Portraits {Photography Favorites}

Portraits are such fun for me! When I first started out, I found that people often feel very uncomfortable posing by themselves. Have you had photos taken of yourself by yourself before? It’s so different than posing with another person (or even taking a selfie). I can’t tell you how often I have a client look at me with panic in their eyes and say, “but what do I do with my hands?!” Haha! But with a joke here or there and a few encouraging comments, people are usually put at ease pretty quickly. šŸ™‚

portraits-1

portraits-2

portraits-3

portraits-4

portraits-6

portraits-5

portraits-9

portraits-8

portraits-7

portraits-10

Ā Love Rach

25 responses to “Portraits {Photography Favorites}

  1. climb lift eat

    I remember my high school senior portrait – I felt very awkward throughout the whole thing! It definitely helps to have a photographer that can put you at ease and the whole thing feel a bit more natural

  2. Love!!! I am not comfortable of pictures of myself! I at least want to pull one of my kids in the picture with me! Ha

  3. My only time having my photo taken like this was for sr. photos and I definitely felt odd. HA. These turned out great.

  4. these are SO good!! the 2nd and 4th are my favorite. stunning ladies!

  5. These are stunning! I love the lighting in the beach one… such perfect golden sun light.

  6. There are all so good!!! I am soooo awkward when taking pictures and never know what to do with my hands…or face hahahaha

  7. I love these pictures! Each picture is full of personality šŸ™‚

  8. You have so much talent friend! Love the tones in these!

  9. Portraits are tough work – especially when your subject isn’t confident in themselves. But just by looking at these it is so obvious that you put them at ease and make them feel totally comfortable as these are all so natural and there is so much personality in each one!

    • Mostly I make little jokes here or there (or comments about myself that make them laugh) and it usually helps put them at ease. I know how awkward it is to be in front of a camera so I do whatever I can to help with that!

  10. chelseajacobs

    These are all so good!!

  11. I see your sis!! These portraits are great, Rach!! Each one is so unique and beautiful. Portraits are my favorite kind of pictures to take, so I especially love this post!

  12. I love the ones that have that extra Memphis flair in the background–the signs and the mural! And it’s so fun to see your sister thrown in the mix! šŸ™‚

    • Good eye spotting my sis! I wondered how many people would notice that was her. šŸ˜‰ And yes! While I love gorgeous locations (like fall leaves or the beach), there’s definitely something fun and unique with the less traditional locations. šŸ™‚

  13. The photos are great! I wish I could be as good as you ā¤

Leave a Reply

