Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

A few years ago I shared a recipe on this blog for lemon poppyseed muffins. I’m not sure where I initially got this recipe, but I’ve been making it again lately and it is such a winner! So I wanted to share with with you guys. 🙂

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins (1).JPG

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tbsp poppy seeds
1 egg
1/2 cup sugar in the raw
2 tbsp lemon zest (2 large lemons)
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/4 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Zest the lemons over a small bowl of sugar. Rub the sugar and zest together until the sugar is slightly moist and fragrant.

2. Add egg, melted butter, buttermilk and vanilla. Mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add liquid ingredients to the dry slowly and stir just until moistened. Be careful not to over-stir. Fold in poppy seeds.

3. Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray. Divide muffin batter evenly into 36 mini muffin cups. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins (2).JPG

I made these recently for a group of friends and they were such a hit! I had forgotten  just how yummy they are and how amazing they smell as they bake!

Speaking of baking things… I will be baking today. Apparently the ridiculous number of freezer meals I have stocked up suddenly doesn’t feel like enough and I’m itching to bake and freeze some scones and waffles as well. And I’m planning to bake cookies for the nurses (to take in with us when I deliver) so I’ll pop those in the freezer until we head to the hospital. I’ve never actually frozen baked cookies before, but I’ve heard they thaw quickly at room temperature and are super delicious. So here’s to hoping!

Does anyone have experience with freezing baked cookies?

What was the last thing you baked?

Love Rach

16 responses to “Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

  1. I always look forward to these posts popping up in my reader! 🙂 These look amazing, just like everything else!

  2. How cute is it that you’re baking cookies for your nurses? No one does that! 🙂

    • A friend of mine from college mentioned that she did it and I thought it was such a good idea! It surely can’t hurt to be on their good side, right? 😉

  3. Those muffins do look yummy!

  4. Okay, so these look amazing! My mom LOVES lemon poppyseed muffins, but I’ve never made them… I’m definitely going to bake up a batch for her sometime soon!
    And hmmmm, the last thing I baked… Actually, I baked a bread in my bread machine yesterday!! I’m not sure that it counts, since I just had to add ingredients and the machine did all the work. Ha, ha. But my house smelled good, and the bread tasted amazing! Other than that, I haven’t baked anything since I made wedding cupcakes MONTHS ago! 🙂
    And I’ve only frozen chocolate chip cookies, but they definitely froze well! I used to eat them frozen though and never really gave them the chance to thaw. Ha ha!!
    How kind of you to make your nurses cookies!!! I wanted to bring chocolate or something for mine, but I never did. 😦 And then it turned out that it was National Nurse Day while we were at the hospital, so I felt so bad that I didn’t have anything for them! Nurses work soooo hard and they definitely deserve the love! 🙂

    • I hope she loves them if you end up using this recipe! Lemon poppyseed muffins are so yummy! 🙂

      Baking bread in the bread machine TOTALLY counts! That aroma is so wonderful!

      So good to know that the cookies freeze well! I’m hoping they’ll thaw well too. 🙂

      Oh girl, I’m sure the nurses didn’t think anything of it. I don’t think most people take something with them for the nurses. I honestly wouldn’t have thought of it at all if a friend hadn’t mentioned a few years ago that she did it for her nurses and I just thought it was such a sweet touch. I don’t know that I’d have the presence of mind to do it for a second baby (especially with a toddler running around like you have). I just have this nesting instinct telling me to DO SOMETHING and all the baby things are done, haha!

  5. ever since I was little, I have loved lemon poppyseed muffins! ps I am so excited for you to meet your baby…. ahhhh!

  6. Equally parts adorable and delicious looking!

  7. I often freeze recipes I make for the blog because I know people will ask me if it works – and most of the time it works perfectly. I’ve frozen baked cookies before and they’re fine – but they are a little different to the fresh version. Sometimes I’ll kind of “recrisp” them in the oven? If that makes sense?

  8. I have been wanting to make a batch of lemon poppyseed muffins for the past few weeks. You’ve officially kicked me into gear to go and buy some poppy seeds!

    • If you lived closer, I’d share my bottle with you! I’m not sure why it is that poppy seeds are so expensive and it takes me forever to go through a little container of them. Anyway, I hope you enjoy every bite! 🙂

Leave a Reply

