Batch Making Breakfast Sandwiches for the Freezer

Did you know that you can bake bacon in the oven?

Did you know that you can cook perfectly circular eggs in the microwave?

Did you know that you can pre-make breakfast sandwiches and freeze them to heat up later?

Let me fill you in!

So first up, bacon! I discovered this a few years ago and it has been my go-to way of making bacon any time I want to make more than a couple of slices at a time.

Baking Bacon in the Oven (1)

Baking Bacon in the Oven (2)

Line a cookie sheet with foil and then lay bacon out. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes (depending on thickness of bacon). No more hot grease splatters while standing over the stove!

And now for perfect circular eggs! I only cook them this way if I’m making breakfast sandwiches, but they sure do come out in perfect circles every time.

Perfect Eggs in the Microwave (2)

I spray the bottom of a large mug with nonstick cooking spray. Then I either use 1/4 cup of egg beaters (if I’m making these for Christopher thinking about less cholesterol) or 1 whisked egg. I cook on high for 1 minute and badaboom badabing… it’s a perfect circle every time. The exact right size for a breakfast sandwich on an English muffin.

And now breakfast sandwiches! Our two favorites are the Sausage, Egg, & Cheddar and the Bacon, Egg, & Gouda.

Breakfast Sandwiches (1)

For the Sausage, Egg, and Cheddar sandwiches I use pre-cooked turkey sausages (again lower cholesterol for Christopher).

Breakfast Sandwiches (2).JPG

The Bacon, Egg, and Gouda sandwiches are inspired by the breakfast sandwich that Starbucks serves which is another favorite of ours.

Breakfast Sandwich
(per 1 sandwich – multiple recipe by number you desire to make)

Ingredients:

1 English Muffin, split and lightly toasted
1 tsp butter
1 turkey sausage patty, cooked OR 2 slices of bacon, cooked
1 egg (or 1/4 cup egg beaters)
1 slice Cheddar OR Gouda

Directions:

1. Slice English muffins in half and lightly toast. Spread a thin layer of butter inside each half.

2. Spray microwave safe bowl with nonstick cooking spray. Crack egg into bowl and whisk for 20 seconds until bubbles appear on surface. Microwave 1 minute or until done {can also substitute Egg Beaters}.

3. Top toasted English muffin with slice of cheese, egg, and choice of meat (pre-cooked turkey sausage or pre-cooked bacon) and then other half of English muffin.

4. Either enjoy immediately or wrap in Cling Wrap to store in freezer. To reheat from freezer, simply unwrap the sandwich, wrap in a paper towel and cook 1 1/2 minutes in microwave on high heat. No need to de-thaw.

Breakfast Sandwiches (3).JPG

Ready to go in the freezer!

Breakfast Sandwiches (4)

Sausage, egg, and cheddar after being reheated from frozen.

Breakfast Sandwiches (5)

Bacon, egg, and Gouda after being reheated from frozen.

While these are traditionally breakfast sandwiches, I actually have them for lunch more often than breakfast because I love my shakes at breakfast time so much. But they are great for a quick meal on the go!

What is your favorite breakfast sandwich combination? 

Did you know you could bake bacon in the oven?
That was such an awesome discovery for me!
Love Rach

53 responses to “Batch Making Breakfast Sandwiches for the Freezer

  1. These look tasty!

  2. These look great!! Kevin’s coffee pot died a couple of days ago so he’s been going to Starbucks for coffee for the past few mornings. I’ve been indulging in that Bacon, Egg, and Gouda sandwich, which I love too!

  3. The circular eggs–genius tip! Perfect for those tasty-looking sandwiches!

  4. I love baking my bacon…it’s so yummy!

  5. Sandwiches are a great idea. I make large batches of breakfast burritos for us and it’s essentially the same thing… except scrambled eggs with chopped onion and I usually put (cooked) sausage and then shredded cheese and wrap in a tortilla! I actually need to make some this weekend. That is going to be my project 😉

    • I’m not sure why it is, but I have never liked breakfast burritos. I’m really not a picky eater in general and I like ALL the ingredients that are part of a breakfast burrito – but I just don’t like them together. So strange! Christopher loves them, though! Every now and then I’ll try a bite of his and I’m reminded that I still don’t like them. A shame because it would be a great freezer meal! Have fun stocking up on them this weekend!

  6. ALSO I LOVE THAT YOU WROTE DE-THAW. Jordan makes so much fun of me for saying that, because it’s totally just THAW lol!

    • AH! I didn’t even catch that! I think you mentioned this on your blog once (or someone else did) and I made a note to myself that I totally say “de-thaw” and don’t need to. Because you’re right! It’s just “thaw” ha! But apparently it didn’t stick. Old habits die hard. 😉

  7. This is the only way to do bacon!! I have a hard time getting all my breakfast to come out warm at the same time when trying to do eggs, bacon, gravy, biscuits, whatever we are having so I love cooking bacon in the oven. I can do eggs on the stove, bacon in the oven and then add some fresh fruit. Easy peasy. Also, that egg trick in the microwave is awesome for cooking Rhett a quick egg for breakfast. I sometimes do it short of a minute like 30-45 seconds then scramble it up. The spray in the mug is key though. Otherwise you’ll get baked on egg that refuses to come off.

