Chocolate Chip Scones

A little over six years ago I found this recipe for Cinnamon Chip Scones on the How Sweet Eats blog. With a tiny swap (to dark chocolate chips), these are my favorite scones!

Chocolate Chip Scones (1)

Chocolate Chip Scones

Ingredients:

3 1/4 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar-in-the-raw
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
3/4 cups cold butter
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. In large bowl combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter until it forms coarse crumbs. Stir in buttermilk and vanilla. Fold in chocolate chips. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently.

3. Divide in half and pat into 7 inch round circles. Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with coarse sugar. Cut into 6 or 8 wedges.

4. Bake at 425 for 13-15 minutes.

Chocolate Chip Scones (2).JPG

I recently made a batch of these to pop in the freezer for after Baby arrives. I stored them in gallon size bags with wax paper separating them. They reheat from the freezer so well! Just pop however many you want in the oven while still frozen at 350 for 10-12 minutes and they are delightful!

Speaking of Baby’s arrival… we are SIX DAYS AWAY!! Less than a week. It is truly amazing to me (and my high risk OB, ha!) that she has stayed safe and sound right where she is all the way to this point. So thankful for so many answered prayers!

Love Rach

30 responses to “Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Pinned! These look so good 😀

  2. So many food posts lately! 😂

    • I’ve had such a back log of recipes to share and I wanted to get them shared before baby came! Thankfully this was the last one I needed to get on the blog before she arrives so I’m feeling pretty accomplished, haha! 🙂

  3. I’m in chocolate chip heaven here! Scones are so yummy and I feel so classy when I eat them, lol!

  4. This sound so good!!

  5. I am all about chocolate chips (and baby LOVES sweets, which is a bit unlike me), so I think these have to be made! Praying for you as your due date gets closer. ❤

    • Thank you so much for those prayers! I appreciate them SO much!

      And I hope you love these if you end up making them! Baby V has LOVED them! 🙂

  6. These look incredible!!!! I am such a scone lover, it’s dangerous. Can’t wait to try these out. Praying for such a safe delivery for you, love!

  7. You know, I’ve never made scones before! Crazy. I think I ned to make these ASAP because they look delish!

  8. these look delicious! i love scones. but i do not bake, ever, anything, because i would be 500lbs and never stop eating the goodies i made. haha.

  9. These look absolutely divine, lady!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  10. I love love love scones and I have never attempted to make any at home. MMMMM

  11. I love scones! I need to make these 🙂

  12. Oh yum. This looks so great.

Leave a Reply

