The Nesting…

Sometime in the next 27 days we will be meeting our daughter. I kept thinking that as it got closer I would get more concerned about the ways our life is going to change once she arrives or even being fearful of delivery and recovery. But truth be told, I’m not.

I think part of it is that we have known for so long that she might be super early that we were prepared for her to come long before now. And part of it is that I have very little control over what delivery will look like. For example, I’m not currently a candidate for an epidural so I’ve known from the beginning that I may have to deliver without one. And I also have no control over whether or not she may need to come by C-Section. So since I have no idea what direction it will go, I just don’t dwell on it. And honestly, the pain will be temporary and I just want her to be safe more than anything. I mean, I survived a kidney stone without pain relief – surely I can do this. {Someone remind me of this if I’m laboring without pain relief and feel like I’m dying, haha!}

The fact that she is still in there safe and sound at 35 weeks is just such an answered prayer. Because we knew that she might be really early we made a huge effort to get things done ahead of time. Which means that my nesting urge has been nicely spread out over the past couple of months. But this week is go-week. You see, had she come BEFORE now, she would have been guaranteed a NICU stay past when we would have gone home. Meaning that we would have had time to come home and finish up any last minute things. But now she’s at a point where she might actually get to come home with us from the hospital if she were to be born today. Which means we want everything to be ready! So this means…

parenting class

We took our Expectant Parents class this past weekend. Several people saw this photo on Instagram and thought that Baby Girl had arrived. Those are definitely some pretty realistic looking babies! Earlier this month we took a Childbirth class so between the two classes (and a couple of books we’ve read) we feel pretty prepared for delivery, recovery, and life with a newborn. Or at least as prepared as anyone can feel. πŸ˜‰

freezer meals.jpg

I spent all day yesterday making freezer meals. Our church is awesome about bringing dinner to families for the first 4-6 weeks after a new child arrives, but I wanted to have some simple lunch options too. I may have gotten slightly carried away. πŸ˜‰ Pictured you see: Taco Soup, Chili, Lasagna Soup, Enchilada Soup, Vegetable and Beef Soup, Buffalo Chicken, English Muffin Pizzas,Β Jambalaya,Β Breakfast Sandwiches, Spaghetti Sauce, Whole Wheat Pizza Dough Balls (I just realized I haven’t shared this recipe here – I need to do that!), White Chicken Enchiladas,Β Pot Roast with VeggiesΒ (this recipe, but with chicken thighs instead of roast), Beef Burritos, and Chicken Burritos. Most of the meals I made into individual sized portions for easy lunches so I’m hoping that will be a huge help during those early weeks.

gym.jpg

Some people say that you get really motivated to start moving in the last few weeks because you are ready for the baby to come. But to be honest, I never actually stopped going to the gym throughout this pregnancy (other than the kidney stone episode when I took off a week). My doctors continued to clear me for exercise so while my workouts are less intense than they used to be, I still lift weights, do cardio, and yoga. It’s not always easy, but I know it’s good for both me and Baby and I hear it helps with delivery and recovery if I am able to stay active throughout the pregnancy. So here’s to hoping that’s true!

Us

We’ve been making an effort to do all the things people say are much more difficult to do after kids. So this past weekend we saw a movie (Wonder Woman) and ate out at a nice restaurant. This coming weekend we’re planning to head downtown for another nice dinner out. This August we will celebrate 9 years of marriage and these years have been such a sweet phase of life for just the two of us. We are so grateful for the time we’ve had, but we are also excited about this next stage of life that is about to begin for us as a family of three. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

43 responses to “The Nesting…

  1. You are going to rock this momma! you are all set!!!!!!

  2. So excited for you!! I’m about to start my freezer meal kick, too!

  3. Wow girl! You do not mess around with meal planning πŸ˜‰ I have to admit– when I saw that photo on Instagram I thought you had your baby too! But then I noticed that the legs looked pretty darn glossy for a real baby LOL!

    I am so excited for her to come!!!!! And WOW– the fact that you have made it to 35 weeks is amazing. God is so good!

    • Haha! I may have gone a teeeeeny bit overboard. I just wanted to be sure we had lots of options, haha!

      Sorry about the fake out! I didn’t even think about that when I posted it, but we heard about it from so many people, haha! But YES! We are so grateful for all these answered prayers! I’ll officially be NINE months (36 weeks) pregnant next week. That blows my mind. God is such a miracle worker!

