Marty’s Healthy Muffins

Usually when I talk about family recipes, I’m talking about ones from my side of the family simply because I learned most of what I know about cooking from my mom, my mom’s parents, and years of trial and error. But every now and then I’ll realize there is something missing in my repertoire thanks to my mother-in-law.

rach and marty

For example, she taught me to stop being afraid to cook fish. And she also introduced me to Jiffy cornbread. Which isn’t a family recipe or anything, but I always thought that I didn’t like cornbread until I tried Jiffy. Mmm!

toph and marty

And over the past few months she has been making the most delicious muffins every time we visit. Even when I was feeling especially sick, Baby Girl has loved these health-ified muffins so we’ve been making them at home as well.

Marty's Healthy Muffins (3)

Marty’s Healthy Muffins

Ingredients:

3 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 tbsp Stevia
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup blueberries OR 60% Cocoa Chocolate Chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium mixing bowl mash bananas and mix in Stevia. Add beaten egg, vanilla, and applesauce and mix together.

2. In a separate small mixing bowl, whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

3. Add dry ingredients to banana mixture and mix until just combined. Pour into prepared muffin tins (either use non-stick spray or muffin liners).

4. Bake 20-25 minutes until golden brown on top. Makes a dozen delicious muffins.

Marty's Healthy Muffins (1)Made with chocolate chips!

Marty's Healthy Muffins (2)Made with blueberries!

Marty's Healthy Muffins (4)Covered in butter and served with a glass of unsweetened almond milk – my fav!

The first time Marty made these for us at Christmas, I literally ate 8 of the 12 muffins she made over just a couple of days. Baby Girl had not been impressed with many of the foods I had been trying to feed her so this was a huge win for me (I had been losing weight at that point). Since then I’ve continued to love these and so has Christopher! They are moist and sweet without being laden with sugar and butter (well, except for the butter that I slather on the muffin just before eating, ha!). Served with a glass of almond milk, they have become my favorite snack when we visit my mother-in-law!

Love Rach

21 responses to “Marty’s Healthy Muffins

  1. Marty’s Muffins for the win!! Sounds like the perfect muffin recipe to me too!

  2. Ooh, those look good and super healthy! Definitely trying them sometime. 🙂

  3. Hi Rach, I just started following you , the muffins look awesome and so tasty looking! Hugs to you, Terri 💗

  4. Makes me hungry!!
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: BIKER JACKET & FLARE PANTS

  5. These sound so good! At work, they cook very healthy, and they love to bake, so this is perfect! Def sharing!

  6. I love this muffin recipe- and healthy, too- major bonus. 🙂

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  7. I am totally making these this weekend! Yum!

  8. Ooh! Nothing beats a hearty and delicious muffin – and these look so perfect! No wondering why baby girl agreed!

    • I know, right?! 🙂 Now I’ll just be curious to see what she thinks of them when she actually tries them for the first time! I’m so curious if the foods that agreed with me best while pregnant with her will hold any correlation to the foods she actually likes later. Probably not. But if so, we’ll have a baby who likes shrimp tempura sushi rolls! 😉

  9. These look SO good. I’ve been missing muffins, but whenever I look at the calorie count, I feel like they’re just not worth it. I’m definitely trying these!

  10. I love that Marty helped you not be afraid of cooking fish and introduced you to Jiffy cornbread. I am so glad you’re a cornbread fan now 😉

    These look amazing! I am pinning the recipe so I can make them soon!

    • You’ll have to let me know what you think of them if you end up making them! 🙂 And yes, I’m so glad she helped me see that cooking fish wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought it was! 🙂

Leave a Reply