    • YES! Baking bacon is just awesome! I think I first saw the idea on Pinterest several years ago and it has been the best ever since! I hate the mess that cooking it in the skillet makes. Plus it helps to have your hands free for other things like you mentioned.

      I haven’t tried scrambling an egg in the microwave before. That’s a good idea!

  8. I totally need to simplify my morning routine and make some of these! I make Eric’s breakfast and lunch every morning and it would save so much time to just grab one of these out of the freezer!

  9. Erica | Whimsical September blog

    This is legit SO AWESOME and helpful! I’ve been struggling in the breakfast department lately. I want food that is “real” and filling but not overly processed. I also need it to be fast! So this is perfection. Saving this and will plan to share your post in a future blog post of mine because I think my readers will find this SO helpful too. You rock! Thanks again!

  10. Genius! All of this!
    Also. YUM.

  11. I get the bacon egg and gouda one at Starbucks all the time so making these at home is genius!!!! I always wondered how to cook an egg to fit a sandwich.

  12. genius! did not know you could cook an egg that way!

  13. Oh my word, these sound amazing! Love the combo of gouda and bacon!

  14. Yum! My hubby would love it if I made him breakfast sandwiches like these. 🙂
    And I totally cook bacon in the oven too! I love that it comes out perfect every time, and I don’t have to keep fiddling with it (and getting splattered with hot grease). It really is the best way to make larger batches of bacon, for sure! 🙂

    • Yes! Exactly! The grease splatters are the worst! Though, I’ll be honest, sometimes I do still cook just a couple of slices in a pan if it’s all I need because I like to cook eggs in bacon grease. Which is maybe not the healthiest thing, but so yummy! 😉

  15. These look absolutely fantastic! I had no idea that breakfast sandwiches could be frozen & reheated like this. My husband and I will definitely have to do this for on-the-go breakfasts. Awesome idea!! Also, I never knew you could do that with an egg. Absolutely perfect for an English muffin!

    • Yes! I got the idea to try it when I saw that you could buy breakfast sandwiches in the frozen section of grocery stores. I mean, if those could be reheated, why couldn’t homemade ones be? And sure enough, they’ve turned out great every time!

  16. I absolutely love English muffin breakfast sandwiches. I too learned oven cooking for bacon and it’s awesome. I always prepped lots of food and had it in the freezer post baby. You will love having these to pop out. Heck I’d have one of these for dinner and I bet my guys would too.

    • It’s so wonderful to have freshly cooked bacon and not to get splattered with grease in the process! And I am definitely planning to stock up on freezer meals for before Baby arrives! My friends and I always get together to do them before each of us has a baby. 🙂

  17. What a smart idea! The breakfast sandwiches look so good 🙂

  18. Hi Rach, thank you for this post! I like bacon and have never baked it. But now I will try! Also never done an egg in microwave . The recipes looks great and I will save for the future. You are going to be so thankful for the frozen sandwiches when your little lady comes along. Sometimes its hard to find time to prepare food for us , and the baby is the priority. You can pop it in and have ready made meals . I must give you my soup and stew recipes , They are tasty meals that also freeze good. I have a Mom wisdom print out to that I have been meaning to get to you. I will try this weekend. Have a great night Rach, Hugs, Terri.

    • Yes! Having these on hand when the baby comes will be so helpful! I’d love to see your recipes when you have time to share! I’m always interested in meals that freeze well! And I look forward to the Mom wisdom print! Thank you for thinking of me!

  19. I’ve been wanting to make freezer breakfast sandwiches forever! They look so convenient to just grab and go. The bacon egg and Gouda looks so tasty!

  20. Yummy!! It must be really tasty!! Great post!
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: CITY OF STARS

  21. I have known the bacon and egg tricks for a few years now… but the fact that you can freeze egg sandwiches is a whole new world for me! I would have never guessed eggs would freeze well. YAY!

    My favorite breakfast sandwich is an english muffin with hummus + lettuce + tomato + a runny egg!

    • I wouldn’t have thought to freeze eggs either until I saw breakfast sandwiches in the frozen section of a store one day and I thought, “if they can do it, I bet I can too!” so I tried it and it worked perfectly!

      Oooh yum! Your current breakfast sandwich sounds so yummy!

  22. chelseajacobs

    Yes!! So easy!!

  23. What a slick idea! Thanks for sharing this, babe!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  24. These look so good! Jesse would be a huge fan!

  25. Bacon in the oven is sooooo good!!!! I’ve had a few mishaps, but not so many that I’ve given up on it. WATCH THE TIME!!!! lol!!!

    How did I not know about this egg trick?!?!? I usually just fry the eggs like you would for an egg sandwhich, but it is true that they get a little toooo spread out that way.

    Freezer anything is super handy during the busy seasons. Way to prepare!!!

    • Hahaha! That’s like me and boiling eggs. If I don’t set a timer, I will completely forget about them every single time, haha!

  26. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

