Health & Fitness in the First Trimester

So just last week I shared with you guys about my goals to be healthier last year and how well those paid off. I’ve had a couple of people ask what this means now that I’m pregnant. Going into this pregnancy, I felt so incredibly healthy and fit and I think that has made a huge difference in the habits I’ve been able to carry on even when I felt so sick. So here are the main things:

1. Obviously I’m going to gain weight. Most likely more than the 18 pounds I lost (my doctor told me anything from 25-35 pounds would be a healthy weight gain for me in this pregnancy). But this doesn’t bother me in the least. Those extra pounds were just hanging around making me feel sluggish and unhealthy last year. This weight gain will be for a great cause!

2. My gym time looks a little different sometimes. I still shoot for an hour on the treadmill five days a week, but there are days when I can barely make it to 35 minutes before I’m just totally worn out. And I’ve let myself be okay with that. I mean, I’m growing a person. That’s hard work. πŸ˜‰ The past week when I’ve started to feel better has meant that my gym time has been back to normal and that has felt great! And I’m finally back to getting 10,000 steps a day which makes my Fitbit happier with me.

3.Β I have been cleared to continue weight lifting by my doctor, but honestly… I haven’t been lifting. My body has been so worn out this first trimester that making it to the gym at all has been a feat some days. My doctor said since my body has been used to it in the past, it’s more than okay to start it up again in the second trimester if I wanted to wait until I was feeling better. So now that I’m feeling better I’m looking forward to adding weights back into my routine.

4. My doctor told me to switch to prenatal yoga and asked that I not do any poses that require being on my stomach (even in the first trimester). So for those who would like to see what yoga videos I’ve been doing lately, I have them saved on a Prenatal Yoga list. The very first video on there is one that I got from Amanda and it is so great! I’ve done about half the videos on that list and as I continue to do more videos I’ll delete ones I don’t like and add new ones I find. If you have recommendations for prenatal yoga or prenatal workout videos, I’d love to hear them!

5. I am so thankful that I taught myself to drink water and hydrate well last year. I had no idea how important drinking tons of water while pregnant was. So that has definitely been a bonus!

6. Ah the diet. Pretty much all food made me sick up until last week. What’s comical is that initially I thought this was a mind over matter thing. “Oh, I’ll just force myself to eat this cottage cheese and it will be fine!” False. That was definitely false. A lot of my go to favorite snacks were ones I just couldn’t stomach at all (including eggs which is a staple for me). My diet overall wasn’t terrible, but it definitely included more carbohydrates than normal and lots more bland foods. Thankfully Baby Vendetti likes apples, bananas, Β strawberries, clementines, watermelon, carrots, peanut butter, and Greek yogurt so even during the sickest days, I could still eat those. Since last week I’ve been feeling a lot better and am back to my normal super healthy diet which has me feeling much better over all! Here’s to hoping I stay feeling better!

7. Speaking of feeling so sick… I continued to use MyFitnessPal to track my food until week 10 of pregnancy when I just couldn’t handle thinking about food any more than I absolutely had to. I lost weight when I first got pregnant so I wanted to be sure I was getting enough calories plus I loved that I had such a long streak of logging my food into MyFitnessPal (it was well over a year). But alas, I just couldn’t do it anymore at week 10. Now that I’m feeling better, I want to start tracking again just to make sure that I’m getting a good number of calories plus making sure that I’m eating a balanced diet (I love how MyFitnessPal tells you about all the nutrients in your food, not just the calories).

Overall, I’m so thankful I had these habits in place before getting pregnant because otherwise I can guarantee you, there would be no way I would’ve started any healthy habits while feeling so miserable.Β But you know what has made it worth feeling so terrible? Knowing that Baby Vendetti is growing and healthy. Grow, baby, grow! Speaking of growing… wanna see a couple of pictures? πŸ™‚

11-weeks

This was 11 weeks pregnant when I first started to show just a little. Such a sweet and emotional week in that way! Look at that sweet bump!

13-weeks

I’m sure many of you saw this yesterday on Instagram, but here I am this week at 13 weeks pregnant! Grow baby grow!

Any recommendations for health and fitness while pregnant? Either that you’ve experienced yourself or heard of?

