŸ™‚ I do the same thing for senior photos. I make jokes as I get closer to them and say stuff like “Oh, don’t mind me standing super close to you and taking photos up your nose…” and it always gets natural laughs from them. πŸ˜‰

  14. I’ve never been a fan of posing people(but I do respect the art it takes)I recently had a friend approach me and ask me to photograph her and her fiancΓ©. I will admit it was hard for me being more a documentary type of shooter. But I learned a lot! I found I was till able to use my, “catch” someone in a moment and even pose them when needed. Your work is lovely!!!

    • Thank you so much! Posing people can definitely feel awkward at first! I usually start by telling the couple where I want them to stand/sit and tell them that I’m just checking lighting at first and to interact like normal and I’ll let them know when I’m ready for them to pose. Nearly always the couple puts themselves in sweet poses without my help. After snapping a few photos I’ll recommend a small move here or there, but for the most part I just let them be adorable together. Sometimes I’ll have a really stiff couple who need more encouragement, but usually this method has worked for me. πŸ™‚

      Sometimes I’ll have a couple who has a very specific pose in mind (usually something they’ve seen on Pinterest) and we have this hilarious moment when we’re looking at a pose on their phone and trying to recreate it in person. Those photos sometimes turn out really cute (usually because they are naturally laughing) and sometimes they come out looking really posed and awkward. So I’m sure it would be really complicated to pose every single shot!

      • Thanks for the tips! The couple I worked with was great, but she was the stiff one. I had to spend time talking to her to help her forget what I was doing. It was fun though.

  15. These are so cute! Back when Justin and I had our engagement photos done we had a few awkward photos. Like there was one photo that the photographer took behind us as we were walking away holding hands, but he neglected to tell us that Justin had a bit of a wedgie going on, and now that is ALL we can see when we look at that photo! LOL But you avoided any awkward poses here, thankfully. I love the couple reading on the steps!

    • Bahahaha! That’s hilarious! I’ve totally had a learning curve over the years with posing people for photography. I usually start by telling people to sit/stand how they feel comfortable and then I adjust them from there. I am frequently adjusting clothing for women (a skirt that fell weird and is showing too much leg or making her look larger than she is or a bra strap that is hanging out), but men are notorious for resting their forearms on their upper thighs with their hand hovering in between the legs which just looks SUPER awkward in photos, ha! Thankfully I have yet to have to tell someone they have a wedgie that they need to take care of. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

