Our Favorite Spaghetti Sauce

spaghetti dinner comparison

When I say that I’m sharing my FAVORITE version of a recipe with you guys, I’m not kidding. Lately especially I’ve been tweaking my favorite recipes to decide which my ultimate favorites are. For example, I had three great spaghetti recipes that I loved. So I made all three at once and we picked out what we loved most about each one. So I made tweaks to the recipes and made three more for us to try. After all of that, I finally have my most favorite spaghetti recipe just absolutely perfected!

The BEST Spaghetti Recipe (1).JPG

Our Favorite Spaghetti Sauce

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1/2 onion, chopped
1lb ground sweet Italian sausage or ground beef (we made it both ways and loved it equally)
1 (28oz) can crushed tomatoes
1 (28oz) can no-salt-added tomato sauce
1 (6oz) can no-salt-added tomato paste
2 tbsp basil
1 tbsp oregano
1/4 cup white wine
3/4 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp ground red pepper
2 bay leaves

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in large pot and add garlic. When garlic starts to turn golden add chopped onion and Italian sausage or ground beef. Cook until onions areΒ translucentΒ and meat is cooked through. Drain off grease.

2. Put meat mixture back in pot and add crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, basil, oregano, white wine, sugar, ground red pepper and bay leaves. Stir thoroughly.

3. Let simmer for at least 30 minutes, but ideally more likeΒ 3 hours. The longer it simmers, the richer it becomes. You can even do all of this in a crock pot and put it on low to cook all day!

The BEST Spaghetti Recipe (2).JPG

If I’m being real with you, this is more what my spaghetti looks like when I actually eat it. I like it all mixed together and thoroughly coated. And served in a bowl. It’s so much easier to eat! πŸ™‚

Do you have a favorite spaghetti sauce recipe?Β 
Have you ever made multiple recipes trying to pick a most favorite?
Love Rach

28 responses to “Our Favorite Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Very similar to the sauce that I always make. There is no restaurant or jar sauce out there that I like better than my own, you know??? I do mine in a crock pot and let it low cook all day while we are at work. When we come home the house smells AMAZING!!!!

  2. Now I am super hungry for spaghetti! Lol. I love your recipe with the sweet sausage and no salt added tomato products! I’m adding this to our meal rotation this week, the boys will be in heaven!

  3. Janessa Hester

    I absolutely love making spaghetti sauce like this. Sometimes I am a noodle and can of premade kinda girl, but when I have time I like to make a big huge batch of sauce and freeze it in family sized servings. Also I like to make one batch a little thicker and up the seasonings to make a little more of a marinara with more chunky tomatoes. Everyone else in my house prefers no chunks of tomato though. Blah. lol

    • Pfft! I say you’re the cook so you should make it the way you like it! πŸ˜‰ I’m with you on sometimes it being a jarred sauce kind of night. We have definitely had those days. Especially if I find out last minute that I’m going to be feeding a bunch of people. Jarred sauce and a box of spaghetti goes a long way on those days!

  4. If you were really Italian you would call it gravy πŸ™‚

    • Well, you know, us half breeds and mutts don’t want to come across as too pretentious. πŸ˜‰ I’m​ just glad you are willing to be friends with us even with your pure blood. Haha!

  5. Love the before and after bowls. The money shot, and the reality shot. Both equally gorgeous.

    • Haha! That’s real life right there. I always try to take a pretty shot for the blog, but that photo (while pretty) looks so different from the way it looks when I actually eat it that I wanted to share a “real” photo. πŸ˜‰ Glad you appreciated that! And hey, by the way, I am LOVING all your photos! I’m ready to go to Ireland now!

  6. This spaghetti sauce does sound yummy!

  7. Mmmmm! Spaghetti sauce is always delicious!

    And Jesse eats spaghetti much like you – but I’m a weirdo who will put the sauce on top, eat the sauce first and then eat the plain spaghetti last πŸ˜›

    • I didn’t know anyone ate their spaghetti like that! I always just assumed that was for picture taking purposes, haha! I want lots of sauce on every bite! πŸ˜‰

  8. This looks amazing! I’ve never tried making my own sauce (I know, I really need to do better), but I will have to try this out!

  9. Delicious! And I totally need a good spaghetti sauce recipe to use! I usually just a pick up a jar from the store:P

  10. Yum, now I want spaghetti! I definitely want to try your sauce sometime. I love experimenting with sauces too. πŸ™‚

  11. That is an intense selection process! But I might have to try it. White wine?! I know it tastes great when they put it in the cheese at The Melting Pot, so it’s probably great in spaghetti sauce. The first time I ever made my own sauce (and my own EVERYTHING) was when I did Whole 30. It was kind of a hassle, but I might be willing to try the crockpot version!

    • Yes! The white wine really kicks it up a notch! We tried it with red wine as well because a lot of recipes call for that, but we found that we like the white wine in it much better. So yummy!

  12. I love that you really, really test out your recipes and tweak them until they’re perfect! This sounds amazing!

  13. Pingback: The Nesting… |

  14. Pingback: Quick Pseudo Italian Dinners |

Leave a Reply

