Multigrain Honey Bread

Lately I’ve been coming across all these old recipes from our early days of marriage that I have written down, but without a note on where I found the recipe. In digging out some of these recipes I’ve realized all over again just how much I love them, but I can’t cite the original source. If this is your recipe (or you recognize it), let me know! I’d love to give credit where it’s due.

I love homemade bread. There aren’t many homemade breads that I don’t like, but this one has so many of my favorite features. Sweetened by applesauce and honey and mixed with oats, whole wheat flour, and bread flour. I love the way this mix of ingredients gives this bread such an awesome texture.

Multigrain Honey Bread (1)

Multigrain Honey Bread

Ingredients:

1 cup warm water
1/2 tbsp active dry yeast
2 1/2 tbsp cup honey
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 tbsp no sugar added applesauce
1/2 cup oats
1 1/2 cups bread flour
Directions:

1. Dissolve yeast in warm water. Add honey, and stir well. Mix in whole wheat flour, salt, and applesauce. Add oats and work bread flour in gradually. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead for at least 10 to 15 minutes.

2. When dough is smooth and elastic, place it in a well oiled bowl. Turn it several times in the bowl to coat the surface of the dough, and cover with a damp cloth. Let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk (about 45 minutes to 1 hour).

3. Punch down the dough. Shape into loaf, and place into well greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pan. Allow to rise until dough is 1 to 1 1/2 inches above pan (about 45 minutes).

4. Bake at 375 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes.

Multigrain Honey Bread (2)

I have a KitchenAid mixer so to be totally honest, it does most of the work for me while I bustle about working on other things. But sometimes when I have extra time on my hands, I like to knead the dough by hand. It’s relaxing in a strange sort of way. And very satisfying to see it all come together into the perfect elastic-y dough. But however you make this, just do it. Because it’s delicious. And your tummy will thank you. 🙂

Love Rach

23 responses to “Multigrain Honey Bread

  1. This looks so divine. I’m such a sucker for bread, I just love it so much!

  2. Oh man, do I love some homemade bread!!! There is nothing better! This one sounds so good!!!

  3. Erica | Whimsical September blog

    Oh man, I have ALMOST everything to make this! Sounds delicious. I LOVE LOVE LOVE homemade bread! And your recipes are always great! I’ve been meaning to tell you that I made a batch of your egg sandwiches and my whole family enjoyed them. Jamie has been taking them to work all week. 🙂

    • AH! I love hearing that!! That was the reason I started this blog way back when. I’ve moved away from just a recipe blog for sure, but I do still love hearing that people like the recipes they try here! I hope you love this bread too if you end up trying it! 🙂

  4. I am OBSESSED with homemade bread. 🙂 Nate bought me a homemade bread machine for Christmas, and I love that I can still make homemade bread (even though I’m a busy mom these days). At the same time, I still want to make recipes like this as well that I can knead the dough with my own hands. Like you said, there’s something therapeutic about it!
    I’m pinning this to make… when I have a free moment for baking. 😉 It looks DELICIOUS!!!!

    • Girl, you and me both!! I love homemade bread so much! There’s just something extra magical about it. And the aroma while it bakes is just the best!

  5. That looks delicious! Homemade bread is the best 🙂

  6. This looks SO YUMMY! Like you said, the texture looks awesome!

  7. Thank you Rach! Great recipe, my Grandma made the best whole wheat bread when I was growing up and I miss it. I will try your recipe when time allows. How are you feeling Dear? Have a nice holiday weekend, hugs, Terri xoxo

  8. Yummm- you cannot beat a little honey bread!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  9. This looks so yummy! I lovehomemade bread too, but have never made any myself.

  10. Oooh, this looks amazing! I love homemade bread but I’ve had so many fails I tend not to make it – but that needs to change!

    • Oh girl, this one turns out so well every time! Though I know nothing about making gluten free bread. I’m sure that must be much more complicated!

  11. Kneading dough by hand can be soo relaxing! I have to say, I agree with you in that I can’t think of a homemade bread I don’t like, haha. This one sounds amazing!

    • Yes! Kneading bread by hand is so great! I have so many sweet memories of making homemade bread with my mom when I was growing up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

