Winter Jam 2017!

Over the weekend Christopher and I went to Winter Jam here in Memphis!

winter-jam

10 bands for $10 at the door. Always an awesome night of worship! I love it every year!

10th-avenue-north

This year my favorites were David Crowder, Colton Dixon, 10th Avenue North, Newsong, and newcomer Sarah Reeves. I’d never heard of Sarah before, but her voice was gorgeous and her lyrics were so powerful!ย I loved her songs “Details” and “Faithful”! SO good!

davidcrowder

Christopher’s favorite was definitely David Crowder because he loves that style of music. This is our 3rd time hearing him perform and I think it was my favorite of the three. He played a couple of his songs acoustically and the whole crowd sang along. It was beautiful. And powerful.

On a funny note:ย there were a couple of hip hop/rap songs performed by different artists complete with crazy strobe lights and every teenager around us rapping along… those songs officially made me feel like an old person. We have mentored teenagers for over a decade so I tend to keep up with trends in music, social media, and fashion pretty well (even if I don’t follow along – I still “get it”). But during those songs I had flashbacks to my mom walking into my room when I was a teenager and asking me what on earth my loudย rap music was. I told her it was a Christian group called POD and she just kind of looked quizzically at me and said “okay…” I didn’t understand it at the time, but I totally do now. How do these teenagers understand any of the words? It just sounds loud! Yeah, I’m officially an out-of-touch-with-today’s-youth’s-music old person. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Love Rach

23 responses to “Winter Jam 2017!

  1. Haha I always feel old when I hear new songs and don’t recognize any of the artists anymore!!

  2. I am so upset that I missed Winter Jam this time around! It seems like for the last few times I’ve missed for various reasons and I told myself this time we were going. I guess I never put it on my calendar and didn’t realize it was this weekend until I saw people on facebook posting. I think I spent so much time trying to decide if we were going to Toby Mac….I can’t hang on a Thursday….that I forgot to write down Winter Jam.

    • Oh sad!! It’s one of my favorite things every winter so as soon as they release the schedule in like November I put it on my calendar for the next year (it’s usually here in Jan/Feb). Plus I listen to a lot of Klove and Air1 and both radio stations were talking about it that week so there was no way I could forget. Hopefully next year you’ll be able to go!

  3. How fun! Sounds like that is a great event every year.

    And I’m totally with you on the stuff kids listen to these days. I can’t understand a word.

    • Riiiight?! I had my first experience with this when “Scream-O” became a thing with the teens I was working with when I was in my early 20’s. But that was a pretty extreme example. Now it’s the same type of music that I listened to as a teenager (like rock or rap) and I suddenly can’t understand any of it. #oldpeopleprobz ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’ve had the exact same sorts of feelings about being too old for some of the music for teens–at a youth camp we brought our group to last year and were chaperoning. The teens were like “This is the best worship ever” and me and Angel were a little like…umm…can we get farther away from the speakers or maybe outside the building? But I’m glad they enjoy it so much!

  5. Haha I’m right there with ya when it comes to the music that kids listen to today. Idk when that happened, but I’ve officially become that person. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. What a fun night! Girl, you are not old at all ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. What a cool event, lady! Thanks for sharing the snaps!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  8. Hahaha yesss! It is SO hard to keep up with kids these days. I feel like I just work out what they’re talking about and the next week they’re like “oh… that was SO long ago, Kristy”. Whoops!

  9. POD is taking it back, ha ha. Sounds like a fun concert ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. How fun!!!!! Oh my goodness so many great artists! I can’t believe it’s only $10! I looooove David Crowder too โค He has such a gift for creating music that makes me just want to worship. LOL about being old!! I feel that way when WILL plays Christian rap music in the car! I'm like "It's sooo loud!!!" ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. I am almost 29 and I don’t pay attention to new music. And I don’t know anyone on the covers of those teen magazines at the grocery store!

  12. I had no clue the tickets to Winter Jam were so inexpensive! That’s amazing!! It sounds like such a fun night of worship, crazy rap music and all ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

