I love Mashed Potatoes!

When it comes to mashed potatoes, I am normally the peel-the-potatoes kind of girl. I love russet potatoes, gold yukon potatoes, red potatoes, and sweet potatoes. I like them with skins on and I like them peeled. I like them mashed with just a couple of additional ingredients (like the classic milk, butter, salt & pepper) and I like them with lots of add-ins as well. So when we first met our current group of friends back in 2011 and we kept seeing these AMAZING mashed potatoes show up at parties, I just knew I needed the recipe.

Imagine my surprise when I found out that these incredible mashed potatoes were made from a BOX mix of flakes. But you can’t argue with delicious. And these, my friends, are delicious. You can find the original recipe right here on the Hungry Jack website: Make Ahead Party Mashed Potatoes.

Party Mashed Potatoes (2).JPG

Hungry Jack’s Make Ahead Party Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:

1 (15.3 oz) package Hungry Jack Mashed Potato Flakes
No-stick cooking spray
6 cups water
12 tbsp ( 1-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
2 tsp garlic salt
2 tsp onion salt
2 (8 oz) packages cream cheese, cubed and softened
2 cups milk
1 (16 oz) container sour cream
Paprika

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350. Spray a 13 x 9-inch baking dish with no-stick cooking spray. Heat water, butter, garlic salt and onion salt to boiling in a 6-quart Dutch oven or saucepan. Remove from heat. Add cream cheese, milk and sour cream, stirring until cream cheese is dissolved.

2. Stir in potato flakes, mixing until all ingredients are well combined. Spread mashed potato mixture into prepared pan. Sprinkle with paprika and bake 1 hour or until bubbling around edges and golden brown.


These can, of course, be made with a different brand of potato flakes, but don’t get skimpy on the add-ins. There is a time and place for healthy mashed potatoes. This isn’t it. 😉

What is your favorite way to eat potatoes?
Love Rach

20 responses to “I love Mashed Potatoes!

  1. I am a huge real potatoes kind of girl. I will never buy the “fake potatoes” to make mashed potatoes. Buttttt this recipe looks so good and I might have to bend my rules just this once.

    • Girl, I hear you! Before I had this recipe, I thought I was a real-potatoes-only kind of mashed potatoes girl. But this recipe surprised me so much! I’m telling you, they are awesome!

  2. yummmm! I ate nothing but a bowl of mashed potatoes for dinner the other night. I might have a problem 😉

  3. Can you believe, I’ve never used instant potatoes? Always a mashed potatoes from scratch girl too but WOW, do these ever look scrumptious!

    • This recipe has been the first time that I’ve found myself using a mix, but they are so good! I bet it could be made with regular potatoes as well, though!

  4. I love mashed potatoes. I kind of forget that there are boxed options.

    • They are so simple to make with real potatoes that it’s definitely easy to forget that they come in boxed flake form as well. I would never have guessed these were from a box, though. I’m telling you, these are so yummy!

  5. I don’t mind the instant packages for regular dinners and such. In fact, I think they’ve gotten pretty good at making them taste amazing! However, for Thanksgiving or a special holiday, I love making mashed potatoes from scratch with cream cheese, sour cream, lots of butter, and salt. 🙂

  6. Hmmm, I would have to try it to believe it. I HATE boxed mashed potatoes, and I can spot them a mile away when they serve them in restaurants. Probably because my mom always made them from scratch when I was growing up, and the first time I ever had boxed potatoes was when I had my wisdom teeth out during my senior year of high school. I’m a little bit of a mashed potato snob!

    • Girl, I hear you. Well, actually, I don’t hate boxed potato flakes quite that much, haha! But I do understand preferring the real thing! I’m telling you, I had this recipe at several different parties before I finally asked for the recipe and found out that they came from a box. I had no idea! You might still be able to tell, though, since you have such strong dislike for the boxed variety. But I bet you could adapt the add-ins for this recipe for a real-potato recipe as well. They are SO yummy!

  7. I love mashed potatoes, too! I need to try these 🙂

  8. I`m thinking that I might have to break my “no instant potatoes” rule and try this. Ha ha. Sounds amazing!! (Something to look forward to once I can have dairy again)!!

    • This reminds me, I should really enjoy my dairy now on the off chance that I might be giving it up in the near future. I’ve had a couple of friends whose babies also had dairy allergies. Yikes! Cheese for dinner tonight! 😉

  9. ok, soooooooooooo glad i found your cute blog!!!

  10. So funny, my mom used to make me Hungry Jack potatoes because I liked them better than homemade mashed potatoes, LOL! They really are so good, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

