All the Pancakes!

Over the years I’ve made and shared lots of delicious pancake recipes on this blog, but recently I wanted to know which ones were truly my FAVORITES. So I went on a pancake-making frenzy and made 6 different recipes (and then made blueberry and chocolate chip versions of three of those landing us with at total of 12 different types of pancakes) and gathered my best taste testers (Christopher and Kelsi) and we ate ALL THE PANCAKES. I actually then made my favorite recipes three more times tweaking them along the way to make sure I had the absolute best results. So I’ve made a ridiculous number of pancakes over the past couple of weeks, ha!

all the pancakes

The three biggest things I learned were these:

1. Buttermilk is a must. I love almond milk and still like pancakes made with almond milk or even regular milk, but buttermilk really just takes it to the next level.

2. Cake Flour makes a world of difference. I learned this from the Pioneer Woman who’s recipe we did like, but was a little too rich for us overall. All purpose works just fine, but if you want to really kick your pancakes up a notch, go with cake flour.

3.  Don’t over-mix! I think nearly every pancake recipe I tried emphasized this point. And it’s really true. Lumps are okay in your batter. And allowing your batter to sit for a few minutes before you start cooking the pancakes gives it even more time to bubble up which makes for fluffier pancakes.

The Best Pancakes! (2)

The Best Pancakes! (3)

The Best Pancakes! (4).JPG

The Best Pancakes

Ingredients:

2 cups cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp sugar in the raw
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk
2 tbsp butter, melted
2 tbsp maple syrup

2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl whisk together cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in the raw.

2. In a separate bowl whisk together eggs, buttermilk, melted butter, maple syrup, and vanilla.

3. Gently combine liquid ingredients into flour mixture until just combined. Don’t over-mix. It’s okay if there are small lumps in the batter.

4. Let batter sit for about 10 minutes while griddle heats up. Melt some butter on the griddle and then spoon 1/4 cup batter onto the hot griddle. Cook until batter bubbles around the sides and then flip. Cook until lightly browned on both sides. Makes approximately 12 pancakes.

5. Top with butter and pure maple syrup and serve fresh from the griddle!

While the chocolate chip version of these pancakes was scrumptious, there was one other pancake that held up to the chocolate chips even better. I’ll share more about that later!

And finally, I have to tell you guys that we really loved the Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes that I shared on the blog a few years ago as well. But they are a really dense-type of pancake. Definitely delicious, but not fluffy like you typically think of pancakes. Just thought I’d give them an honorable mention. 🙂

Do you have a favorite pancake recipe?
Love Rach
28 responses to “All the Pancakes!

  1. Yum! These sound so good!!!

  2. Now I want pancakes. These look great. I love that you have been running a food science laboratory in your kitchen, testing recipes and finding the favorite all time recipe. (When I was like 7th/8th grade, I wanted to be a food scientist because I had a mentor who worked in that department at a university in my state. Random fact.)

    • I love that you even knew what a food scientist was in 7th grade! I had no idea that was even a thing back then. That would definitely be an interesting job, though! 🙂

  3. I am not usually a pancake gal but now I am wanting some pancakes!! I have actually never tried pancake flavors outside of blueberry and chocolate chip. I will now broaden my pancake horizons!

  4. We love pancakes but I usually make a different recipe each time bc I don’t have one that I absolutely love😞 I am definitely using this recipe tomorrow morning!!

  5. mmmm you have me wanting to make pancakes this weekend! Hope you have a great one!

  6. You are so awesome for doing that Rach!! I do not think I would have the patience to make all those recipes at once haha 🙂 These pancakes look delicious!

  7. I love pancakes, and those do look like the best pancakes ever!

  8. This is SO helpful! I am the world’s worst cook, but have to cook for the kids all the time, and pancakes are always on that list. I appreciate you doing the research and hard work!

  9. Man, you definitely know what you’re doing when it comes to pancakes. I will admit, I have rarely ever made pancakes from scratch. Years ago a friend introduced me to Kodiak pancake mix, I get their original whole wheat, oat, and honey variety and they are so perfectly yummy to me. I never even really liked pancakes before Kodiak. Of course, they don’t sell it in Malaysia, but I did make some while I was in the US! 😛

  10. Pingback: Pioneer Woman’s Chocolate Chip Pancakes |

  11. Oooohhhh! What a delicious idea!

    I haven’t made pancakes in such a long time so I really need to change that!

  12. Love all of these tips!! I also love that your nesting has kicked in and you’re out to find all the best versions of the recipes you love!! I think we all benefit from that, haha!

Leave a Reply

