Chocolate Chip Beer Bread Muffins

Yesterday was Fat Tuesday! So we had gumbo and other Mardi Gras inspired foods with our friends. I was in charge of bread for the evening so I decided to make a loaf of beer bread which is the bread I bake most often because it’s just so simple. My favorite way to make it is with Strawberry Abita, which you can read all about here. But I decided to make a second batch of beer bread for last night and decided to make them in muffin form… and add chocolate chips. I mean, why not go all outย onย Fatย Tuesday? ๐Ÿ˜‰

beer bread chocolate chip muffins.JPG

Chocolate Chip Beer Bread Muffins

Ingredients:

3 cups self rising flour
1/4 cup sugar
12 oz beer
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray 12 count muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Whisk together flour and sugar. Then add beer and stir with spoon until combined.

3. Add a small amount of melted butter to bottom of each muffin cup. Pour batter into muffin cups.ย Pour remaining melted butter over each one.

4. Bake 35 minutesย or until golden brown on top.


Like Beer Bread, these are incredibly simple to make and yet taste so delicious! All that buttery goodness!

And now today Lent begins. I don’t talk much about fasting on this blog, but I did write a little about it two years ago and I loved re-reading that post today. If you are interesting in fasting or want to know more, that post is a great place to start. ๐Ÿ™‚

Blessings on this Ash Wednesday. Easter is coming, my friends. ๐Ÿ™‚
Love Rach

22 responses to “Chocolate Chip Beer Bread Muffins

  1. What? Beer and Chocolate Chips in the same recipe! How fun and I can see the men in our lives gobbling up the concept and the delicious muffins!!

  2. Oh this sounds so good! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ohhhhhh beer bread??? I totally need to try this out sometime! It sounds delicious!

  4. I LOVE beer bread (totally just typed that “bear bread”) with stew!!! I’ve added cheese, but never thought about making them a sweet by adding chocolate!!! I’m intrigued!!!

    How are you celebrating Lent this year???

    Do YOU make any mardi gras/New Orleans inspired foods?

  5. YUMMY YUMMY! I LOVE beer bread and haven’t had it in forever! Now I’m craving it! This is great because we have had beer sitting in our fridge for a couple weeks now from when we had company over that is going to waste- so this is a great way to use that up. Thanks for sharing, Rach! xo

  6. I’ve never had beer bread.

    And I have a funny mental picture of you in all your pregnant beauty walking up to the register with beer in hand at the grocery store. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It tastes like butter. Delicious buttery bread. So yummy! Definitely not healthy by any stretch of the imagination, but absolutely worth every bite! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And YES! I kept thinking, “These people are going to judge me when they see me buying beer! But it’s not for me to drink!!” Haha! I need wine for a soup recipe this week and I know I’m going to get some looks since Baby Girl is definitely showing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. whimsicalseptember

    These sounds amazing! One of my absolutely favorite breads to make is called a honey beer bread, and everyone I’ve made it for raves about it. I bet this recipe is just as tasty. Pinning this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’ve never had beer bread–that I know of anyway, and I’ve def not made it before. It sounds so yummy and I could use some of those muffins this morning!

  9. What a yummy idea!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  10. I’m totally intrigued by this recipe! Does it taste beer-y at all? (Technical term, clearly!)

  11. These look great! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

