Photography Favorites: Maternity & Newborn

In light of our recent announcement, sharing my favorite maternity and newborn photos felt right for today’s “favorites photos of 2016” post. πŸ™‚

To be 100% honest with you, I photograph very few newborns. I’m asked to frequently, but IΒ always refer to another photographer here in town who does beautiful work with newborns. It’s not that I don’t like babies (newborn snuggles are so precious!), it’s just that photographing newborns isn’t my specialty. The few newborn sessions that I do accept each year are ones where it is more of a “lifestyle” session. No unnatural poses or diaper-less babies for this photographer. Okay, true story, I caved once and photographed a diaper-less baby. After that explosive experience, I have promised myself I won’t again. πŸ˜‰ But on to adorable photos!

maternity-1maternity-2maternity-3maternity-4newborns-1newborns-2newborns-3

As always, you can see more of my work at Rach Vendetti Photography. Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

28 responses to “Photography Favorites: Maternity & Newborn

  1. The mom and dad reading the books is my favorite!! Plus the twins! Oh my gosh!! Baby fever here!!!

  2. Beautiful photos, especially the last one!

  3. Amazing pictures, Rach. Wow! You are gifted. These pictures tell such stories! ❀

  4. Ahhhhhh so sweet!!! I wish I lived near you to have done some pictures of Zoe!

  5. Those photos are so cute!!
    xx
    MΓ³nica Sors
    MES VOYAGES Γ€ PARIS
    NEW POST: WHY I STARTED A FASHION BLOG & SUNSET IN PARIS…

  6. I just did my first newborn session this past weekend and LOVED it! It was definitely more of a “lifestyle” session– but goshh!! Babies are just soooo cute!!!!!!!!

    As always– beautiful work Rach πŸ™‚

  7. These are all so adorable! I especially love the one of the future parents reading children’s books!

  8. Ahh! These photos are so precious! Won’t be long until you’ll be taking snapshots of your little one πŸ˜‰

  9. These pictures are adorable!

  10. These photos are all so sweet ❀

    Photographing newborns is really tricky! I've only done it for a few friends and I don't know how newborn photographers do it (actually.. I do… photoshop) because often times newborns are awkward and red or wrinkly or cranky and you have to shoot in really short bursts and then try it again later πŸ˜›

    The first time I did it, my friends newborn pooped and peed all over her husband who was like "WHAT DO I DO?!?!?!?" and then when we photographed her second I had to reshoot again the next week as I wasn't happy with the photos

  11. whimsicalseptember

    These are beautiful! You are very creative and talented! I’ve been in awe of our newborn photographers both times. They really are SO good with posing these tiny little babies and making everybody looking good and natural!

  12. These are beautiful! Again, I love the photo of the couple sitting in the nursery reading books–so cute!

  13. Those twins!! Beautiful shots as always! I can’t imagine how hard it must be to photograph newborns. I like the lifestyle ones better than the super posed ones most times anyway. Though, I have seen plenty of adorable posed ones in cute little wraps too.

    • Those adorable posed photos are precious for sure!! I think with (lots) more practice I could be a great newborn photographer, but a friend of mine already does such gorgeous work with newborns that I can’t help but send people to her first. Plus, if I’m being totally honest – newborns are a TON of work to photograph. I’m sure with more practice I’d have a better photography flow with them, but for now I prefer to focus on other types of photography. Though let me tell you, when Baby Vendetti arrives this summer, I will absolutely get TONS of practice then! πŸ˜‰

  14. Ahhh, I love these! The two babies together (I’m assuming they’re twins, maybe?) are so precious! And the one of the mama with her legs up on the crib and the mom and dad reading baby books. Love them!

Leave a Reply

