Ohio Trip

We spent this past weekend in Ohio visiting my oldest sister’s family. For those who don’t know, they live in Prague (check out this post for our recent trip to visit them there!). However, thanks to a business trip, they are hanging out in Ohio for a bit so we went up to visit them!

us-with-katka-and-marek

This is us with our niece, Katka and nephew, Marek. They are so fun to spend time with! Melissa (their mom/my sister) and I have talked a lot about parenting over the years and this weekend I started asking her oldest (Katka) what she thought of her parents parenting. It was fun hearing her perspective (turns out she thinks her parents are doing a pretty good job). πŸ™‚

melissa kids rach.jpg

Katka is very excited to meet her cousinΒ the next time we see them! She loved feeling my baby bump and offering name suggestions. πŸ™‚

melissas-fam

My sister’s family! As always, we had a wonderful visit with them! Even though they live in Europe, I’m so thankfulΒ we’ve made an effort to see each other as frequently as we can!

SkylineChili.jpg

We did plenty in Columbus, Ohio over this weekendΒ (including visiting the zoo, walking around the Ohio State campus, walking around downtown, eating lots of delicious food, and playing at parks), but this is the only other photo I have, haha! We ate at Skyline Chili and it was delicious! Though, I’ll be honest, half that cheese came off before I ate it, haha! πŸ˜‰

17-weeks2

I’ll leave you with this shot from yesterday at the airport. Baby Girl has POPPED! I can’t figure out if this is because I really have grown this much or if this is the first Baby Bump photo we’ve taken near the end of the day versus in the morning. I definitely ate a lot of dairy this weekend which tends to bloat me. So I’m not sure how much of that is Baby V and how much of that is the cheese I had for lunch. πŸ˜‰ But either way, Baby Girl is growing and making sure everyone knows she’s here! This is the 4th State she’s visited while in utero, but her first flight! I’m excited for all the adventures we’ll have with her on the outside too! πŸ™‚

Do you have far-away family that you still get to see on a regular basis?

Have you had Skyline Chili? If so, did you actually eat all that cheese?!Β 

Love Rach

41 responses to “Ohio Trip

  1. What a fun weekend! That’s great that you got to see your faraway relatives briefly. I bet it was really special for them to get to see you pregnant since they otherwise may not be stateside to see that.

    You look fantastic in that airport photo! That combo of a growing Baby V and dairy totally suits you!

  2. Such a cute bump!!! I remember going from looking like I needed to lay off the donuts to pregnant overnight too! Sounds like you had a fun weekend visiting with family πŸ™‚

  3. I wish they were in Cincinnati, I was so hopeful when I saw that Skyline picture! And yes I eat all the cheese. And you and your bump are so stinkin adorable!!!!

  4. I’m so glad you got to see your family that lives in Prague! Everyone but my immediate family (and now my in-laws) lives in Russia, so I definitely know how you feel. Your baby bump is so adorable. πŸ™‚

  5. That chili looks amazing. As do you!

  6. My dad is from Ohio and I’ve only gone once. Skyline Chili is the only chili that we eat in our house. All my friends find it weird that I like chili with spaghetti… I actually like it. These cheese is always the best part. Hope you had a great time! πŸ™‚

  7. Wow! Your bump is SO cute. ❀

  8. How stinking cute are you, girl?!?!?!?!?? ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

    I am so glad you had a lovely time with your family! Our far away family we only ever get to see every one or two years!

  9. Ahhhh! Just teared up over that bump pic!! Such a cute bump–she gets to travel and eat away, not a bad life I’ve got to say! πŸ˜‰

  10. I’m tearing up too and my heart swelled when I saw that baby girl bump!! Precious! I’m so glad you got to see your Family and have some skyline chili! We live over in Indiana so I’ve had it many times. I hope you have a wonderful day!

  11. Looks like a lovely family visit! That chili looks sooo good πŸ˜€

  12. Yeah for meeting up with family!

  13. wow lovely post! You have a sweet family darling!
    xx
    MΓ³nica Sors
    MES VOYAGES Γ€ PARIS
    NEW POST: CASUAL CHIC LOOK | JEANS, MAXI COAT AND VELVET
    DON’T MISS: CHLOE LOVE STORY

  14. whimsicalseptember

    You and that bump are WAY too cute!! So glad you had a wonderful visit with your family. Those kinds of visits always fill my love tank. πŸ™‚

  15. Ahh that last picture! Your little bump is so cute! I am glad you got some quality time in visiting with your sister and her family.

  16. I was so excited when I saw on Instagram that you had Skyline! SO GOOD! I love that you were in Ohio! Baby V is already such a little traveler! Can’t wait to see more of your growing family’s adventures πŸ™‚

  17. Have family in Cali! From east coast it’s a long way ! Thank God for FaceTime!

  18. A friend of mine recently told me about Cleveland, OH and now I kind of want to go!!! Ohio was never on my list, but his description made me thing it SHOULD be.

    I’ve HEARD of skyline chili, but the spaghetti noodles always weirded me out…Maybe I should give it a go?!?!?

    Glad you got some time with your sister and her family and Columbus sounds like it made for a nice place to meet up!!!

    Baby Girl is definitely showing her stuff in there! You look FANTASTIC, as always!!! ❀

    • Oh man, I love chili over spaghetti! I eat it like that at home all the time (even before I heard of Cincinnati chili) because we did it when I was growing up. We would eat it over rice or pasta pretty frequently (probably to stretch it out since we were a big family, but it was normal to me). πŸ™‚ Cincinnati chili also has cocoa powder and cinnamon in it which gives it this really rich, deep flavor. It’s so good! I vote YES to trying it!

  19. I’m so glad you’ve been able to see them so much lately! I hope they get a chance to visit sometime within baby’s first year! πŸ™‚

  20. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of skyline chili! It looks amazing, though!

    I’m so happy you were able to spend time with your sister’s family. Your niece and nephew are adorable, and I love that your niece is so excited for her cousin’s arrival!!

    The bump shot is awesome! Yay for baby girl popping!

Leave a Reply

