Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

Do you guys remember when everyone was making “ice cream” with frozen bananas? It was all over blogs and Pinterest a few years ago. I even shared a recipe that I had made from someone else’s blog back then. And it was delicious. I’m not sure why I stopped making it for snacks. But I know why I started again. πŸ˜‰ Baby Girl loves sweets and since I limit my sugar-intake, I’ve been reminded of this old favorite way of eating a healthier sort of “ice cream.”

And instead of pulling out a bunch of ingredients, I decided to go with an even simpler recipe. LikeΒ 3 ingredients sort of simple. So I tossed a ripe frozen banana, 1/2 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder, and 1/2 tbsp of peanut butter into my Ninja blender. Want to know what came out? This deliciousness:

PB Cocoa Banana 'Ice Cream'.JPG

Check out that creamy goodness. The texture is ON POINT. Hello afternoon snack. πŸ™‚

As a note: when I freeze my bananas, I peel them and break them into 1″ chunks before putting them in a freezer bag to store. Maybe that’s an obvious tip, but I definitely didn’t start out by breaking up my bananas when I first started freezing bananas for my breakfast shakes and it took way longer for them to process in my Ninja. Happy Blending! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

29 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

  1. Perfect creamy goodness right there to satisfy a sweet tooth and get some awesome nutrition. Oh how I wish this was my cup o’ lunch, lol. Great recipe!!

  2. Nice cream is a regular addition in my house. We can’t get enough! This looks delicious.

  3. I totally remember the banana ice cream days!! That was soo big back in the day! I haven’t tried it yet! I make smoothies a lot, but this sounds totally different! And delicious πŸ™‚

  4. Great recipe Rach! It sure sounds yummy, I am sure your baby girl will think so too! I don’t have a ninja but my other blender should do the trick! Hugs, Terri xo.

  5. Brilliant πŸ˜€

  6. Oh my yum! I really need to upgrade my blender to a a ninja! I have a magic bullet and while its ok it doesn’t chop up my ice nicely!

    • I have the Magic Bullet and it works pretty well for this, but the Ninja is much faster. I actually got the Ninja because I liked how it made ice more powdery instead of crunchy so I hear you on that. I love it!

  7. This is so smart- and it sounds super tasty!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  8. Oh man this looks so good!!!! The sweet cravings were so strong my entire pregnancy!!! I cant tell you how many pineapples I ate. One a week…at least. lol

  9. That creaminess is perfection. Yum! Thanks for sharing the simplified recipe.

  10. That looks really good, and I have bananas I need to use up πŸ™‚

  11. I swear I am the last person who has yet to try this. It sounds good… but then I just eat real icecream, ha!

  12. Creamy dreamy goodness!

    Simple recipes like this are always a winner in my books!

  13. a lot of my girl friends have been making this, but I haven’t tried it yet!! I need to!!

  14. Pingback: Life Lately: Hello August - Happy. Pretty. Sweet.

Leave a Reply

