Sweet and Spicy

You know what we love? The combination of sweet and spicy. So today I have two delicious sweet & spicy recipes for you that are perfect for summer days!

First up, this recipe from Real Simple. I discovered this in 2011 and we have been making it regularly ever since. So yummy!

sweet and spicy chicken

Sweet and Spicy Chicken

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp oregano
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2lbs chicken pieces (legs, breast, thighs, etc)

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl combine oil, chili powder, brown sugar, oregano, salt, and pepper.

2. Rub spice mixture into chicken. Place on roasting pan and cook 45-50 minutes or until cooked through.

NOTE: This can also be made on the grill which is our favorite way to have it!

Another favorite is homemade sweet potato fries! There are so many different ways to make them, but our favorite is to add fresh rosemary, garlic, cayenne pepper, and salt. YUM!

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries.JPG
Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato
Olive oil spray
Fresh rosemary, chopped
Cayenne pepper
Garlic Powder
Salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Slice sweet potatoes into thin slices and lay out in a single layer on greased baking sheet. Spray fries with olive oil spray and then sprinkle with chopped rosemary, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and salt. Bake 15 minutes, then flip and bake another 15 minutes until fries are easily pierced with a fork.

Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

18 responses to “Sweet and Spicy

  1. THOSE FRIES! Ohhh me oh my.

  2. Janessa Hester

    Oh I LOVE the mix of sweet and spicy! That is the key to my husband’s ribs. The perfect mix. I’m going to have to try these recipes.

  3. Ohhh this sounds so good!!! I am always looking for a new chicken recipe. Cant wait to try!

  4. Both look so good Rach! Thank you, hugs, Terri 💖

  5. Such a winning combo! These both look tasty.

  6. I love making sweet potato fries but I haven’t tried them with rosemary! Yum!

  7. I’m actually making sweet potatoes today, and if I had an oven, I’d make this recipe! It’s okay, though, sweet potatoes are so yummy, I’m going to make them mashed.

  8. Oooooh, this looks SO good! I’ll have to try your chicken seasoning soon!

  9. I love the combo of sweet and spicy as well! It’s just so good!! And sweet potato fries are the best!

Leave a Reply

