A Healthier Cake-in-a-Mug

So this isn’t a healthy snack. Don’t read the title above incorrectly. It’s a healthier version of the traditional cake-in-a-mug recipe (you know, the one that includes oil and sugar). But this isn’t exactly like having a sliced apple for a snack. πŸ˜‰ Now that we’ve got that out of the way, I want to share with you guys our favorite way to make cake-in-a-mug!

Cake in a Mug (1).JPG

A Healthier Cake-in-a-Mug

Ingredients:

4 tbsp all purpose flour
1 tbsp granulated Stevia
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
2 tbsp Egg Beaters (or 1/2 of a whisked egg)
4 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
3 tbsp no sugar added applesauce
splash vanilla
3 tbsp dark chocolate chips

Directions:

Add ingredients to mug and mix together. We have a tiny whisk that we use for this and it’s perfect for making sure everything is combined perfectly. Microwave on high for 1 minute or until middle of cake is set. Enjoy!

Cake in a Mug (2).JPG

Speaking of mugs… apparently I have an affinity for them. Which means we have a bunch of them. And I love them all. Want to see?

mugs3.jpg

Travel related mugs! All but one of these were gifts from friends and family over the years. The only one we actually bought was the blue one right in the middle which we found at a thrift store. It’s from the Cinque Terre which was one of our favorite places we’ve traveled. From Left to Right: Wuhan, China (where I spent my teen years), Tupelo (where we filmed a commercial), Rome, Cinque Terre, Prague, Czech Republic, and Disneyland Tokyo (where I visited as a teenager, but apparently have never blogged about).

mugs1

The mug on the far left was the first set of mugs that we ever owned as newly weds. We ended up giving a couple of them away over the years and as our random mug collection grew I realized that I didn’t feel strongly about having all matching mugs so we gave the rest away as well. The rest of these are a mix of gifts and ones I found on sale at Target and thrift stores.

mugs2.jpg

The three on the left were gifts, but the two on the right were Target discount finds. I just love them so much!

So yes, we have 18 mugs. For 2 people. And I’ve had to slow myself waaaay down on purchasing them over the years (even when they are the cutest ever and super cheap) since we’ve been given so many as gifts. But I have to tell you guys, we use them for everything! Sometimes I use them in place of anything I would put in a bowl (like soup, cereal, or oatmeal).Β Obviously we use them for cake-in-a-mug and of course we drink from them as well. So while we probably don’tΒ need this many mugs, we certainly use them! πŸ™‚

Do you find yourself drawn to cute mugs?

Have you ever had cake-in-a-mug?
Love Rach

20 responses to “A Healthier Cake-in-a-Mug

  1. Omg I am sitting in bed whilst I read this. YUM. Time to get out of bed haha

  2. What’s better than cake in a mug? Healthier cake in a mug! Great post! xoxo

  3. Haha healthier. I figure any little bit is better than nothing right? Sounds delicious!

  4. Yummy! I love that you have an addiction to mugs. There are worse things. πŸ™‚

    • It’s really something terrible, haha! For every mug I own, there are probably a dozen I’ve been tempted to buy, but didn’t because I knew we really didn’t need them, ha! I just love them!

  5. I have such an affinity for mugs also! I’ve had to just tell myself no tons of time, though, because we simply do not have all the space to store them. And we just don’t *need* them, lol. But they are hard to pass up!

  6. Oh yum! I have never made a cake in a mug, but the idea always intrigues me!

    • I’m a huge fan! It’s so great for when I want something sweet and chocolate-y, but don’t want to go to a lot of trouble. πŸ™‚

  7. I love mugs, the cuter and cheesier the better! I’ve never made cake in a mug before but I have made cookie in a mug! It’s basically the same idea except to make cookie dough! So good and much faster than making a whole batch when I just want a bit lll

  8. We have a million mugs, too! Way more mugs than drinking glasses. I really need to pare down the ones that have no sentimental value.

    • A couple of years ago I pared down the number of mugs we have to my absolute favorite ones because I had run out of cabinet space, haha! So I definitely am for that plan. πŸ™‚ Love that you have so many too. πŸ™‚

  9. I am ALWAYS drawn to cute mugs – and tea cups! I just can’t stop πŸ˜›

  10. I have a huge affinity for mugs, too! I just love them! And the cake-in-a-mug sounds heavenly! I may have to try it tonight for a snack!

Leave a Reply