Love Rach

58 responses to “Health & Fitness in the First Trimester

  1. You look so beautiful sweetie! I am so proud of you and that’s what I was just gonna say, you had so many these practices in place before that is just going to help you be healthier during your pregnancy and become stronger faster postpartum. I was always the same way. I’m not gonna lie sometimes it takes a while to lose the baby weight but truly, you don’t really think about it. And if you’re going to be breast-feeding it comes off a lot faster. I hope you have the best day!!

    • That’s so encouraging to hear! I always love hearing from people who have been-there-done-that! I’m hopeful to be able to continue with all these healthy habits throughout the rest of the pregnancy and then as much as possible postpartum. Though I imagine there will definitely be a survival mode aspect to postpartum, haha!

  2. I love the prenatal yoga by tonic! They always make me feel so great. I’ve kind of gotten out of the habit of doing them so much start back again!

  3. I’m glad you are feeling better!

    After working at a group home with pregnant teen girls I learned how important water is. So many of those girls would start to get braxton hicks and labor pains all because they refused to drink water. If they came and told me they were in labor I would ask them how much water they had that day. If they said none, I would ask them to drink a huge glass and then come back in 30 minutes to an hour to see if they were still in labor and many times they would not be! I had no idea water could have that big of an impact. So, I’m glad you are in that habit already! =)

    I love the bump pictures!

  4. You look so pretty!!! I loved doing stretches on an exercise ball later in pregnancy. It just felt so good to do a very assisted backbend with one. I did notice over time that I could still lift the same amount but I had to do fewer reps. I just couldn’t hang and that’s ok. Basically just getting out and getting moving made me feel so much better.

    • Yes! I’m only just now at the beginning of the second trimester, but I still tire out SO easily when doing normal work outs. I imagine that will only get more intense as Baby grows! But doing SOMETHING is better than nothing, right? πŸ™‚

  5. Again…I admire your commitment to your health and the way you approach this area of life really encourages me! Keep it up!!! Doing what you can as you can is going to be BEST.

  6. That is so wonderful you had already established good habits that will carry on throughout your pregnancy. You are the cutest pregnant lady! I am in love with your lace dresses. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve had that blue lace dress for years and have loved it every time I’ve worn it. So when I saw the purple one on sale at Target for $8 a couple of weeks ago, I knew it was perfect for me! I’m just a lace-kinda girl! I get lots of wear out of dresses like that. πŸ™‚

  7. It was really hard to eat healthy and clean when I was pregnant because a lot of those foods were ones that just did not agree with me. I also had to modify some of my workouts. My only advice is to do what feels right for you and don’t beat yourself up if you can’t keep up with things as much as you think you will. It’s totally fine and your main goal is to grow a healthy baby. πŸ™‚ I’m sooo happy for you!

    • Yes! Main goal is definitely to grow a healthy baby! I’m definitely enjoying feeling better in this second trimester. I’m hopeful I’ll be able to stay pretty active throughout the next couple of months. I hear the third trimester is pretty tough, though. So we shall see! πŸ™‚

  8. Ah yes, it is so much easier to maintain good healthy habits than to start them while you’re feeling poorly. The timing was truly perfect for you. Good for you for doing all you can to stick to your healthy habits. It’s great for you and for Baby V!

  9. I love that you’re just going with the flow! Your approach sounds like the perfect way to grow a healthy little human πŸ˜‰ xo

  10. i took a prenatal yoga/barre class during my pregnancy and it was good! when i attended during the 2nd trimester, i thought, ‘psh, that was too easy!’ at the time everyone else was much farther along gestionally than me, and having taken yoga/pilates/barre in the past, i didn’t think it was that challenging. BUT then i took the last 3-4 classes during my 3rd trimester, and it was sooo difficult! i remember doing these plies and my thighs and calves were aching sooo much, and after doing it for several minutes our instructor goes, ‘oh yah, that’s just 1 contration.’ it really scared me for what was to come during labor & delivery! lol. but in the end i’m really glad i took the class because i think it made the pushing phase much easier since i was more prepared. so keep on workin’ out mama, you can do it. =)

  11. Glad you are feeling better! Good thing baby likes healthy food πŸ™‚

  12. No kiddos for me yet so I don’t know much about the working out, but I do have to say you look great!!! πŸ™‚

  13. Yes, grow baby Vendetti, grow! I love the bump pictures! You look so happy and radiant, Rach! I’m really happy to hear you’re taking the best care of yourself that you possibly can and listening to your body! You’re already setting a wonderful example for your child πŸ™‚

  14. AH, those pics make me so emotional and teary-eyed! They are so precious!! I’m glad to hear what you’re doing health and fitness-wise in the first trimester! I know it will be helpful out there to others!

