On being 7 months pregnant for the next 8 years…

First of all, on a serious note… I mentioned earlier this week that things seemed to be going really well for Christopher’s dad (who has early on-set dementia), but within hours of posting that, we got a phone call that left us shaking our heads in dismay. It seems as if there is just no settling into a routine right now. Please be in prayer for Christopher’s dad to be at peace and for us as we grapple with making the best decisions.

Okay, on a much less serious note, I have a funny story for you guys. πŸ™‚

So as it turns out I have terrible luck with driver’s license photos. Some of you may remember the disembodied head episode of 2012. If not, you can read about it and see a photo here. For the past five years I have whipped out my driver’s license every time the conversation turns to terrible DL photos. It’s like a party trick. And makes people laugh every single time.

Well, what I had forgotten over the years was that my license was only good for 5 years. And would expire on my 30th birthday. Which will be 5 days after Baby Vendetti is due to arrive. So when I got a notice in the mail at the beginning of May I laughed out loud. There I was: 7 months pregnant. Officially weighing more than I’ve ever weighed in my entire life. And needing to go update my license (photo included).

So here you have it… me at 7 months pregnant memorialized forever (okay, only the next 8 years) on my driver’s license.

DL

Honestly, it could have been much worse. It’s not a terrible photo and at least I was 7 months pregnant, not 9. But still, it’s kind of hilarious to me that I have such bad luck with driver’s license photos. Here’s to hoping I don’t get a super unfortunate haircut right before my next photo is due in 8 years! πŸ˜‰

Love Rach

31 responses to “On being 7 months pregnant for the next 8 years…

  1. Ha! My coworker also has a terrible DL photo, it’s pretty hilarious! But this one…isn’t too bad, not too bad at all!

  2. Oh my goodness how funny! Though, your photo is not bad at all!

  3. Hi Rach, sending prayers for Christopher’s Dad to you all. We can only pray and leave his well being in God’s hands, amen. Rach, you look great in photo, in my humble opinion, such a radiant smile you look perfect!! Have a great day Dear, Hugs, Terri xo.

    • Thank you so much for your prayers! Those are so precious to us!

      And thank you for your kind words! The photo definitely could have been much worse!

  4. Ay, I’m so sorry to hear that about Christopher’s dad. I will say a prayer today for him, for Christopher’s mom, and for the both of you. I know this season has been difficult for you guys but you are doing such a great job!

    That’s so funny about the timing of your licenses– I went back and giggled at your last one! But I think you look great in this one!

    • Thank you so much for your prayers, sweet friend! You know how precious they are to us!

      That last license was so hilariously terrible! I’ve never had someone look at it and say “oh wow, what a great picture”. No no, instead it’s laughter followed by a comment about my disembodied head. πŸ˜‰

  5. I read your title and was like whattt? And then I got it – you have some luck, although it still is a really great picture!

    Fingers crossed things go well with Christopher’s dad. Dementia is such a hard thing. 😦

    • It really is some luck, huh?! I’m curious to see what will be going on in my life 8 years from now when I have to get the license updated again!

  6. ha, ha!! Isn’t that always the way?!? (Although I have to say, you look really pretty in that photo. πŸ™‚ You’ve definitely carried the pregnancy weight well. I always gain SO much in my face… and in my belly too, of course. LOL)! πŸ˜‰
    So sorry to hear about Christopher’s Dad… I regularly pray for him, and I’ll continue to do so!!

    • Well, when you have 10 pound babies, they take up a lot of space! This one is still less than 4 pounds right now and I’m already starting to swell from summer heat. I imagine the giant face will be arriving soon, haha!

      And thank you so much for your prayers. You know those mean so much to me!

  7. You look glowing in your photo! I think it’s amazing that you will have this memory in your DL of being 7 months pregnant!

    Dementia is so hard. My grandfather had it and oh boy it was a wild ride! Best of luck! πŸ’•

    • Thank you for your kind words! It will be sweet to look back at my DL and always remember this precious time of pregnancy! πŸ™‚

  8. Hey, you might as well keep the bad photo trend going. HOWEVER, it is not a bad photo! And you don’t look big! And you can’t tell you’re pregnant!

    • Haha! You are sweet to say so! And really this photo didn’t turn out nearly as badly as I thought it would so it’s really just a funny story now. Who knows what will be happening 8 years from now when I have to get my license renewed again, haha!

  9. So funny! You look gorgeous though, so no worries on being pregnant for the next 8 years! I had to laugh out loud when I saw your floating head picture:D

    • Haha! I’m so glad you enjoyed that! The floating head pictures has amused many, many people over the past 5 years. πŸ˜‰

  10. That is too funny! But I still think you look great! I’m sorry to hear about Christopher’s father. That has got to be so, so hard.

    • Thank you! You are sweet to say so! I will say, this photo definitely turned out much better than I thought it would. And I’m sure MUCH better than if I had waited until right before it was due to be renewed in July when I’d be 9 months pregnant, haha!

      And thank you for the empathy. It really is such a terrible disease. It reminds us often of why it’s so important to take care of our health as much as we can. Eating well and exercising matter so much!

  11. Ahhh that picture isn’t bad at all!!!! I’m sorry to hear about Christopher’s dad. I’m sending you guys all the hugs!

  12. Oh you cutie pie, funny story but still looking amazing! You’re right, if it had been me, my head looked like a beach ball 8mos+. So sorry about Christopher’s dad, praying, praying lots!! Try to have a great weekend! Hugs!

    • Haha! Oh let me tell you, the hotter it’s gotten, the more I’m swelling. I’m sure I’ll be enormous from water weight alone by the time Baby Girl arrives. πŸ˜‰

      And thank you for those prayers! They mean so much to us!

  13. Haha, that is a funny story, but girl, you look great! πŸ™‚

  14. Maybe you can tell that you’re pregnant in that head shot, but I certainly can’t! Some people’s faces bloat up and look puffy, but your face looks the same to me!

    • Thankfully it hadn’t gotten too hot yet when that photo was taken. The hotter it gets, the more I’m swelling. I’m sure I’ll be huge from water weight alone by the time Baby Girl arrives. πŸ˜‰

  15. At least you got a good photo – and you can’t tell that you’re pregnant at all!

  16. I will absolutely be praying for Christopher’s Dad as well was you, Christopher, and your mother-in-law.

    This had me cracking up! You do look beautiful! I agree with everyone πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