  4. I totally thought you had your baby when I saw the picture show up on my feed, hahaha. Guess that is what a quick glance will do! Go you for getting all those meals prepped – and for sticking it out at the gym!!!

    • Haha! I feel like I’m the girl who cried wolf now! When I post a picture of the baby ACTUALLY being born everyone is going to be like “oh, they must be at another parenting class…” πŸ˜‰ We heard from so many people that they thought that was our actual baby at first glance. Oops!

  5. Janessa Hester

    Both Brooklyn and I had to do a double take on IG when you posted that pic! haha! For a quick second, I was like “baby!!!!” haha. But YAY for 35 weeks!! That’s wonderful! And those meals are seriously going to be so wonderful during the first 6-8 weeks. Here’s my little advice for the day (haha), make sure you clear out as much of your fridge as you can. Sometimes food arrives and there’s no where to put it. Also, maybe throw together a snack basket of little quick things you can open and eat one handed especially if you are thinking of breastfeeding.

    • Haha! Sorry about the fake out! I didn’t even consider that when I posted the picture, but we heard from SO many people about it. Yikes!

      And hey, thank you for the advice! I think I’m going to keep a little basket of “breastfeeding essentials” right by the rocking chair and I’ll be sure to add snacks that can be eaten one handed to it. Let me know if you have other suggestions for what should go in there! And cleaning out some space in the fridge is a great idea! Thanks, Janessa!

  6. You will be SO glad you have those freezer meals. I made some before Aiden, but not before Alder and I missed having them the second time around! And dannnng girl…you have lots of good recipes to choose from. πŸ™‚ So glad you aren’t dreading the labor process or worried about it…you will do great and you are wise not to worry. God has you and baby girl in the palm of his hand. I can’t wait to see you as a Mama!

    • I wish we lived closer – I’d totally share my stock of freezer meals with you! I’m pretty sure I went a teeeeny bit overboard, haha!

      And thank you so much! It’s hard to believe we’re so close to finally getting to meet her!

  7. For a moment, I thought that was a real baby Christopher was holding!!! Haha..

    And freezer meals.. just how…? I wanted to do that toooo… All the recipes you linked can be frozen? I am just not a freezer meal person. I am so scared to eat something not freshly cooked. I hope you are not weirded out with that. πŸ˜„ I just haven’t tried! So wait (I am sorry if this is a silly question), do you thoroughly cook them and then thaw and microwave when ready to eat? Don’t get veggies get soggy when you do that?

    • Haha! Sorry about the fake out! I didn’t even consider that when I posted the picture, but we heard from SO many people about it. Yikes!

      And girl, not a silly question at all! So when I make these in individual portions (especially the soups), I just set them in the fridge the night before I plan to eat them and they thaw out perfectly by lunch time the next day. The texture is the exact same as if I had made the soup the day before and reheating leftovers. So in that case, I do completely cook the recipe ahead of time. There are a couple of these recipes that I either put together completely raw and then toss it all in the crock pot completely frozen on the morning we plan to eat it and cook it on low all day (like the chicken with veggies) or where I prep the meal part way (like the enchiladas that I do everything to except bake them at the end). I actually wrote about this in a lot more detail here: https://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/2015/10/12/13-of-the-best-freezer-meals/

  8. And I wonder who’s giving birth first, you or me.. 😁 I was rushed to ER last Thursday and I thought it was time! Good thing Baby Boy held on till now! Still hoping we could make it 37 wks but it looks like this Little Boy is wanting to come out already! πŸ˜„

  9. Not to rain on your parade, but I can’t imagine you guys coming home from the NICU and painting rooms or putting shellac on the floor or something, LOL. Especially since you would be recovering from labor and the stress of having a child in the NICU! But I’m glad that you’re so prepared! I always thought freezer meals would be a great idea, but I didn’t do that with either child because I was just so exhausted being pregnant. You look like you’re all set! But I’m STILL waiting to see that nursery!

    • Haha! Well, it wasn’t so much cosmetic things as being worried about not having washed her clothes yet or not having a place for her to sleep. But then I realized that if she DID come early, she wouldn’t be coming home with us immediately so we’d have time to come home and do those essential things. But either way, she has stayed safe and sound in there for so long that we’re really ready! Yay!