  15. So hubby and I are wayyy off from having kids (unless there is an oopsie), but I LOOOOVE reading posts like this. I’m taking note for future reference πŸ˜‰ PRENATAL YOGA! How cool. And my dear, you are so radiant! I am going to find you on instagram right now! Thank you for sharing your journey with us, Rach! xo

  16. congrats, girl! I saw on instagram and had to stop by to read the full scoop. so very happy for you.

  17. Oh my goodness, CONGRATS to you and Chris(topher)! I know I said that on Instagram but I had to tell you again. So excited for you two! I gained thirty pounds while I was pregnant, and because I had stayed active during pregnancy it was pretty painless getting back into shape after Bryn was born. The body is amazing at bouncing back.

    You look wonderful and adorable, by the way. Love that little bump!

  18. you are so right about setting up these habits now to make it easier when you’re pregnant. that’s what i keep reminding myself because i know it will be hard to do new things when that time comes.
    not gonna lie, i was thinking i could overcome it and mind-over-matter eat all the food, good to know that’s not the case. hahaha.

  19. You look beautiful and are doing such an awesome job growing that little baby!!! My go-tos during pregnancy were walking, yoga, and swimmingπŸ˜€ Sometimes when I wasn’t feeling so great, just getting in the pool and walking around was enough to rejuvenate my mind and body!

  20. I’m sorry that you were feeling so sick! I never felt sick with Jake, but I did get queasy daily with Teddy. I ate lots of Saltine crackers. I think that’s how my students guessed that I was pregnant, LOL. I think the second trimester is supposed to be the best one–the honeymoon stage before you become big and uncomfortable. Nice job keeping up your gym time even when you don’t feel well! That’s impressive!

    • I sure hope that’s true for me! I hear the best things about the second trimester so I hope I continue to feel great throughout it!

      Oh, and I ate so many saltine crackers during those early weeks that I can’t hardly look at them now, ha!

  21. Gosh you are one of the most beautiful pregnant ladies I have ever seen! I couldn’t eat eggs when I was pregnant either. All of the other foods that I didn’t want when I was pregnant (coffee, meat, and yogurt) were totally fine with me once I had the baby. I still can’t do eggs though (which I had very regularly before getting pregnant). Oh well, I guess it is just one of those changes that is going to stick around. So glad that the pregnancy is going well (healthy) for you!

  22. Thanks for sharing this informative yet emotional article. I completely agree with you that it’s a very good idea to start eating healthier prior to getting pregnant. It must make it easier for when you’re pregnant.

  23. Great post. I can’t imagine ow difficult it might be to maintain a healthy weight while carrying a growing baby. But it looks like you’re doing a great job. Thanks for sharing!

    http://www.bluelabelsboutique.com
    http://www.fashionnotfear.wordpress.com

  24. It sounds like you are on the right track. Good job mommy! Keep drinking your water like you mentioned and listening to your body! Congratulations!

  25. You look so gorgeous

  26. My wife did the, Big 5 – Body By Science, workout. Only 10-15 minutes of strength training once a week up until later in the third trimester. Great routine to combine with a little cardio if you are hard-pressed for time.

  27. I’m so glad you wrote about this! I just started my blog and have been in the process of losing weight for the past 4 months and you addressed some concerns of mine because I intend to get pregnant within the next year and am nervous about regaining weight. Reading your perspective has made me feel less along in my plight!

    • You know, I wondered how I would feel about gaining weight throughout this pregnancy and honestly it hasn’t been as near as scary as I thought it might be. I’ve continued to stay active and eat as healthily as I can (which can be hard with being so sick sometimes), but for the most part I’ve been able to continue taking good care of my body. And yes, my weight has gone up (as it should!), but it’s for a great cause. And I have the building blocks in place to be able to lose it in a healthy way after Baby Girl arrives next month. πŸ™‚ Best of luck to you with your goals of getting healthy and also with an upcoming pregnancy! How exciting! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

