Buttermilk Biscuits for Valentine’s

Happy Valentine’s Day, my friends! I’ve been wanting biscuits lately so I finally whipped up a batch yesterday. I had forgotten just how easy biscuits are to make and just how delicious they are fresh from the oven. Mmm… warm biscuits! Yum! And because it’s Valentine’s… I made half the batch into heart-shapes. 🙂

buttermilk-biscuits-3

buttermilk-biscuits-4

Buttermilk Biscuits (recipe originally found here on MyRecipes)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups self rising flour
1 stick butter
1 cup buttermilk

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 475.

2. Grate butter using large holes of a box grater. Toss together grated butter and flour in a medium bowl. Chill 10 minutes.

3. Make a well in center of mixture. Add buttermilk, and stir 15 times. Dough will be sticky.

4. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Lightly sprinkle flour over top of dough. Using a lightly floured rolling pin, roll dough into a 3/4-inch-thick rectangle (about 9 x 5 inches). Fold dough in half so short ends meet. Repeat rolling and folding process 4 more times.

5. Roll dough to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut with a 2 1/2 inch floured round cutter, reshaping scraps and flouring as needed.

6. Place dough rounds on greased cookie sheet or glass pan. Bake 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

buttermilk-biscuits-2

If you are looking for a good old fashioned biscuit recipe – this is it!

Tonight we’ll be celebrating Valentine’s with our normal Tuesday night crew (for those who don’t know, we have eaten dinner with the same group of friends nearly every Tuesday night for the past 5 years). The guys are making dinner for the ladies and Christopher is in charge of veggies so I’m excited about that (he’s a great cook!). I’ll be sure to let you know how that goes later this week! 🙂

Love Rach

 

28 responses to “Buttermilk Biscuits for Valentine’s

  1. Well, butter my biscuits! These are darling and sound so good! If you can, I am hosting the recipe link up at The Blended Blog today. You should come link up these goodies! Happy Valentine’s Day beautiful mama to be!

  2. Why have I never thought to use different shapes for biscuits?? These heart ones are adorable!

    • Oh my goodness, it’s so much fun! I will say, some shapes haven’t come out as well as these hearts do. I think the biggest thing is finding cookie cutters that are close to the 2″ diameter that most biscuit cutters are. If you make your biscuits way bigger then sometimes they don’t rise as well. But it’s fun to experiment with!

  3. That is so fun you guys have a little Tuesday night supper club!!!

    • We have been so blessed by this group! We used to switch around to different homes, but for the past several years it has been just one family who hosts everyone every week (we usually all bring something to add to the meal so they aren’t doing ALL the cooking, but they still nearly always provide the main course). They are so incredibly hospitable and I’m so thankful to have been part of it for so long!

  4. These heart shaped biscuits are so cute! Every time I try to make biscuits from scratch, they end up too dry. I usually use canned biscuit dough. Does adding extra buttermilk help?

    • A little extra might help. It’s worth trying! Though I’ve found the biggest things (through trial and error and hockey puck biscuits haha) to be: 1. use COLD butter 2. use a HOT oven 3. don’t over-mix (my biggest offender)! It’s okay for your batter to be sticky when you dump it out of the bowl and begin rolling it out. The fewer times you roll it out, the better as well. Biscuits are such a simple thing to make if you can stand next to someone and watch them make them once. There are so many things you learn just by seeing the dough in person to know when it’s ready. I say try it again! Homemade biscuits are worth the effort (because once you get the recipe down – they are so simple to whip up in a hurry!). 🙂

  5. I love biscuits. These look so tasty. Good idea to use the heart cookie/biscuit cutter!

  6. These are so cute!

    Happy Valentines Day to you! xo

  7. Aww the heart shapes are so cute! Yay for yummy biscuits.

  8. Yum, these look absolutely delicious! It’s too late for me to make them today, but maybe I’ll make a President’s Day batch! 🙂

  9. I’ve never made buttermilk biscuits, but when I do, these will be them and they will be heart shaped! YUM! And I love that the guys are cooking for the gals tonight. So fun! Happy Valentine’s day friend. XO

  10. I love how this recipe is only a few ingredients… my kind of recipe! They look delicious!

  11. These are so cute! and they sound delicious!

  12. Love an easy biscuit recipe! Those biscuits look so cute and yummy 🙂

  13. Yum! And how cute are the little heart shapes! Hope you had a good Valentine’s, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  14. And… now I need some biscuits! I love to throw a little honey & lavender in mine.

  15. Heart biscuits! That is adorable! I saw the picture you shared on Instagram and immediately wanted some. Thanks for sharing!

  16. These looks so YUMMY! I haven’t been feeling well this last few days and these looks like they would hit the spot! Biscuits are the ultimate comfort food! Plus, I love that they are heart shaped!!!! Thanks for sharing, Rach !

Leave a Reply

