A few days in Destin

Destin, Florida has become a home-away-from-home for us. For the past few years we’ve gone at least once, if not twice a year and it is just wonderful. We have a bit of a routine down now so as I thought about writing a blog recap, I realized that we literally did the exact same things we always do. So I’m going to share the video I made from last year’s Destin trip again because… well… it was the same, ha! We wore the same tacky Hawaiian shirts on the first day, ate at the same places, stayed at the same place, did the same things on the beach, and on and on. We’re even wearing the same outfits in our dressy beach pictures, ha! Just pretend I look 7 months pregnant in this video below and VIOLA! It was the same! 😉

And just one sweet little BUMP pic from Destin for today…

us in destin.jpg

This trip was such a sweet one for us. Our last Destin trip before becoming parents. We actually had another trip tentatively planned in June (to visit the Pacific Northwest) assuming we were cleared to travel (which we knew we might not be), but after this trip we’ve decided to wait on that one until after Baby arrives. Everything turned out to be okay, but we had a bit of a scare on the last day of this trip and realized just how much we don’t want to be far away from our doctors in case of an emergency. So this trip was even more sweet for that reason. Our last “big” trip before our family grows. We may still get away for a weekend in June, but if so – we’re thinking it will be a little closer to home.

Later this week I’ll share some of the maternity photos we took on the beach. They are super sweet and I just love them! 🙂

Love Rach

34 responses to “A few days in Destin

  1. How fun! I’m so sorry that you had a scare during your trip😞 We actually took our last trip before becoming parents before we knew we were expecting, so I’m so glad you guys got to savor yours😊 Love that pic of you two on the beach. So sweet!

    • Oh wow! You’re right – I’m so glad we got to savor this time! And how fun will it be to return here later with Baby Girl in tow?! 🙂

  2. Aww, I’m glad you guys got to experience such a beautiful place together again! Next time, you’ll be bringing the little one with you, but on the outside! 🙂

    • I know! That’s so crazy for me to think about! We’re both darker complected, but most of our families (all of my siblings and both my parents, his mom and brother) are all very fair skinned. Christopher gets his skin and features from his dad and my family promises I’m not adopted and got my complexion from my grandmother. 😉 But anyway, on this trip we were talking about what we’re going to do when we give birth to this incredibly fair skinned child who we forget to put sunscreen on, ha! Here’s to hoping she loves the beach as much as we do! 🙂

  3. What a sweet last trip as a family of two!! glad that your scare was just a scare and you are ok. I dont blame you for skipping the next trip. just think how much more special it will be when baby is with you! You always have the cutest videos 🙂

    • Yes! It will be so special to have Baby Girl with us (on the outside, haha) on the next trip! I’m so looking forward to that! Here’s to hoping she likes the beach as much as we do. 😉

  4. Janessa Hester

    How sweet!! We were actually at the beach when we found out we were having a boy and when we shared the beautiful pics you took for our reveal 🙂 It’s such a magical place! And it was a fun “last vacation” as a family of 3. I can’t wait until this fall when we take Rhett for his first beach experience! He will have to love it to fit in in this family lol

    • It IS such a magical place!! I hope Rhett loves the beach and you guys have an awesome trip! Here’s to hoping Baby Girl loves the beach too! 🙂

  5. I know so many bloggers who vacation here! It always looks like such a fun time! I need to get there, or you know, just Florida in general.

    • Oh girl, it’s awesome. The water is just so gorgeous! It’s the closest to turquoise Caribbean water that I’ve seen on any beach in the US! So so pretty! 🙂

  6. Love that blue water, and what a perfect babymoon! We’re getting married there next weekend and the forecast temps are already sooo high!

  7. What an amazing picture of you (three) on the beach. I can’t help but picture a little one in the same shot next year. So sweet!

  8. I think I started to watch this video last year but only got about 30 seconds through because I got distracted haha. I watched it all tonight and it’s totes cute!
    Sorry you had a scare, friend! But so glad all is well.
    Also that video made me want to go back to Destin for the food alone haha.

  9. I have never been here BUT I have heard nothing but great things about it! I really need to book a trip there!

  10. Pingback: Beach Maternity Photos |

  11. Destin is gorgeous and so are you! Glad you got this trip in and that all is ok! Beach rest looks great on you!!

  12. I’m dying from cuteness a bit. That video is so stinking cute. All the food looked tremendous too. I’m so glad ya’ll had some great time together. Have a great rest of your week, Rach!

  13. I just love Destin! I’m so sorry you had a scare on this trip! SO glad everything is OK, though!

  14. Glad you made it home and had a great time and know how to pace yourself now!

    I think it’s great that you can go to Destin and have a vacation that doesn’t require research or thinking….My family has had a few places like that over the years and everything about those vacations was always basically perfect. I think it’s because of how much of the “stress” melts away when there are basically ZERO unknowns invovled.

    • Yes! It’s so nice to have a place where you don’t have to plan anything! We kept talking about whether or not we should try out a new restaurant or do something different than normal, but in the end we decided against it every time, haha! We just love our routines! 🙂

  15. It sounds like you guys had a lovely trip – even with the scare at the end!

  16. Wishing I was at the beach right now!!!!

  17. I can tell Destin has been a special place for you and Christopher! I’m so happy you guys could get away and relax! I hope Destin stays a special place for you guys and soon Baby Girl!

Leave a Reply

