Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta

A deep, rich tomato-based sauce is usually my favorite topping for pasta. A bolognese sauce that simmers all day is just divine. But sometimes I want something a little lighter. Something simple and quick. And on those days, I turn to the basics. Butter, garlic, lemon, and basil. Toss in some shrimp and it’s the perfect sort of summery meal.

Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta

Lemon Basil Shrimp with Pasta

Ingredients:

6 oz tagliatelle, cooked al dente
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter
zest & juice of 1 lemon
2 cloves garlic, minced
12 oz large shrimp, peeled and deveined
salt and pepper to taste
handful fresh basil, chopped

Directions:

1. While pasta cooks, heat olive oil and butter in large skillet. Add the lemon zest and let it infuse the oil over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, being careful not to burn it.

2. Add the garlic and let it begin to sizzle.  After 30 seconds-1 minute when it starts to turn golden (just before it turns brown), add lemon juice and shrimp. Turn the heat to medium and cook until shrimp is pink. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

3. Drain pasta and shake off excess water.  Toss cooked pasta into skillet and allow it to pan fry for a couple of minutes. Add the chopped basil, mix well, transfer to a plate and serve immediately.

So tell me, what’s your favorite way to eat pasta? A rich, hearty sauce? Something lighter? Does it depend on your mood?

Love Rach

24 responses to “Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta

  1. This looks so delicious. I wish I could eat shrimp, I miss it so much. :/

    • Aww, yeah! I bet this would be really good with chicken as well! Unless of course your reason for not eating fish is because you are a vegetarian in which case I guess chicken wouldn’t really help either, ha!

  2. That looks amazing! I always love your recipes!

    • Yay! I’m so glad! I’ve tried to be better about sharing them more regularly again. I have so many favorites and I want them to all be on the blog! 🙂

  3. Mmmmmm pasta!!!!! This looks so good!

  4. This recipe looks simple enough (for me I mean). I will give it a try 🙂

  5. I love shrimp pasta! This looks delish.

  6. Yum! You always have the best recipes! I am just taking a short break from meal planning to blog so I think I’m going to have to add this to our meals for this week!

  7. That looks good, and shrimp and pasta are so yummy together 🙂

  8. This looks like such a perfect lighter dinner – for summer! I can see eating this alfresco out on our patio. Lovely combo of flavors.

    • It’s such a great little meal for outdoors! We love eating on our patio in these cool evenings before the heat of summer kicks in. 🙂

  9. I was hoping you’d share this recipe when I saw the pic on instagram! This is my favorite kind of summer recipe…so easy and delicious!

  10. Looks amazing, Rach! Pinned 🙂

  11. I can’t eat shrimp but Jesse loveeees them and I actually make a similar pasta for him! Minus the basil though as he’s a weirdo and HATES basil!

Leave a Reply

