Lately: Around the House

Seven years ago Christopher and I bought a fixer upper in pitiful shape. We put a lot of love and hard work into it and made it into a home we love. Over the years there have been little things that we’ve put off (like re-doing the floors upstairs or replacing windows) and that list has grown… and grown… and grown! Every now and then when we’re in town over a weekend we try to accomplish a thing or two off the list, but to be totally honest, most things haven’t been super high priority over the past seven years. Until now.

NowΒ we have this little girl on the way. And maybe we’ll still want to do house projects here and there after she arrives, but maybe not.Β We’d like to at least have the option to know that our house to-do list has been taken care of before she arrives and we can focus on general maintenance and having fun with her instead of thinking about the looming to-do list. So our goal over the past few months has been to mark things off the list. And my, oh my, have we been making serious progress!

A lot of the progress isn’t all that exciting to see.Β For example, I cleaned the grout on our bathroom floors this week. Woohoo exciting. Haha! Well, it is exciting to mark it off the list, but not super exciting to see photos. πŸ˜‰ But we have had some fun highlights lately that I thought I’d share with you guys!

new light.jpg

Look at that gorgeous new light! I found that on Craiglist for $60 and we just fell in love with it! It’s hard to tell how big it is since the table underneath it is oversized (it’s bar height), but this light fixture is HUGE! And Christopher did a rockstar job putting it up! It definitely brightens our dining room way up. The next project in here is to put in a long buffet on the opposite wall (under the mirror). I’m keeping my eye out for a good deal, but most likely Christopher will end up building this piece for us. Because he’s awesome like that. πŸ˜‰

patio fence

Speaking of how awesome he is – here he is putting the finishing touches on the patio fence he built for us! There isn’t much this guy can’t do. If he doesn’t already know how to do it then he just watches a couple of instructional Youtube videos and next thing I know, he’s brilliant at it. All that’s left with this is to paint it in a couple of months when the wood is ready.

Europe photos

This was such a simple, quick project, but I finally put together a collage of some of our photos from our most recent Europe trip this past September. Sweet, sweet memories. πŸ™‚

Other fun highlights have revolved around working in the nursery. Clearing it out, picking colors, refinishing furniture… you know, things of that nature. Christopher is currently working with another friend (who also does carpentry) on converting an old drop-side crib (that has been passed down in my family – I was in it as a baby!)Β into a crib that meets current safety standards. It’s so fun planning together what we want this space to look like – I’m excited for it to come together!

When it comes to your home do you have a to-do list or are you in maintenance mode?

Love Rach

40 responses to “Lately: Around the House

  1. My Mr. Nine is like Christopher, he can do about anything. Love that our men can “Get er’ done!” Lol. Cannot wait to see the nursery and that light is perfect! Happy weekend beautiful mama!!

    • It’s so helpful to be married to someone who is so handy! We were just babies when we got married and I had no idea he would turn out to be so good at all of this home stuff. I lucked out there! And it sounds like you did too! πŸ™‚

  2. Girlllll, cleaning grout is NO joke!! I hope you have big tile in your bathroom because we have those teeny tiny tiles that were popular in the 70’s and they are a HEADACHE to clean!! Goodness! I can’t wait until we safe up enough to redo our bathrooms, but all in due time πŸ™‚

    I love how handy Christopher is! Will is pretty handy when he starts doing a project, but always doubts his abilities before he gets started. Tell Christopher he needs to take Will on as a student! πŸ˜‰

    • Oh girl, I WISH we had that huge tile. I mean, I don’t hate our tiny tile or anything as far as looks go, but there is SO MUCH grout! And it’s all so tiny! They are definitely a pain to clean, but I felt super accomplished when I finished, haha!

      Aww, Christopher loves to help other people out with house stuff. In fact, he does a lot of that (especially for our elderly neighbors). Move closer to us and he’ll be happy to help inspire Will! πŸ˜‰

  3. The house looks great! Go you for scrubbing grout!

    • I know, right?! I was pretty proud of myself when Christopher came home and saw how much I had accomplished! Granted, he was a bit appalled to see his pregnant wife on the bathroom floor scrubbing grout, but I just reminded him that I have the time to do it now and we all know it won’t be happening after Baby Girl gets here, haha!

  4. i love the photo collage!!

  5. Christopher is just like my husband! People ask him how he’s able to build stuff (like our house and garage!) and he’ll just say “I YouTubed it!”. πŸ™‚

    I love seeing your updates; your house is adorable!

