Lately

This week was my very last week with the kiddos that I started nannying five years ago. Initially a full time gig that changed to part time just as my photography business took off. And over the past year I’ve really only had Will in the summers when he is out of school and only had Mallory for about 10 hours a week. So hardly even part time. But enough that we’ve still been a big part of each other’s lives. It’s hard to believe that this time is coming to an end. But it couldn’t be timed more perfectly. Mallory will be starting Kindergarten in August just as I’ll be figuring out this new mom thing. You better believe that the kids’ mom and I were both pretty emotional over that incredible timing.

will and mal 5 years later

On the left was them in 2012 not long after I started nannying them. And on the right is them from earlier this week. My oh my do I love these kids!

rach and mal 5 years later

Me and Mallory in 2012 on the left and the two of us again just this past week on the right. I have loved this little girl since she was an itty bitty baby and now she’s obsessed with all the details of my own baby girl which I think is so sweet!

will and mal 2017.jpg

They both love to poke my belly and say “Wake up, Baby!” to get her to start moving. It’s more than a little adorable. This week has been an extra sweet one as we’ve enjoyed our last days together. But now I need to stop talking about it before I turn into an emotional mess, haha! Thankfully they live less than five minutes from us and we are good friends with their parents so I’ll still get to see them! πŸ™‚

us before flight.jpg

Christopher and I have been spending tons of quality time together lately. Our goal was to finish our “house/baby to-do” list by June so that we could spend the month of July just enjoying time together (unless of course Baby V had already arrived in which case we’d be glad we had things finished early). And that’s exactly how it has worked out. We’ve eaten at all our favorite restaurants, spent tons of time with friends, stayed out late, eaten frozen yogurt far too frequently (if there is such a thing as too much frozen yogurt), explored new coffee shops, enjoyed lots of pool days, and we’ve even eaten out at a couple of fancy spots that we normally avoid because they are on the pricy side. It has been a sweet end to the “just us” time we’ve had over our nearly 9 years of marriage. I’m so thankful for this time and we are so looking forward to the next chapter of life!

prenatal yoga.jpg

My mornings are still marked by prenatal yoga and then followed by gym time. I definitely have to take it easier than I did pre-pregnancy, but I’m so thankful that I’ve been able to continue working out throughout this entire pregnancy. Those endorphins are great and I know it’s good for both me and Baby V. Plus I’ve been told that it helps with delivery and recovery so hopefully that’s true!

38 weeks with stuffed dog

As of today I am 38 weeks and 3 days pregnant. And on this coming Monday, at 38 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy, we’ll go in to the hospital to begin the induction process. I get so emotional when I look back at this pregnancy and see every answered prayer. And there have been so many. Odds have been beat, miracles have happened. And we are so close to Monday. If you are the praying type, please join us in praying for continued safety for our daughter and that her delivery will go safely for both of us. Thank you!

Love Rach

29 responses to “Lately

  1. That is so exciting! I can’t believe it’s just a couple of days away!! How uncomfortable are you feeling? Ready to get the baby out? I was so uncomfortable with Teddy last summer, but I also wasn’t going to the gym or doing yoga, so I wonder if that makes a big difference.

    • I definitely had started to get uncomfortable which blows my mind when I think about the fact that I was only carrying a 5 pound, 9 ounce baby compared to the average 7.5lb or even an 9 or 10 pound baby like some of my friends have had! Not to mention that I’m a pretty tall and sturdy body type (not exactly petite). So I imagine that those last couple of weeks of pregnancy were much easier on me than on smaller women with bigger babies. Not to mention that I only went to 39 weeks instead of 40 (or even 42 like some friends have!). So I counted myself lucky in that way!

  2. Sending love and prayers to you, Chris, and Baby V!! πŸ™‚

  3. Your relationship with the little ones that you nanny for is so sweet! It is great that the timing worked out so well with Mallory going to Kindergarten and the baby being born! I am so glad that you have focused on quality time together this month. I am sure you will still get plenty of it after the baby is here, but it is definitely easier to be able to pick up and go while it is just the two of you. I am so excited for you, and will definitely be praying for you all this Monday. Can’t wait to see this precious baby!

    • Oh my goodness, yes! The timing of Mallory going to kindergarten and our baby being born was just perfect! I’m so thankful for that. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your prayers on Monday! We definitely felt covered in prayer that day! πŸ™‚

  4. Janessa Hester

    Aww this post makes me emotional! What perfect timing for your little one to arrive as your little Mallory is preparing to start kindergarten! And wow, I can’t believe she will be arriving so soon!!! That’s so exciting! Plenty of prayers coming your way. I can’t wait to hear she has arrived safely and that yall are doing well!

  5. OH MY GOSH RACH YOU ARE SO CLOSE! I am so so happy that you have had the pregnancy experience you have! Praying that the brith of baby girl V is smooth!

    • Thank you so much for your prayers! We definitely have felt covered in prayer throughout this pregnancy, the delivery, and these early weeks! πŸ™‚

  6. Just a few more days!! Sending you lots of prayers and happy thoughts! I am glad that you guys have gotten to spend a few weeks enjoying your last moments while it’s just you two!

  7. oh girl, sending all of my good thoughts and vibes your way. i hope everything goes perfect for you. i cannot wait to ‘meet’ her. i’m so happy for you guys. now i need to leave before i become the emotional mess.

    • Haha! It’s okay to be an emotional mess. I totally get it. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for all your support and encouragement along the way! πŸ™‚

  8. Enjoy these last few days of the two of you! I will be thinking of you on Monday! You are so close!

  9. Ahh, I’m tearing up reading this! It is so cool that you were so involved with the kids you nanny for so long. What an awesome example of love you have been to them and how reassuring it must have been to their parents to know that they were leaving their kiddos with someone as awesome as you. I need to find a YOU locally for my kid(s). How do I do that??

    And I think it is awesome awesome awesome that you and Christopher have been enjoying the month of July (your birthday month and your baby’s birthday month! So cool.) as you have. You will treasure that forever, I promise.

    I love the picture of you doing yoga and Oreo doing his own little shavasana on the couch behind you!

    • ​It was so great to have such a good fit with the family I was a nanny for. We’ve become such good friends with them. They were some of our first visitors in the hospital and then again once we got home (it helps that they live super close to us). Such sweet friends!

      I’m so glad we had the month of July to soak up lots of time for the two of us before our little one arrived. Since she’s been here our days have been much lazier and slower than before, but just as sweet. Just a different type of sweet. πŸ™‚

      And yes, Oreo definitely is super into yoga… πŸ˜‰ ​I’m just glad he stays off my mat now! He used to love to lay at one end of it while I attempted to use the rest of it.

  10. Monday! So soon, but I know it can’t come soon enough for you! Praying for a healthy baby and mama. Can’t wait to meet her!

  11. So much is happening for you! Will be praying for you and baby πŸ™‚

  12. This will be me in a couple of weeks! I can’t even talk about it. Praying for you still!

  13. ❀ Ah, I love this post. I especially love how you and Christopher were so purposeful in cherishing the end of this season without children. You both are going to be such amazing parents.

  14. You made it to the end! I cannot wait to hear all about baby’s arrival! Congrats!

  15. Pingback: One Year Blogiversary, and yes, there is cake.

Leave a Reply

