Mother’s Day Thoughts

I know a lot of people have mixed feelings when Mother’s Day or Father’s Day roll around every year. In fact, I wrote about my own mixed feelings a couple of years ago on Father’s Day. But this is not a post about that. This is a post about what this particular Mother’s Day was like for me as I wait in eager anticipation to meet this sweet daughter of mine.

As friend after friend wished me a “Happy Mother’s Day!” yesterday I found myself wondering what kind of mom I would be to this little girl. Which made me think of the examples of motherhood I’ve seen in my own life.

I think of the mom who carried and birthed me.  I mean, let’s be real: growing a human is hard work. That, in of itself, is something amazing. But not only that, my mom is an incredibly intelligent and fiercely strong woman. I grew up learning so much from her examples of self-sacrifice to her constant examples of what being a Christ-follower looks like. I hope that this little girl will see those same qualities in me.

I think of the mom who treated me as one of her own as soon as her son brought me home to meet her. Christopher’s mom has loved me as a daughter since long before I was legally her daughter-in-law. Not all in-law relationships are smooth or easy so I’m incredibly grateful to have such a wonderful mother-in-law. I hope that I will always be as gracious, loving, and accepting of the people that this little girl loves.

I think of the many women who have been like moms to me. Women who took me into their homes, women who mentored me, women who mothered me when my own mother was on another continent, and women who are still mothering me today. While I hope I’ll always be this little girl’s favorite, I do hope that she has many women in her life who will mother her. Women who will nurture her and speak truth into her life. She has aunts and grandmothers who adore her already so she’s already got a good start on this front. 🙂

I don’t know what kind of mom I will be to this little girl, but I’ve been blessed with so many moms in my own life who have given me some pretty awesome goals to aspire toward. I so look forward to meeting our daughter this summer and finding out exactly what kind of momma I’ll be. 🙂

29 weeksMother’s Day 2017

Love Rach

39 responses to “Mother’s Day Thoughts

  1. This is beautiful! You’re going to be a wonderful mother.

  2. Love this post! There’s no doubt that it’s almost impossible to understand what being a mother is like before becoming one! But there’s also no doubt that you’re going to be an amazing mother. God’s love, patience, and mercies are made manifest in us everyday as we mother our littles. It can be such an amazing experience when we rely on Him for our strength!

  3. Glad you’ve had such awesome mothers in your life! You’re going to be one of the great ones!

  4. This is beautiful, friend! You are going to be a wonderful mama. ❤

  5. You have an amazing heart and you are going to be an excellent mother!

  6. happy mother’s day Rachel! sweet reflections… looking forward to more once you deliver your beautiful little one. =)

  7. What a beautiful post Rach! You have being so blessed with many Moms in your life, I know your daughter is going to get the Same Love as you. You will be a wonderful mother. Have a great evening, huggs Terri❤

  8. It is because of all that love and care that these amazing women have shown you, that you, my dear will be the most amazing mother. I mean you already are a most amazing person and I can just tell how nurturing and caring you are!! Very sweet post!! xo

  9. You’ll be wonderful and I am so excited for y’all!! I wish I lived closer!!

  10. You will be a wonderful mother to your little girl! Happy Mother’s Day!

  11. You are going to be such an incredible mother! Not because you’re perfect… Not because you won’t make mistakes… But because you will love that little girl with everything you have to give. And you will always fight for her. Your little girl will grow up in a warm home with two parents who love each other, God, and her. She is blessed to have you! 🙂

  12. this is so wonderful. i am sure you will be an amazing mother 🙂

  13. So sweet! She is already blessed with so many amazing women to pray for, and support her as she grows. I can already tell you will be an amazing mama. I am so excited for you!

  14. I’m sure this is a very different Mother’s Day for you- you’re expecting and there are so many things to be excited about!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  15. This is a beautiful post 🙂 You are going to be an AMAZING mamma to that baby girl! ❤

  16. I dread Mother’s Day…mainly because people think it’s an open invitation for rude questions. Some people choose not to have children, some are infertile, some are content with their one child and don’t want another, some are happy with their adopted children or stepchildren.

    • I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been hurt by mother’s day. Like I said at the beginning of this post, I have definitely had mixed feelings about holidays like Mother’s Day and Father’s Day in the past, but this year I really loved focusing on the coming joy of meeting our daughter. 🙂

  17. Happy belated Mother’s Day to you, sweet mama! You are going to be an incredible mama – the love you have for her (and for Christopher!) is amazing and that will always be your greatest asset ❤

  18. You’re going to be so great, no question! Just remember to forgive yourself when you have your less-than-Hallmark moments, because those will happen too. Chances are, little girl will only remember the good stuff, though. 😉

  19. Pingback: Our First Baby Shower |

  20. Beautifully written! I reflect on my own mom far more on Mother’s Day, but even more so on my birthday which was her “birth day”. So excited for you to enter motherhood!

    • That makes so much sense! I wasn’t my mom’s first, but even still it makes a lot of sense to reflect on your own mom on your birthday. Especially in cases like yours (or my older sister’s) when it was literally the day your mom became a mom for the first time!

Leave a Reply