      I can’t decide about when to share pictures of the nursery. I had planned to as soon as it was finished, but there are a few things in there that have her name on them (which we aren’t announcing until after she’s born). So I’m leaning toward sharing her nursery after she’s actually here. But who knows, maybe I’ll end up sharing it and just leaving those parts out (or blurring them out). πŸ™‚

  10. Praise the Lord you have gone 35 weeks! I had #babybigtruck at 36 weeks and I had #babybigtruck2 at 35 weeks both via c-section, they were both NICU babies and they both came home when I was discharged! I pray she stays in there a little longer though! So close!

    • That’s SO encouraging!! I knew you had yours early, but I had forgotten exactly how far along you were. I love hearing that you got to go home with them from the hospital when you got discharged! So encouraging!

  11. My goodness. It all seems to have happened so fast! Your preparation is amazing.

  12. I am SO excited to `meet` baby girl and can`t believe she will be here so soon!
    I wasn`t allowed to have an epidural either and had 9 hours of labor before the c-section. I just kept telling myself β€œIt hurts but it`s going to get worse…BUT I can handle right now.” Somehow that helped me. Ha ha. I never lost control or felt like I was. I just kept thinking β€œI`ve got this right now.” Don`t look ahead. Just focus and be present. You will totally rock it!!!
    And freezer meals will be a huge help! I did them with Brady but not this time around. And I regretted nkt having them…
    Lastly,this is your first baby AND you`ve stayed active. I bet you`ll bounce back rediculously fast. And if not,it took 9 months to grow a baby so it`s okay to take time to lose it. (I have to remind myself of that a lot this time around. Ha ha).
    Love you!!

    • I like your mantra! “I can handle this right now.” That’s solid! And girl, I totally forgot that you couldn’t have an epidural with Brady. You are such a rock star for laboring 9 hours without one!

      I’m so glad I made time to make these freezer meals! I may have gone a little overboard with them, but I think they will come in so helpful for lunches! I know that I function better when I’m eating well and I am thinking that meal planning might be pretty low on my list of priorities at first, haha!

      Thank you for all the encouragement!

  13. Oh my goodness! You’re so prepared!!!

  14. Lady, I’m so impressed with all those freezer meals you made! Wow. Also, super impressed with how much you’ve been to the gym! You’re basically a rockstar. πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! I felt like a rock star after making all those freezer meals! A completely exhausted and sore rock star, but still one none-the-less. πŸ˜‰

  15. Rebekah Johnson

    I’ve been reading your blog but have just been terrible at commenting lately! BUT I am so thankful God has let you carry your baby as long as He has. That is a true miracle. Also, if God brought you through to today He will cary you through delivery too. I’m excited for you guys!

  16. MAN. You are SO prepared with all those freezer meals! All of that food wouldn’t even fit in my itty-bitty freezer, haha! I am sure you will definitely appreciate all of the work you put into pre-cooking a few weeks from now! Not long to wait…

    • I hear that freezer meals can be a life saver in those early weeks so I’m hoping that we’ll find that to be true! We have a standard size (for America, ha!) fridge/freezer combo in our kitchen and I still had to clear out a lot of space in the freezer and it is PACKED full now, haha! It’s possible I went a little overboard… πŸ˜‰

  17. I can’t believe how soon Baby Girl will be here! I am so happy you have made it past 35 weeks and that Baby Girl has stayed inside you, safe and sound!

    Yay for freezer meals!

    • Me too! Our doctor was saying on Monday how amazed he was that she has made it to 36 weeks! So many answered prayers! πŸ™‚

  18. I love how prepared you are with the meals! I would be doing the same thing for the lunches. I’m so excited!!

  19. We took the classes at the hospital, too, and they actually helped a lot. Freezer meals are smart! One of the top things I would have wanted afterward would have been someone to deliver food to me daily, but next best is freezer meals! I hope baby girl has a safe delivery and things go well for all of you. I did the last hour or two without my epidural – if anyone asked me afterward, I would tell them it sucked, but in the end I’m glad that everyone came out healthy. I haven’t seen a movie in theaters in several months so going out now is a smart idea x). Although I’m sure you could make it happen later if you really wanted.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! It’s always a good reminder that lots of people deliver without epidurals! As long as everyone is safe and healthy, it’s a good delivery! πŸ™‚

  20. Woah, talk about the meal prep queen! You are amazing!

  21. Finn was a natural birth for me, and by far my greatest life experience! I would try to focus more on that experience than instead focusing on how you cannot have an epidural. The pain is for a purpose and will be so so worth it. Anything by Ina May is a good read as well as Birthing From Within.

  22. Pingback: Lemon Poppyseed Muffins |

Leave a Reply

