Family Weekend Highlights

We spent this past weekend with Christopher’s parents and had just a really wonderful visit. The last time we saw his dad, it was a pretty rough weekend because it involved a lot of time in the hospital. And reallyย most of our previous visits for the past couple of years have been difficult as we’ve helped as much as we can with caring for his dad’s failing health. But thankfully his dad is in a great place now where he is getting the care he needs and really seems to be doing well there. Considering everything we’ve been through with helping his parents over the past couple of years, this is such a huge blessing. So like I mentioned before, this weekend was a really good one. ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are a few highlights!

vendetti fam

All four of us! Well… technically FIVE! ๐Ÿ˜‰ We told his dad about the baby this weekend (now that I’m showing enough for him to notice a difference) and we are excited for him to meet her!

thackerland.jpg

We hit up this huge flea market called Thackerland and found so many random things! The best find was a beautiful piece of furniture that Christopher took photos of and plans to build as a coffee bar in our dining room. I’m so excited for that!

cabot goodwill.jpg

We also did lots of thrift store shopping as per normal when we visit my mother-in-law since it’s her favorite thing to do. I’ve had a hard time finding maternity clothes second hand, but was shocked to find that nearly every place we went had at least a few items. And the Goodwill had a great selection! I’ve been to thrift stores and consignment shops all over Memphis and have found so few maternity items so this was awesome!ย And we found a couple of treasures for the nursery that I’m looking forward to sharing with you guys as we continue working in there!

hot weather.jpg

We went to Little Rock for a day to walk along the Riverwalk area and check out their downtown. It was all super cute, but oh my gracious was it hot! It wasn’t until we were there that we realized just how HOT it was in the full sun. And let me tell you, since getting pregnant, I (who normally am cold natured) start sweating when it gets over 75 degrees. So I think this literally might be the hottest I’ve ever felt in my life (even though I’ve been in places where it was hotter than a heat index of 109). I have a feeling the next two months are going to find me hanging out in the pool a LOT. ๐Ÿ˜‰

home video.jpg

Perhaps the best part of the weekend, though, was uncovering these old home videos. I know the photo above is hard to see, but that’s a snapshot of the video of Christopher’s birthday party when he was 2-years-old. Just absolutely precious. Seeing a grandfather who had passed away along with his dad who was still in full health in those days was just such a gift.

The rest of the weekend passed in a blur of helping my mother-in-law with projects around the house, trying delicious new foods (we found a great burger place!), walking around parks, and visiting with all her church friends. It was definitely a good sort of weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

Love Rach

19 responses to “Family Weekend Highlights

  1. So happy to see the “five” of you together! Nothing beats family time AND a great burger!

  2. Janessa Hester

    Oh how special to have some home videos like that!! I so wish I had more just plain everyday videos of some of my wonderful great aunts that passed away before Brooklyn and Rhett were born! I would give anything for them to meet some of the people that was so special in my life growing up. Reminds me I need to take more pictures and more videos especially now that it’s so easy to video straight from any phone nowadays!

    • Yes, absolutely!! We had that exact same thought when watching these videos. So precious to have those old videos so we want to be sure we take lots of photos and videos as our little one grows up!

  3. So glad that his dad is doing pretty well right now and that you got to have a fun weekend with them! I love thrift shopping and flea markets, so that sounds like the perfect weekend. I can’t wait to see what you got for the baby’s room!

  4. Family weekends are the best! So glad to hear that Christopher’s dad is in a better place. Thackerland looks awesome and yay for finding some maternity clothes!

  5. I am so glad to hear Christopher’s Dad is doing well right now!

    I am actually jealous of your warm weather – so if you want to swap for cold temperatures where sweat just doesn’t happen, I’m down! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Girl, I normally HATE the cold. I would always much rather have hot weather than cold which is why we live in a place with such mild winters. But let me tell you, being pregnant has me HOT all the time, haha!

  6. Glad to hear that his dad is in a good place. I had to shop Target clearance and Motherhood outlet for my maternity wear. I didn’t want to spend a whole lot since it’s only a few months. I tried to get a few regular clothing items that were flowy that I could wear after and I still wear those pieces. Sounds like you had a great weekend!!!!

    • I haven’t had much luck finding maternity clothes on clearance at Target! I keep looking, but I have yet to find anything. Thankfully I found plenty over this past weekend to last me through the rest of this pregnancy! So glad! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Such a lovely family picture and I’m so glad to hear Christopher’s dad is in a good place!! Looks like you had a great weekend!
    xx
    Mรณnica Sors
    MES VOYAGES ร€ PARIS
    NEW POST: CALI DAYS: ZARA ROMPER & VINTAGE LEVI’S

  8. Pingback: On being 7 months pregnant for the next 8 years… |

  9. I love thrift store/flea market shopping AND watching old home movies–this sounds like the perfect weekend! I’m glad you had a good time visiting family, but so sorry that Christopher’s dad took a turn for the worst after you left. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll try to keep him in my prayers!

    By the way, I kept my students frozen during the last few months I was pregnant with Teddy. Girls would come into my classroom wearing jackets and sweaters and shivering because I kept the thermostat so low (usually 69 or 70 degrees). One boy in my class was kinda overweight, and he always sympathized with me sweating all the time because he felt the same way, haha. He’s the only one who didn’t complain about the temperature ever! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • HA! I love that you froze everyone out! Poor Christopher has been so sweet to not tell me how freezing our house is so I really didn’t know how cold it was until other people came over and commented on it. He just wears an extra layer to sleep while I am in my tank top and shorts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And thank you for your prayers for Christopher’s dad. Those mean so much to us!

  10. Yay for such a lovely weekend! I’m glad you were able to spend time with your in-laws and tell Christopher’s dad about Baby Girl! Also, I am getting so excited to see her nursery! I can’t wait to hear about the coffee bar, too. On the thrifting note, you should do a maternity clothes review of what you’ve found and liked! I think that would be interesting and helpful!

    Home videos are he best, aren’t they?! I just asked my dad to unearth some because I’ve never really watched them!

    Lastly, I hope you’re staying cool! Hopefully by a pool ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You know, the outfits I get the most compliments on are dresses that I wear that aren’t actually maternity dresses at all. Maxi dresses double as maternity dresses so well! They come up a little higher in the front than normal (thanks to the belly), but they still look so cute! Good idea to do a post on the best maternity finds! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And girl, I have spent so much time in the pool this summer, haha! Usually 3-4 days a week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Aww, I hope you love watching the family videos! I bet those will be so sweet!

Leave a Reply

