The Perfect Grilled Cheese

So the secret to the perfect grilled cheese is really quite simple. It’s patience. And butter. There should always be butter.

The Perfect Grilled Cheese (1).JPG

You start with a skillet on low-to-medium heat (we have a scale of 10 with 5 being “medium” and 10 being “hottest” and I usually heat the skillet to a 3 or 4). This is where patience comes into play. Butter one side of a slice of white bread (yes, white bread. This is one of the few times I’ll buy white bread instead of a whole grain type) and lay it buttered-side down on the skillet. Lay a piece of Colby Jack cheese (yes, this is important – it’s the best type of cheese!) on top of the bread and then top with another slice of bread. Butter the top slice as well. Now we wait as the cheese slowly begins to melt. Usually 8-10 minutes for my stove.

the-perfect-grilled-cheese-2

So how do you know when to flip it? Well, that’s quite simple. When the top side begins to look like this. See how the butter is beginning the melt on top of the bread? That’s a good indicator that the cheese is melting! Let’s check the sides…

The Perfect Grilled Cheese (3).JPG

Yup! The cheese is definitely beginning to melt! Time to flip it over for sure!

The Perfect Grilled Cheese (4).JPG

Look at that beautiful golden crust now that we’ve flipped our sandwich over! Low and slow really does win out! Let the bottom side crisp up a bit (about 1-2 minutes). You can check the bottom by gently reaching under the edge of the sandwich with a spatula to get a peak underneath to see if it’s done. It should be ready soon!

The Perfect Grilled Cheese (6).JPG

Look at all that melty cheese and that beautiful golden, buttery crust! YUM! You can use most different types of cheese for this, but I’m telling you – try Colby Jack. It’s the best.

the-perfect-grilled-cheese-7

And now it’s time to enjoy your grilled cheese! Trust me, it will absolutely be worth going the low & slow method of cooking in order to get this delight! And if you have a big enough skillet (or even a griddle), you can easily cook several at once. We had these for dinner last weekΒ and I could make 3 of them at a time in my large skillet. Mhmmm YUM!

Love Rach

46 responses to “The Perfect Grilled Cheese

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. Colby Jack is my favorite cheese and so now I’m wondering why I have never put that on our grill Cheese? And you have so got me wanting a grilled cheese for lunch, this is perfection in bread and cheese form!

  3. One of my all-time faves. I hear to put mayo on it, which is just a travesty to me!! I’ve never tried colby jack! Def doing that next time.

  4. Mmmmm what is it about grilled cheese??? It is so simple yet so satisfying. The ultimate comfort food!

  5. LOVE grilled cheese! I have no patients and always almost burn one side. ALWAYS! LOL!

  6. Now you’ve made me want a grilled cheese! πŸ™‚

  7. Mmm, looks so tasty! I love a good grilled cheese. And I agree – one of the few times when I’ll go for white bread.

  8. Mmmm, now I want to try to make a perfect grilled cheese like this one!

  9. I haven’t made a grilled cheese in ages, but I would agree patience is the key. I never had that when making mine. I don’t have patience in general when I’m hungry. πŸ˜‰

  10. I never thought about using Colby Jack before–what a great idea! We sure do love grilled cheese around here. I love trying different combos two–like pizza grilled cheese, BBQ, etc. Yum!

  11. I have been on a grilled cheese kick for months!!! They’re not the best for you, but they are filling and can be paired with soooo many things. Plus, I always have what we need to make them. Now…Want to know my Mom’s secret? It weirds everyone out…Mayonaise instead of butter. It only takes the thinest layer, but it works like a charm!!! And I’m going to have to try it with colby cheese. I’ve always used regular old American.

    Have you made grilled pb & js yet?!?! That’s another one that’s super good!

    • Christopher is on team mayo! A friend of ours made it that way a couple of years ago and ever since then Christopher loves it that way! I like it okay, but I still prefer butter. I definitely thought it was going to taste gross so I was quite pleased that even with mayo instead of butter, a grilled cheese is still pretty delicious (or in Christopher’s opinion – even better). πŸ™‚

  12. This is how I make it every time! (Except I usually just use American cheese in the plastic, but I’m sure Colby Jack tastes better). πŸ˜‰

  13. YUM!! Rach– these pictures are making me hungry!!

  14. Butter is KEY. Great grillin’ tips, lady! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  15. Yum! now I want a grilled cheese! And I actually do have some Colby Jack at home. I may have to make a good grilled cheese this weekend then!

  16. Oh, yummy! I love gooey grilled cheese πŸ™‚

  17. Hmmmm… YUM!!! πŸ™‚ Brady LOVES grilled cheese, so we eat them often. Although I have to say, thanks to a hungry toddler crawling up my legs, I tend to go with the fast, oops-I-burnt-it-a-little method. LOL! Yours looks perfect!!!

    • Hey, if Brady likes it a little extra toasty then that’s awesome! Christopher actually prefers them a little charred on the edges so he usually cooks at a higher temp than I do. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, poor Brady HATES extra crispy grilled cheese. Ha! (Nate actually likes them a bit crisp…). But I accidentally overcook Brady’s grilled cheeses sometimes, and he won’t eat them. He would LOVE your grilled cheeses!!!

        • Haha! Christopher likes this crispy ones too! Just one more than he and Nate have in common! And maybe as Brady gets a little older he’ll understand that if he can be a little more patient and play quietly for a few more minutes then his grilled cheese will come out perfectly! Or maybe that’s a bit idealistic, haha! Hopefully eventually he’ll get to that point! Before long he’ll be making them himself and learning those very lessons!

  18. Mmmmm! Grilled cheese is serious comfort food for me! Cheesy, carby, melty, gooey deliciousness!

  19. grilled cheese is the best, the more cheese, the better!

  20. This is kind of crazy…. but I don’t think I’ve ever had grilled cheese! Now I want to try my hand at it!

  21. ALLIE….WHAT?!!?!? I am so confused right now.
    Also, thank you for this. I suck at patience and my grilled cheeses turn out awful. Haha. Will try my hardest to do the slow and steady melty thing.
    Also, I love my grilled cheeses with strawberry jam.

Leave a Reply

