Recent Happenings

Happy Friday, friends! Just wanted to share a few recent things.

rach and mal.jpg

I started nannying Mallory when she was 9 weeks old and this week she graduated preschool. Believe me, her mom and I both cried happy tears when we realized how perfectly my due date lined up with Mallory beginning kindergarten. Speaking of tears… I totally cried during her little graduation ceremony. She is such a big girl!

snoozin oreo

Oreo doesn’t know it yet, but his world is going to be rocked this summer. We’re trying to give him a little extra loving lately. 🙂

entry way before and after

We’ve continued to work on projects around the house. Most of which aren’t that exciting to photograph. And really this one isn’t that exciting to look at either, but I’m so pleased with the change that I wanted to share. 😉 Ever since we bought this house, our entryway has looked pretty rough. No matter how much it is cleaned, it always looks dirty (even immediately after cleaning). Turns out that it was because whoever put the floor in, used the wrong kind of sealer on it. So we removed the sealer, cleaned the floor really well, used Grout Renew to fix the hideous grout, and then put down the proper sealer on it. It was a TON of work, but absolutely worth it in the end! Eventually we might replace the slate with a brick entryway because we think it would look better with the look of the house, but for now this is a major improvement! 🙂

fridge baby shower invites

Aaaaand finally, baby showers! Our very first one is this weekend and the next will be in a couple of weeks. It’s hard to believe that they are here already. We’ve been receiving gifts in the mail over the past couple of weeks and every one of them brings me to tears. We have been just amazed at the sweetness and generosity of friends and family! Also on the fridge – that “Mom-to-be” card was from my sister, Holly, in honor of Mother’s Day. Whew, there were definitely tears as I read her sweet, encouraging words. Definitely feeling the love and I’m so excited to celebrate Baby Girl with family and friends this weekend!

Love Rach

26 responses to “Recent Happenings

  1. Awwww yay for baby showers!!!! That was hands down my favorite memory from pregnancy, all my sweet family and friends getting to spend the day with them and all of them being so excited to meet Zoe! Hope you enjoy it!!!

  2. Hi Rach, Mallory looks so happy graduating preschool! Its amazing how fast they go from baby to starting school, you will appreciate the time when your baby girl comes into the world. Poor Oreo will find it a big change when baby comes , but will adjust . I love how great your entryway turned out . It looks brand new! what a sweet card from your Sister , I love it and the beach photo you posted before. I hope you have a great time at your shower , it will be nice to see all the ladies in your life together . Have a great weekend , Hugs, Terri xoxo.

    • It is amazing how quickly the little ones grow up! It’s like I blinked and suddenly she’s 5!

      And thank you! We were really pleased with how well the entry way turned out! 🙂 And the shower was absolutely beautiful! We feel so spoiled! 🙂

  3. Wow! The entryway looks AWESOME! You guys did a great job! Isn’t it funny how projects that entail a small amount of space can sometimes take SO long and be SO much work!? I just finished redoing the landscape of a small area of our front yard and it took me ALL day long! LOL But like you said… it is all worth it in the end 🙂

    Oh my goodness– baby shower time already!!?? AHHHH You are getting so closeeee!!!!

    • It really does look so much better! We had been planning to replace it forever so when we got around to it this year we started doing some research on replacing it and finally found out why it looked so bad in the first place! So we were able to clean it and re-do it so it looks so much better! And as much work as it was… it was a lot less than replacing it all! And less costly as well. Winner all around.

      Girl, go you for doing all that landscaping! It’s amazing how much effort that stuff takes! Definitely worth it in the end! 🙂

  4. Hope you have a wonderful time at your baby shower 🙂

  5. YAYYY! For your first baby shower!!! Have an amazing time ❤

  6. All great things! Baby showers are so fun 🙂 I love getting all that cute, tiny stuff.

    • And it IS so tiny!! Itty bitty socks and hats and clothes and blankets and all the sweetest things. This little girl is going to be one well dressed kid! 😉

  7. So crazy that Mallory is already starting kindergarten soon! That happened so fast! And your floor looks amazing! I watch HGTV all the time, but I would have no idea how to do any of those projects myself, and I know they’re always harder than they look. You’ll be really glad about it later when little girl is crawling all over (and occasionally licking, LOL) the floor!

    • Haha! Oh girl, it’s all Google and Youtube. We’d be pretty hopeless at all our home projects without those two to guide us. 😉 I bet you’d be much better at DIYing than you think!

  8. I’m so excited for you guys!

  9. Such a lovely pictures and have a great time at your baby shower!!
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: SIMPLE BUT FUN STYLE

  10. Enjoy your showers!!! Such sweet times<3 And your entryway looks awesome! Great job:D

    • Thank you, Kacey! The first shower was so so so sweet! My sisters just really went above and beyond! We are feeling super loved right now! 🙂

  11. Oh you poor thing! I totally understand your preschool graduation tears! I used to nanny for a family and I looked after their eldest from when she was 16 months old and their second I was there from day three (when they got home from the hospital) and they moved to the US just before their oldest was about to start kindergarten and I was devastated! I felt like they were taking my babies, haha!

    • Oh girl, you totally get it!! I would have been heartbroken if that had happened to me! Believe me, when Rebecca (Mallory’s mom) and I realized that my baby’s due date lined up so perfectly with Mallory starting kindergarten, there were many sweet tears. It just worked out so perfectly!

  12. Aw, I would be in tears, too!! I leave my position in August and the thought of it makes me want to bawl my eyes out, like right now!

  13. Yay for baby showers, refinished flooring (looks great!!), Oreo getting lots of love, Mallory graduating preschool, and the perfection of your due date lining up with her starting kindergarten! God is good!!

Leave a Reply