  6. Nice! It does get harder to cross things off the to-do list after the baby arrives, so it’s great that you’re getting it done now!

  7. Your home looks so lovely! It’s always impressive to me how both of you can DIY so many projects! We would probably have to hire people for what you guys do yourself. As for us, we are renting a tiny (450 sq. ft.) apartment, so there isn’t much we can do. But I like finding ways to customize it with command hooks, curtains, and such! πŸ™‚

    • Aww, our first apartment was 400 square feet! We have so many sweet memories of that tiny place. It had the ugliest pinky-gray cinderblock walls and yet we managed to make it our own. πŸ™‚ We love, love, love our house, but we do still talk fondly about our time in apartment living! Enjoy these days! πŸ™‚

      • I think it’s always so special because it’s your first place together! ❀ I don't know how long we'll be here but I definitely don't look forward to leaving because we've grown so attached. Not that it looks nice or anything, haha, it's just…our home. Our first home together. ❀ With fairy lights, curtains, and wall decorations, it's become our own!

  8. How awesome that Christopher is handy! I love that light fixture you guys found. I loved putting the nursery together so much, I hope you are enjoying the process too!!! And yes, do all the project you can now because you wont have anytime for them soon!

  9. Love that collage! We bought a major fixer upper last year and every time we cross something off the list, we add something new!! I have to know though, how did you clean your grout? Any magic tips?

    • Oh girl, I wish I had some great tips for you. Since I’m pregnant I’m avoiding chemicals as much as I can which means I used dawn dish soap mixed with some warm water and a bristle brush to scrub all that grout. I’m sure a chemical cleaner would have done it MUCH faster, but I didn’t want to mess with wearing a mask for the rest of the day.

      And we definitely have done that in the past too – mark one thing off the list and then add another. That’s how our list has just grown and grown, haha! But so far we’ve done a pretty good job of mostly just marking things off (only adding one or two extras here and there). Hopefully we’ll get most of it done before Baby Girl arrives! πŸ™‚

  10. Gorgeous! I can not wait to see what y’all do with the nursery! It was so fun planning the girls bedrooms!

  11. Christopher sounds like such an awesome hubby! That new light from Craigslist was such a good find! πŸ˜€

  12. You guys are rocking that to do list – and way to go Christopher for trying so many new projects out!

    Jesse is very much the same – he always wants to jump into a project and I’m like “is this really a good idea? we could fail?!” and he just youtubes it and he’s off and before I know it he’s done whatever he was doing perfectly

  13. Wow that light is a great Craigs list find!

  14. I love how everything is looking! That is so cool that he can build stuff. Such a money saver, plus you know it’s made with care and love!

  15. Looking awesome! I am so impressed by both of you!

  16. So fun and handy that he can do all those things himself! Jordan is super handy HOWEVER he is not handy in our house unless I bother him about it. He says he works on houses all day so he doesn’t want to work on his own house. AH! What good is a handy husband if he won’t be handy? I want him to put a light in our pantry but I’m not holding my breath. ha! πŸ˜‰

  17. Aw everything looks great!! And yes it gets harder to cross things off that list after baby. At least for the first year it seems. We are getting back to working on projects but it’s during that nap window on weekends, lol! Or we have to do single projects where only one of us can handle the whole thing while the other keeps Rhett from getting into everything, lol. I can’t wait to see the nursery projects!! πŸ™‚

  18. oh yes, i think you shared a picture of that crib, right? can’t wait to see it and the nursery when you’re done because you will share right yes please please share πŸ™‚
    we are (hopefully) closing on our new house next week (hopefully hopefully hopefully) and the to do list is loooooooooooooooong lol. i can’t wait to get started on exciting things like a new kitchen and also not so exciting things like grout πŸ˜‰ because it’s gotta be done.

    • also, love the photo collage. i want to do something similar using photos from all of our travels. so many ideas!

    • Haha! I’m not positive if we’ll end up sharing photos of her nursery on the blog or not because I’m still working out how much I want to share about her on the blog anyway. I’m pretty sure we will share photos of at least her nursery, but if we end up deciding not to, just remind me that you wanted to see pics and I will DEFINITELY send them to you!

      AH! Hooray for getting so close to closing!! That’s awesome!! I’m so excited to see befores & afters! You will share those, right?!

Leave a Reply

