Then and Now

9 years ago Christopher and I were engaged and my sister, Abby, used my super fancy point & shoot digital camera to take a few photos for us around our university campus. We wore matching black tops with light-wash jeans because we were super classy like that. What can I say? There was no Pinterest back then and matching outfits were what everyone we knew did for engagement photos. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have to tell you, Christopher and I were looking at these old photos earlier this week and literally laughing out loud at how terrible our clothing choices were.ย Aaaanyway, this past weekend my sister, Abby, took a few photos of us around campus again to document this stage of our lives. So I thought I’d share a few favorites from both back then and now! ๐Ÿ™‚

hu swing 2008Us on one of the swings on the front lawn in 2008

hu maternity5.jpgUs on one of the swings on the front lawn in 2017

bell tower 2008 collage.jpgUs at the Bell Tower in 2008

bell tower 2017.jpgUs at the Bell Tower in 2017

pregnant tree 2008Us with the Pregnant Tree in 2008 (rumor has it that touching the pregnant tree can cause pregnancy… hence our scared faces as newly engaged youngsters).

hu maternity6Aaaaand 9 years later, here I am actually pregnant in front of the Pregnant Tree!

playground proposalThis photo was a re-creation of our engagement. Christopher proposed to me here at this playground on February 7th,ย 2008. He chose the playground because it was the spot where we used to go when we were just friends to talk and literally play on the playground, ha! Then it was the place we had our big DTR (you know, “determine the relationship”) talk and decided to start dating. And then it was the place we had our first kiss. So lots of sweet memories in this place which is why he chose to propose here. ๐Ÿ™‚

hu maternity4.jpgAnd here we are in 2017. Another sweet memory to add to the list of wonderful things that have happened at this playground. ๐Ÿ™‚

9 years ago we were two fledgling adultsย who had been together since we wereย teenagers (I had just turned 17 and he was 18 when we started dating). We had no idea what the future would hold, but we knew that we loved each other. We’ve had so many incredible adventures in the past 9 years, but there are no words to describe how excited we are about the adventure we are going to begin when we meet our daughter this summer!

Love Rach

30 responses to “Then and Now

  1. Awww, I love this post so much!

  2. OMG THIS IS SO CUTE!! What a great idea!! That last pic of you by the tree–you can tell how much you love her already!!

  3. Oh my goodness, how funny are these pictures? I LOVE the black turtlenecks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Janessa Hester

    Aww and now I can’t wait to see the update photos of Baby V playing on the playground! How special!

  5. No, you are tearing up now! Not me! This is just so sweet. I literally got goose bumps with the last two pictures of the tree and the playground. Love the comparisons!

    • Aww yay! I’m glad you loved them! I’m so excited to bring Baby Girl back to visit our alma mater and show it all off to her! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Love this! How precious this will be to share with your baby girl in the future.

  7. What beautiful pictures! You both are truly blessed.

  8. These photos are so sweet! I never would have thought to go back to my college campus to do pregnancy photos, but the NOSTALGIA is so great! And I know it was technically your sister helping, but it looks like your photography skills have come such a long way over the years! I just had to share this photo of Justin and me also wearing the black shirts with jeans and doing lame poses. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve guess we’ve all done those at some point!

    • It helps that I have such a better camera now than I did back then. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And girl, we all had those matching-outfit-photos from the pre-Pinterest days! We had dinner with friends last night and they also got married in 2008 and were showing up their engagement photos where they were ALSO wearing matching black shirts with jeans, haha!

  9. Oh my, those matching outfits are just the best! But my absolute favorite part is the turtle neck!

  10. Aww, this post is just so sweet, Rach! I love the recreation of these pictures, especially with your adorable bump! So cool that the playground had such a big role in your dating/engagement!

  11. This post made me smile from start to finish. What lovely photos and memories! I particularly love the playground photographs and story. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I LOVE this post! How great that you have these photos to look back on. I’m cracking up at the outfit choices HAHA!

  13. These are too cute! How funny that you wore matching outfits in your original photos – you should have done it again! Hahaha.

  14. This is so beautiful, I can hardly take it. I swear there is something extra special about those “young” romances. Also- the pregnant tree picture is tooo good. I love this so much. Thank you for sharing this with us, Rach!

  15. Sweet photos! It’s crazy to a see how photography trends change!

    http://prettylittlecountrylife.wordpress.com

    • Isn’t it, though?! I think it will be comical when our kids ask us someday why we took fancy furniture outside to fields of grass and took photos like that. Definitely different trends!

Leave a Reply

