Gender Predictions

boy-or-girl

This Saturday there will be photos both here on the blog as well as on social media officially announcing the gender of Baby Vendetti! But until then, I thought we should have some fun with some old wives’ tales when it comes to predictions!

Heart Rate Above 140 (Girl) or Below (Boy): At our very first ultrasound the heart rate was 119, but that was at 7 weeks when the normal heart rate is around 90-110 BPM anyway. Other than that very first ultrasound, the heart rate has been in the 160-175 range at the other 5 ultrasounds. So that is a solid GIRL prediction.

Craving Sour & Salty (Boy) or Sweet (Girl): Definitely craving all the sweet fruits and even frozen yogurt quite a bit in this pregnancy. Another GIRL prediction.

Beauty Glowing (Boy) or Stolen (Girl): At the very beginning of the pregnancy I had a little acne around the same time that I would normally have it for the start of my period. Other than that, my skin has looked great throughout this pregnancy so far! Hooray! A BOY prediction.

Morning Sickness (Girl) or Feeling Great (Boy): Well, I’m feeling pretty great now, but the first trimester was rough so I’m calling this a GIRL prediction. I will say, while most people have been guessing it’s a boy, I’ve had several people tell me they think it’s a girl based on how sick I was that first trimester so I guess this particular old wives’ tale is pretty wide spread.

Ring Test: We did the ring test and it most definitely predicted a BOY.

Mayan Calendar: I really know nothing about this, haha! But I heard about this from a “Gender Prediction” Google search and found this website. Looks like another GIRL prediction.

Chinese Gender Predictor Chart: Thanks to this handy dandy website, all the calculations were done for me and a GIRL was predicted.

James Test: Our friend James has correctly predicted the gender of a ridiculous number of babies. We’ve watched him be right over and over again over the years. And James is predicting a BOY for us.

Beth Test: However, my Aunt Beth has also correctly predicted the gender of a ridiculous number of babies. At one point she was 38 for 40 when all her friends were having babies! And Aunt Beth is predicting a GIRL for us.

So the final count is 6 predictions for GIRL and only 3 predictions for BOY. Though if you go with what most of our friends are guessing then you would think we’d already announced that it was a boy. 😉

So tell me, what’s your guess? Girl or Boy?
Love Rach

46 responses to “Gender Predictions

  1. Definitely a girl! I’m so excited for this precious baby Vendetti!!!!!! I’m gonna start working on names that the baby will call me!

  2. I usually guess based in the heart rate and cravings so i am going with girl! Zoe’s heartbeat was always higher and I constantly wanted sweet things my entire pregnancy.

  3. I’m going to go girl as well! I had a bit of morning sickness (didn’t get sick but had wicked nausea), heart rate was in the 160s, and I was craving sweets! The only thing different is that people tell me I’m glowing. 🙂 And we are expecting a girl! I can’t wait to hear (read) the announcement!

  4. First of all – congratulations! I hope you are feeling better(well) and baby keeps on growing.
    I think a boy. Either way – I hope he or she is healthy! HUGS!

  5. Hmmm I’m going to guess it’s a boy. Mostly because a lot of the things predicting girl sound familiar but we had a boy. I am very interested in the James vs Beth tests though, lol. It will be fun to see who is right!

    So do you already know? Or are yall finding out this weekend too?

    • We found out a month ago and at first it was easy to keep a secret because we were keeping the pregnancy itself a secret from most people. But once we shared the news of the pregnancy and I got caught up in talking about the baby I kept slipping and saying “she” or “her”, ha! We kept joking that there would be no one left to “announce” it to if I don’t stop slipping so much, ha!

  6. I really like the “James” prediction and the “Beth” prediction and how one of them has to be wrong! Haha. So excited for you to find out. 🙂

    • I KNOW! That’s what was so crazy! That they both are so often correct, but one of them had to be wrong! Turns out it was James this time. We broke the news gently to him over dinner last week. He took it pretty well. 😉 And of course my Aunt Beth is delighted to be right! 🙂

  7. So, this is going to sound snarky and I DON’T mean it to be (I love you!) but I’m going to tell you that I seriously find all that gender prediction stuff so annoying. They don’t know anything and I don’t know where they even got these ideas from! I think the James and Beth test are much more accurate, except they said different things so what am I supposed to dooooo? 😉 I’ll say boy because like 90% of the people I know who are having babies this year are having boys so let’s keep that trend going! Excited to hear!

