My favorite ways to eat Toast

You know what I’ve eaten a lot of during this pregnancy? Toast. Sometimes just plain and sometimes with a topping. But it has been a go-to snack for me over the past few months since I first got sick with Baby Girl. I have three favorite go-to toast toppings that I rotate through so today I’m going to share those with you guys!

Cheese Toast (2)

Cheese toast. I grew up eating this stuff and have always loved it. Though I’ve probably eaten it more over the past 6 months than I have in the past 12 years, haha! If you’ve never made cheese toast before – it’s super simple. Butter one side of a slice of bread and then lay a slice of cheese down on top (Colby Jack is my favorite). Then broil it in the oven for about a minute or until the cheese starts to bubble (watch it closely! It can burn easily).

Cinnamon Toast

Cinnamon Toast. Another childhood favorite. Lightly toast a piece of bread, butter it,Β then Β sprinkle on a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. Or in my case, cinnamon and Stevia. I love the aroma of cinnamon and butter together so this is another major winner!

PB Toast.JPG

If there is an attractive way to photograph peanut butter toast, I don’t know what it is. πŸ˜‰ But it sure is delicious. And simple. Creamy peanut butter spread on a piece of warm toast. This was a great way for me to get protein in early in pregnancy when I just couldn’t handle the smell of most of my go-to protein sources.

What is your favorite way to eat toast?
Love Rach

26 responses to “My favorite ways to eat Toast

  1. Mmm. Growing up we used to call cheese toast “melted cheese” and it was SUCH a treat if my mom made that for us. I haven’t had it in years but I think I might have to make myself some!

  2. I remember eating so much cheese toast when I was growing up…so easy and yummy! I think peanut butter toast is my favorite, but you can’t go wrong with cinnamon and sugar either. πŸ™‚

  3. I ate a lot of cheese toast when I was younger…and then again when I was pregnant too! Only we did two slices in the toaster and then put a piece of cheese between. Not as fun as your version!

  4. I have to be honest I am laughing at these a little bit. But I’ve been there before, when toast is the only palatable thing on the menu! I hope you are not feeling nauseous anymore!

  5. I’m with peanut butter anytime and anyday πŸ˜€

  6. Cinnamon and PB toast TOGETHER.

  7. Cheese toast!! One of my best friend’s mother gave me cheese toast one day when I was feeling down. So simple, but life changing!!

  8. I used to LOVE cheese toast as a kid but have never made it myself. I definitely need to do it soon!

  9. Yum yum!! I love peanut butter and banana on toast πŸ˜€ Or cheese πŸ˜€

  10. Cinnamon toast was a childhood favorite of mine as well! Now, I eat a lot of almond butter toast πŸ™‚

  11. Okay, so I’m not kidding, I am suddenly craving toast right now! And I’m not sure which type sounds best… so maybe I need to try all three. LOL!!! I just finished teaching piano and haven’t eaten supper yet, so they all look SO good!
    And gosh, why have I never thought to broil my cheese toast?!? I’ve always stuffed it in the microwave, which results in soggy bread. Ha, ha. I’m DEFINITELY making it the right way from now on!

  12. My favorite Rach is a toss up between toast with butter and marmalade, and cinnamon sugar with butter too. I grew up having toast a lot and the go to then was marmalade, but I have branched out to cinnamon! I hope you are staying pretty comfortable during your pregnancy , huggs, Terri.πŸ’—

  13. I think cinnamon toast juuuuust like this was a food group for me growing up- my mom made the best toast! (It’s the simple things, really, ha.)

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  14. Cinnamon toast is definitely a favorite of mine! It sure does have a nostalgic feel, that’s for sure! I’ve never made cheesy toast before, but it sounds amazing! I also love toast with jam, of course, and Nutella. My all-time favorite though is probably tomato or avocado toast. I toast the bread, spread a thick layer of cream cheese on, then top with slices of tomato or avocado.

  15. i ate a lot of cheese on toast growing up as well, but i didn’t like mine to be melted. i like putting cold cheese on hot toast. my favourite is a kraft cheese you can only get at home, but it’s perfect for cheese on toast πŸ˜‰ another thing i grew up eating.. it’s weird, but: mashed potatoes and peas. i know. it’s weird. but my mum would make it, mash the peas and mix it with the taters and call it alien toast. hahaha. we loved it. still do!

    • I love that you called it alien toast! That’s awesome! And hey, it sounds like a solid way to get kids to eat their peas! πŸ˜‰

  16. Cheese toast was TOTALLY a favourite of mine as a kid too. But because we’re weird and Australian we called it “Grilled Cheese Toast” because we would put it under the “grill” in the oven.. which I’m pretty sure Americans call the broiler πŸ˜› Can you imagine the confusion when my Mum had to explain that in the US if I’d order “grilled cheese” i’d end up with a sandwich? πŸ˜›

    I need to try cinnamon toast as that sounds deeelicious!

    I’m not much of a toast person now but I do love toasted banana bread. Does that count?! Haha.

    • Hey, it totally makes sense to call it “grilled cheese toast”. We really should call it “Broiler Cheese Toast” since that’s how we make it. Love those little language differences! πŸ™‚

      Toasted banana bread totally counts! And honestly, before falling pregnant I hadn’t eaten much toast since I was a kid. But it has definitely been a favorite of mine these past months! {also, notice how I incorporated “falling pregnant” into my sentence as if that’s something I say all the time?? That was totally just for your benefit!}

  17. Toast has totally been my thing this pregnancy too! Mostly avocado toast or cinnamon/sugar toast, but I only want it on fancy bread from the bakery!

  18. These all look so good! I used to love cinnamon and sugar toast but haven’t thought to do it in a while. Are you still feeling super sick? I am glad you have figured out some ways to add variety to that toast so that you can be eating something!

    • I’m finally feeling better as of the past two and a half weeks! It feels SO good to feel like myself again and eat my favorite healthy foods (like hummus, cottage cheese, and chicken) that have all been big “no thank yous” for most of this pregnancy. πŸ™‚ I bet your boys would love trying cinnamon toast if they haven’t before! That seems like it would be a fun breakfast or snack one day! πŸ™‚

  19. That cheese toast looks amazing. I love avocado toast best of all. πŸ™‚

    • Can you believe that I still haven’t tried avocado toast?! I like toast and avocados, but I just never got around to trying it. I thought about trying it before writing this post because it’s so popular right now, but I couldn’t convince Baby Girl that it sounded tasty. πŸ˜‰

  20. Mmmm, I am totally craving pb and cinnamon toast! I think my favorite way to eat toast is with a runny egg on top!

    • Oooh that is such a yummy way to eat toast too! I haven’t had it in a good bit (no runny yolks while pregnant), but it has definitely been a long time favorite!

Leave a Reply

