A Throwback Pasta Recipe

Friends, I have another pasta recipe for you! A little over 6 years ago I discovered this recipe for Rigatoni with Sausage and Cannellini Beans on the Food and Wine website. I tweaked it just a tiny bit and we fell in love with it. I shared it here on the blog all those years ago, but the picture isn’t great and it’s right in the middle of a long post. So I thought I’d write an updated blog post about it. 🙂

Rigatoni with Sweet Italian Sausage (1)

Rigatoni with Sweet Italian Sausage and Cannellini Beans

Ingredients:

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 large onion, coarsely chopped
1 lb sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
1 cup dry red wine
3 (14 oz) cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
1/2 tsp ground red pepper
1 lb rigatoni
1 (15 oz) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

1. Heat oil over medium heat, then add the garlic and cook for about a minute. Add the onion and the sausage. Cook onion and sausage, breaking up the sausage with a spatula until it is cooked through.

2. Add the wine, increase the heat to high, and cook until reduced by half (about 10 minutes). Stir in the tomatoes and their liquid, then add ground red pepper. Reduce the heat to medium and cook for about 30 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, cook the rigatoni. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water, then drain. Add the rigatoni to the sauce and gently add the beans.

4. Reduce heat to low and cook for 3-5 minutes, until heated through.  If it’s a little dry, add some of the pasta water until appropriately moist.  Serve with extra Parmesan and fresh basil if desired.

Rigatoni with Sweet Italian Sausage (2)

This may seem like an odd combination. Pasta, meat, tomatoes… yes, those make sense together. But adding beans? It seems odd at first. But trust me, it’s delicious! And lately, baby has had me craving spicier things so I actually doubled the ground red pepper in this recipe the last time I made it. Oh so yummy! If you guys try it, let me know what you think!

Love Rach

22 responses to “A Throwback Pasta Recipe

  1. I like the idea of adding beans! Definitely need to try this. 🙂

    • It seemed like a weird idea at first, but I love it! I guess it’s not that different than some of the Italian soups that have both pasta and beans, but still seems weird at first. I definitely love it, though!

  2. Yum! I never would have thought to add beans but I love the idea. A little extra protein!

    • I definitely wouldn’t have thought of it either! I remember thinking it seemed strange the first time I made it, but I have loved it every time! I guess, I like beans and pasta together in Italian soups (like minestrone) so it’s not that strange. It just seemed strange at first. Anyway, you’re right about it being a good way to add a little extra protein!

  3. It looks like a very tasty recipe Rach, and aren’t those baby cravings amazing ? Have a wonderful day , hugs, Terri xoxo.

  4. I love the addition of beans in there! Such a great idea!

    • I definitely wouldn’t have thought to add beans to a pasta recipe before I started making this recipe. But it really is so great!

  5. I’m going to have to try this one! It looks sooooo good!

    • Let me know what you think of it when you try it! I have to tell you, we have been loving that Italian pasta salad! Every time I make it, we eat it and the leftovers SO fast, haha!

  6. I dont know why, but rigatoni is one of my favorite pasta noodles! This looks delicious!

  7. Yum this looks (and sounds) delicious!

  8. That looks really good 🙂

  9. Mmm, this looks gooooooooood! I love anything with beans!

Leave a Reply

