French Onion Soup

Remember that one time I was surprised to find out that “onion soup” in France was what we call French Onion Soup in America? I still laugh when I think about how surprised I was to see that delicious bowl of French onion soup arrive at the table in Paris. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, you can read about it here. But moving on…

I love a good French onion soup. And it’s one of Christopher’s favorite foods so I’m not sure why we haven’t tried making it at home before. I pinned a recipe for it several years ago and kept thinking I’d get around to it eventually. The time finally came at the end of March. I’ve been cleaning out my “to make” list on Pinterest and I decided to try my hand at French onion soup.

Usually I find recipes online and adapt them to our tastes, but I knew literally nothing about making French onion soup before making this recipe so I stuck really close to the instructions I found on TheKitchn website. Speaking of, I definitely recommend checking out the very detailed post there on the best pans, toast, cheese, and extras to use for French onion soup.

French Onion Soup (2).JPG

French Onion Soup by TheKitchn

Ingredients:

2 1/2 pounds yellow onions
3 tbsp unsalted butter
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt, plus more to taste
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 tsp sugar
8 cups beef broth
3 tbsp flour
1/2 cup white wine
6 to 8 baguette slices, toasted
1 1/2 cups Gruyere cheese, shredded

Directions:

1. Cut each onion top to bottom: Peel away the skin. Slice each half of the onion into thin, evenly-sized half moons. Cut the half moon slices in half.

2. Melt the butter with the oil in the pan set over medium-low heat. After the butter foams up and then settles down, add the onions and stir to coat with the butter. Cover the pan and cook for 15 minutes on low heat.

3. Remove the lid. The onions should have wilted down somewhat. Stir in 1 teaspoon salt, a generous quantity of black pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon sugar (to help the onions caramelize). Turn the heat up to medium and cook, uncovered and stirring every few minutes, until the onions are deeply browned (about 40 minutes – 1 hour). Turn down the heat if the onions scorch or stick to the pan; the browning doesn’t come through burning, but through slow, even caramelization.

4. As the onions approach a deep walnut color, heat the broth in a separate pot.

5. Add the flour: Add 3 tablespoons flour to the caramelized onions and cook and stir for about 1 minute. Add white wine to onions and stir around. Add the hot broth to the caramelized onions and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and partially cover the pan. Cook gently over low heat for at least 1 hour or until the broth is slightly reduced.

6. Taste and season with additional salt and pepper if needed.

7. Heat the oven to 350°F. Divide the soup between small but deep oven-safe bowls. Top each with a slice (or two) of toasted baguette and sprinkle grated cheese in a thick layer over the bread and up to the edge of the bowl. Place the bowls on a baking sheet or in a casserole dish. Bake until the cheese is thoroughly melted (about 15-20 minutes).

8. Turn the oven from bake to broil and broil the soup for 1 to 3 minutes or until the cheese is browned and bubbling. Remove carefully from the oven and let cool for a few minutes before serving on heatproof dishes or trivets. Makes 6 – 8 one cup servings.

You guys… it was so simple. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I had some teary eyes from chopping onions and there was definitely a good bit of standing over the pot and stirring the onions as they caramalized, but otherwise – it’s simple. A little hands on time for a delicious meal! Christopher raved about this one. He went to work the next day and told people about it, ha! So trust me (and TheKitchn expert), this is delicious!

Have you made French Onion Soup before?

Is there something you’ve been meaning to get around to making, but just haven’t yet?
Love Rach

22 responses to “French Onion Soup

  1. Yum! I love French Onion Soup too. I’ve always thought it would be difficult to make, but you’ve inspired me. 🙂 As a side note, if you are ever in Denver, eat at The Chophouse and try their French Onion Soup. It is the best I’ve ever had.

  2. You know, I think I have only had onion soup once or twice before and I am not sure why I haven’t had it more? I will have to save this one for later!

    • I think sometimes, if you didn’t grow up eating something regularly then you just don’t think to add it to your normal rotation of meals. At least that’s how I am. I’ve liked this soup every time I’ve had it and yet I rarely think to order it at a restaurant. That’s why I’m so glad to have such a simple recipe that I can make at home! Yum! 🙂

  3. David LOVES French onion soup. He gets it at every restaurant so that he can compare them. His favorite (besides what he can make at home) is at a French restaurant in Boston called Miel. And a close second is the Guinness onion soup at MJ O’Connors. Just some suggestions if you ever find yourself in Boston! 🙂

    • I love that he compares French Onion Soups at different restaurants! I’m like that with pizza and spaghetti. I always want to know what place has the BEST. 🙂 I will definitely check out Miel if I’m ever in Boston! 🙂

  4. I’ve never made it but really need to learn – nothing is better on a cold or rainy day!

    Laura
    http://www.blackcoffeebeautiful.com

  5. This looks delicious! My mom makes really good French onion soup, but I haven’t tried making my own 🙂

  6. I haven’t had this in YEARS and idk why not. This looks so scrumptious, even at 721 in the morning, haha.

    • Haha! I always love when I read food posts at 7am and I’m like “yup, I would eat that right now” haha! But then I’ve never been one that had to only have breakfast type foods in the morning anyway. 😉

  7. Ooh I love French onion soup too! I always like to throw some fresh thyme in mine!

  8. Oh la la, I feel so French when I eat French onion soup and this looks soooo good! I’m going to try this!

  9. Chopping up all those onions definitely sounds like the hardest part! I think I’d have to wear safety goggles or something…

  10. I’ve never tried french onion soup before but I feel like I need to – especially with the cheese toast topping! ❤

  11. I love French onion soup! That used to be my go-to at Panera for years, haha. I’ve always wanted to try it homemade. I’ll have to use your recipe when I give it a shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

