Our First Baby Shower

What an amazing weekend celebrating the anticipated arrival of Baby V with family and friends! A few of my favorite highlights:

with sisters

So thankful for these sweet sisters of mine who went above and beyond in planning this baby shower! It’s no exaggeration to say that they are VERY excited to meet their niece this summer!

baby shower

Sweet baby shower activities! I absolutely loved all of these!

kenzie and rach.JPG

My niece, Makenzie, loves feeling Baby V move! She had her hands on my belly most of this weekend. πŸ™‚ And I have to say, Makenzie did such a great job helping out with the shower!

how to babysit a grandma.JPG

Another favorite moment was when my mom gifted this book to my mother-in-law. I absolutely love that my mom and mom-in-law get along as well!

with moms.JPG

My mom-in-law and my mom are both such amazing ladies! I’m so thankful to have them in my life (for more on this, see last week’s Mother’s Day post).

family baby shower.jpg

Family! The photo at the top is all my “actual” family who were present at the shower and the two photos at the bottom include ladies who are like family to me. Debbie (on the left) was like aΒ bonus mom to me when I was in college (I wrote about her and her husbandΒ a little here). And then Ms. Mary (on the right) was like an adopted grandmother to me while we were living in China. In fact, in a small world sort of way: she lived across the city from us when we lived in Wuhan, China and now she lives just down the street from my mother-in-law so I still get to see her!

There were so many sweet gifts (several of them handmade!) and I loved showing each and every one to Christopher when we got home. Like me, he is just amazed at the sweetness and generosity of so many people. And we still have another baby shower coming up in a couple of weeks here in Memphis. We are definitely lucky to be loved on by so many wonderful people.

Love Rach

32 responses to “Our First Baby Shower

  1. What a lovely shower! You looked absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  2. What a sweet shower! I just love all the little details. And such wonderful time with friends & family.

  3. What a fun weekend celebrating that baby girl! I love that your mother gifted that book to your MIL! It makes things so much easier when all of the family can come together from both sides and get along πŸ™‚ I can tell that she is already one very loved little girl!

    • It really is so sweet that my mom and mom-in-law get along so well! Weirdly enough my mother-in-law has become good friends with my grandparents over the past few years because they all go to the same church. Which is crazy since Christopher and I didn’t grow up anywhere near each other – my grandparents moved to this town while I was in high school and my parents-in-law moved there while we were in college. And yet now they go to the same church and hang out all the time! Small world stuff, but in the best way! πŸ™‚

  4. We have that babysit grandma book and it’s one of R’s favorites! She loves it.

  5. Aww, LOVED seeing these photos….my fav, Makenzie and Baby V!!!! I love the way your family loves you!!

    • Oh man, that little girl is SO excited about her cousin’s arrival! I get little weekly updates on baby’s size and Makenzie always wants to know the update. It’s so sweet. πŸ™‚

  6. Aw! Girl, you are so loved! Glad your first shower was a sweet one. You look amazing!

  7. Janessa Hester

    Precious! I love the star on the Memphis skyline canvas! That is an adorable idea.

  8. What a great shower!! That canvas is too cute – love the little details!

  9. What a beautiful shower! I’m SO glad that you were spoiled and blessed by family and friends. You definitely deserve every bit of it!!

  10. How fun! The How To Babysit A Grandma book looks adorable πŸ™‚

  11. Hi Rach, what a fun looking shower you had! Such a lovely photo with your sisters, they are obviously excited for a new niece , by planning your shower. The activities look cute, ” Wishes for baby” looks like a cute idea. Its great to have a young member of the family to help out, I know they love showers and having important jobs! How to babysit Grandma! I must look for that book! It is nice and appreciated the effort people put into a shower, but is done out of love for the Mom to be and help her join the Mommy club, I really enjoyed this post Rach, Hugs, Terri xoxo.

    • Yes! It was all so sweet! My sisters did such a wonderful job with all the little details! πŸ™‚

      And definitely check out the How to Babysit a Grandma book. It’s adorable! πŸ™‚

  12. So precious!! Thanks for taking us to your shower. We’ve been making our way through the How to Babysit books!

  13. Such sweet memories! You look amazing, Rach ❀

  14. It’s great to have multiple showers. You need all the help you can get when you’re just starting out with a new baby! I remember having a freak out moment when I was pregnant with Jake and I realized how much STUFF we were going to need! And it’s so sweet that so many of your family members were there to celebrate! :

    • Yes! We are so grateful to all the sweet souls who are hosting these showers for us! Already Baby Girl’s nursery has so much in it and we still have another shower to go! πŸ™‚

  15. What a lovely baby shower for Baby V! So many awesome things, from the adorable painting a star over Memphis, to the wishes for baby, to handmade gifts, and your niece loving to feel Baby V move! ❀

  16. Ahhh, what a sweet baby shower! How amazing are your sisters?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

