My Favorite Volumizing Mascaras

I have really long eyelashes, but they aren’t super full. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that they are “thin” because they aren’t sparse by any means. They look rather normal most of the time. However, when I wear mascara my normal looking lashes suddenly clump together and begin to look a bit on the thin side. So I’ve spent the past couple of years trying out different mascaras to find the PERFECT one (for me anyway, haha). If you are looking for mascaras that volumize well then this post is for you! 🙂

Four things to note:

1. Elle from ElleSees is like my beauty guru so she definitely helped me a ton in my search over the past couple of years!

2. I don’t wear waterproof mascara so I only tried ones that weren’t waterproof.

3. I always get the “black” or “blackest black” when choosing color.

4. This picking a favorite mascara process took so long because I don’t wear mascara often (about once a week) and because I didn’t want to spend a lot of $$ on something that I didn’t know if I would love or not all at once.

So after a ridiculous amount of research and trying out mascaras, these were my favorites:

Rimmel ScandalEyes Flex  ($5.49)
L’Oreal Voluminous
($5.89)
Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay ($21)
Too Faced Better Than Sex ($23)
Younique 3D Fiber Moodstruck ($29)

Want to know the craziest thing? Despite those higher end, more expensive mascaras… my absolute favorites were the two cheap ones. After trying all these mascaras (and many others as well that just didn’t make this list of ones I liked), I landed on my top two favorites: L’Oreal Voluminous and the Rimmel ScandalEyes Flex. All of the others listed here were good too, but I wouldn’t repurchase any of them.

Rimmel ScandalEyes and L'Oreal Voluminous.JPG

The L’Oreal Voluminous has a very natural look to it. It adds plenty of volume to my lashes without clumping and I love that. The Rimmel Scandal Eyes Flex also adds volume without clumping, but it also adds extra length for an even more dramatic look. And neither of these are flaky which I really appreciate! So just depending on the look I’m going for decides which mascara I wear. 🙂

Clinque Primer and Sephora Lash Comb.JPG

I would be remiss if I didn’t add in that during all this searching, I discovered the Sephora Lift Off Lash Comb which is awesome for my long lashes! It helps separate them both before and after putting on mascara. I love it! And I have to tell you guys about how great the Clinque Lash Building Primer is as well. I tried it as a base coat with every mascara that I tried out and it made all of them look even more dramatic. I actually don’t use it often because my eyelashes are already pretty long and this makes them stand out even more underneath the mascara (also sometimes I’m lazy and don’t want to use more than one product haha). But I do like to use it for special occasions.

Do you wear mascara? If so, what’s your favorite and why?

Love Rach

24 responses to “My Favorite Volumizing Mascaras

  1. Lancome also has a great primer, too! I love their mascara, and then Clinque’s high impact mascara was my go to for years!

  2. In HS I wore that Voluminous one allll the time. Now I wear Pacifica brand because they are cruelty free.

  3. I love Elle 🙂 That Loreal mascara is one I always have on hand. It is seriously the best drugstore stuff I can find.

  4. I’m still looking for a good mascara, so I think I need to try Rimmel next!! It sounds fabulous.

  5. I love Elle’s advice! The Rimmel Scandal Eyes Flex sounds awesome 🙂

  6. I am so glad you made this post! I am still on the hunt for a favorite, so this may be a huge help. Unfortunately, I am allergic to an ingredient in some mascaras (I find that it is actually worse with organic/ all natural types). They cause my eye lids to get so itchy/ red that they have actually peeled and bled. I am so reluctant to spend much $ on trying out new ones when I know that my “usual” won’t cause a reaction. I can’t say that I am in love with my usual but I am thinking I may try an eyelash primer out to help reduce clumping. Thanks for your tips and recommendations!

    • Oh girl, that sounds awful!! Do you know which ingredient it is?? I can totally understand your hesitation to not want to try new ones when you have reactions like that!

  7. I’ve been using the scandaleyes mascara lately and I don’t know if I love it or not. My biggest problem is that I have reaaally long eyelashes and my mascara will often smudge throughout the day because I’ll blink and my eyelashes touch my skin and there’s then little dots of mascara everywhere, haha.

    • Yikes! That definitely makes sense! I’ve never had it smudge on me like that, but it could be that your eyelashes are longer than mine! Maybe that’s why?

  8. Aw, thank you!! That made my day!!! I love the L’Oreal Voluminous. It’s one I’ll always repurchase!

    • Girl, after all the help you’ve given me, you deserve way more than a few “thank you” emails and an occasional shout out on my blog. I really do so appreciate you and all your help!

  9. I’m going to have to try that L’Oreal one! I use the L’Oreal one that has the primer and mascara in separate ends. I end up using just the mascara a lot though because I have long lashes anyways. I definitely don’t use the primer or “tubes” when I’m wearing sunglasses because they touch the glasses lol. Looks like I just need to get the regular Voluminous!

    • Ooh if you are already using a L’Oreal one that you like, I bet you’ll love the Voluminous one! Everyone I’ve known who has tried it has really liked it! 🙂

  10. Ohh, love this post! I am like you and will spend such a long time researching products and testing them out (sloowly, as money allows, ha) to find the best one!

    I think that Sephora lash comb is such a neat idea! I’ll have to look for that next time I pop in their store.

    As for mascara, I use Physicians Formula Organic Wear!

    • I hope you like the comb from Sephora! It really makes a difference for me! I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who takes forever to try out all the different products. It just doesn’t make sense to have 8 brand new tubes of mascara that will all dry out in 3 months. I’d rather buy a new one every time I run out (or the product gets old). 🙂

  11. Rebekah Johnson

    Okay, the 3D, in my opinion, is not worth the money. Some of those fibers fall on your face and mine didn’t even last a year. Granted, my bathroom where it was stored wasn’t insulated and it was hot last summer but I still don’t think that should completely ruin mascara. My other bottles did fine.

    My friend gives me her Mary Kay discount so I use Lash Love from MK. I love that stuff. It stays on well in the water when I swim yet it washes off easily with soap. It also really does make your lashes look full.

    I’m glad you found one you like and hooray for it not being expensive.

  12. I love your post. Question: I have a professional camera and lens because I love taking pictures. I also have my iPhone which has now gotten pretty good at videos and pictures. Which do you think is the best to use at Disney World? Thanks

    I wish I could photograph like you!

    • So it really depends on what we’re doing. When we travel I take my DSLR, 50mm prime lens, and my cellphone. If we are going to be doing anything that might involve us getting wet or me needing to leave my belongings behind (like say on a ride a a theme park) then I don’t bring the DSLR that day (I just leave it in the hotel). Cellphones these days take some pretty awesome photos too and to me it’s not worth the possibility of damaging or losing my camera equipment. With that said, if we’re just out site seeing, I definitely take the camera with me! Hopefully this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