    • HA! I don’t know that I’ve ever heard someone say that they find the gender prediction stuff annoying. I mean, I’m sure there are people who feel that way, but I never even thought about it. Clearly I find it lots of fun (because, you know, I wrote a whole blog post about it, haha!). I’m not sure what it is about it, but it’s so fun to see if they can be right! Once I start showing a lot more I’ll be curious to see if I carry high (gender prediction for a girl) or low. I hear that’s one that total strangers will walk up to you and talk to you about. A friend of mine (who was pregnant with a girl) was carrying low and a total stranger in Target told her that she was definitely pregnant with a boy even after my friend told her that they knew the gender was a girl. This lady in Target was convinced that the ultrasound was wrong (it wasn’t – baby was definitely a girl when she was born). I’m not sure how these old wives tales get started, but they weirdly hold a lot of appeal to me.

      And I know right?! It was crazy that Beth & James guessed opposites when they are both so often correct! We broke the news gently to James over dinner last week and he took it pretty well. 😉 He has two sons so now he and Christopher are making wedding arrangements (naturally).

  8. I say….GIRL! Can’t wait to find out. 🙂 ❤

  9. I am not going to “guess” because I already KNOW. 🙂 🙂 🙂 (I’m actually freaking out a little because I’m afraid that I accidently wrote the gender or referred to the pronoun in a comment or something on a public posting…. Please tell me I didn’t do that, or that you caught it and deleted it right away if I did. Yikes!) You two are going to be the BEST parents. Can’t wait for the formal, public announcement!

  10. So many girl predictions! Can’t wait to find out 🙂

  11. I can always tell the gender…but once the lady is about 6 or 7 months along, hehe. I say girl!

  12. whimsicalseptember

    Such a fun post!! Besides the heart rate, all of the other wives tales told me I was having a boy! I ended up with two girls! Have you done the ring test?! IT’S CRAZY accurate!! Haha!!

    • YES! We did the ring test and it was wrong! Though I’m planning to do it again when I’m further along and see if it changes! Isn’t it crazy how some of these can be so right and others are totally wrong?! Did you see the announcement?! It’s up today! 🙂

  13. How fun are these? I can’t wait to find out!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  14. I cannot seem to pick… I guess I’m gonna go with boy 😉 Cannot wait to find out!

  15. So, one of my friends swears by this WEIRD test where you add pee to a bucket with drano (I just texted her to check and she tells me it’s equal amounts pee and bleach.. now I’m wondering how you measure that and am slightly grossed out hahaha) and if it goes red/yellow/no colour change it’s a girl but if it goes brown/blue/green/black it’s a boy? (She said boy colours = boy and make someone else do it because you don’t want to inhale chemicals haha). She has three girls and one boy and it worked for each of them – as well as all of the women at our church who she made try it, haha.

    There’s also one with baking soda but I don’t know all the details!

    I’m going to say girl, I think!

    • I’d never heard this before I started looking up pregnancy gender predictions in the past couple of months, but it sounds so interesting! I didn’t end up trying it because it was such a new thing to me, but now that your friend says it works so well it makes me tempted to try it!

  16. My guess is girl. I can’t wait to find out!

  17. Haha, I love your “James Test” and “Beth Test”. I guess girl. I always guess girl for babies. Probably that has something to do with there being 6 girls and 1 boy out of the seven of us kids. Also, among all of my cousins put together, there are 6 boys and 13 girls. In my family, most of the time, it’s a girl. haha!

    • WOW! That is definitely a lot of girls! I’m one of 4 girls in a family of 5, but I’ve got a good mix of boys & girls as far as cousins go. I tend to guess “girl” most of the time too and it’s probably because I’m one of so many girls (though not as many as you – wow!).

  18. Wow! Congratulations I hope you stay better!!
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: GUCCI BELT & FUR COAT IN NORWAY
    DON’T MISS: MY FAVORITE CASUAL STYLE WITH JEANS

  19. This is so fun! I really want you to have a girl (maybe because I always wanted a girl and I just want to live vicariously). But I feel like you will probably have a boy, judging from some of these predictions!

  20. Hehe! I love this!!!
    🙂
    :X
    😉

  21. I LOVE this! I haven’t heard of half of these – but what fun!!! And I am going BOY!!!!! xoxoxo

  22. Another fun post!!! I love that you tracked down all these predictors and kept track of them. 🙂 This will be something neat to remember years from now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

